We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #102 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 4 night stay here.Perfect location to get everywhere we walked to all the main attractions no problem.The complimentary breakfast sold this Hotel to us and it was great to start the busy day ahead.Lots of choice for a continental breakfast and I could see you could also pay for a cooked breakfast if u wanted.The terrace and the view of the Empire State was lovely especially for a little drink in the night time.Concierge was so helpful more so than the front desk and recommend a lovely Thai restaurant called pure was amazing honestly the best meal I had in ages! It was on 9th avenue where there was also lots of other restaurants a bit cheaper than 5th and 7th.This restaurant was on 51st street honestly anyone in to Thai food I would highly recommend this! The room was quite basic wasn't anything special but was so convenient and the bed was so comfortable we had the best sleep every night.Would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lauzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 4,247 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed a week in July 2014. Everything worked pretty well for us. They kindly upgraded our room, handled any requests well and the foyer staff were very nice.

A good feature of this hotel is the two internal stairways throughout the hotel. This means it's very easy to get between floors without having to wait for a lift. Quite handy if you're on a high floor and want to get to the roof top terrace or if you're on a low floor and want to go out.

The roof top space is quite nice. It's always open. The Empire State Building looms nearby which is kinda cool. Be very wary of buying drinks up there though - the prices are very high! (I think the bar is open approx 5pm to 10pm Monday - Saturday).

Some of my friends at Hotel Metro booked queen rooms and their space was tiny. Not much room other than the bed. Don't expect spacious accom unless you're prepared to pay for a 'suite'.

Distance to the subway (34th St Herald Sq) is only around 150 metres. The mid town location makes it very handy for lots of the tourists destinations (eg. Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Sq, Broadway).

There nearby bars are quite average. Mostly Irish type bars and pretty boring. Brandan's bar across the street pours particularly flat draft beer - yuk!

Overall, we had no problems at Hotel Metro. Nothing too great, nothing really bad either.

Room Tip: I suggest a high level room so you have easy access to the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location close to many sites...excellent view of Empire State from roof top. Staff were very helpful...the concierge Glenn was terrific helping me get my lost bag back. Great breakfast. Bathrooms were lovely and rooms spacious (we had 2 bedroom apartment). Loved our stay. This is my third visit to New York since 1996 and it just gets better and better!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked this hotel because it had a family room which could accommodate myself and 2 friends.
The hotel was flawlessly clean, well decorated, the room size was generous and the two bedrooms, bathroom and little fridge / sink area in the hall worked well. The elevators were clean and always working (something you don't always get), the location was AMAZING, a 2 minute walk down to Macy's - plenty of bars and restaurants around, subway entrance near by and an easy walk to Times Square where many tours pick up. Besides the perfect NY location (and reasonable price for what it was) - the real jewel of the hotel is the rooftop bar. The roof has a clear view of the empire state which is impressive in the day and amazing at night.

Check in and out was easy and painless, the doorman was friendly and on point and happy to hail a cab when needed.

Unusually, I have not a single negative to mention about this hotel and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a great location, decent price and beautiful view in New York City.

Room Tip: facing away from the street. my room was facing away and was a little more quiet than the room my tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank miss-rachael-leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here 5th-11th july. Our room was teeny tiny and basic (as expected in NYC) but very clean and shower was great. We viewed it as a room we would only be in for sleep in so didn't need anything fancy - plenty more things to spend your $$$ on in NYC.

Breakfast was fine, great given that it was included. Nice bagels and muffins.

We never really used concierge services. He did get us a price for tickets to see Rocky on broadway - $199 each....got them at tkts for $75 each.

Rooftop bar was a bit of a disappointment from what we had seen online, not open on a sunday (day we arrived) and i never enjoy a wine in a small plastic cup. ( you can get plastic wine glasses) It was pricey but we didn't mind too much. We did however quite enjoy sitting up there on our way home to our room each night. View might not be the best in NY as one reviewer suggested - however we really enjoyed sitting in the shadow of the empire at night and seeing what colour she was lit up as....which when we were there reflected the colours of the independence day and then each of the world cup finalists on the day they won their semi!!

we would stay again! location is good and doormen and reception staff are lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Metro for 5 nights in February after booking through BA. We upgraded to a superior queen room which was on a higher floor away from the road noise and had been refurbished. It wasn't enormous but we were there to sightsee not sit in our room and it provided a very clean and comfortable base. Most hotels in New York don't include breakfast so this was definitely a bonus and you get used to the paper plates! We had low expectations but the bagels and muffins were incredible!! The location is superb with Macy's, the Empire State and the subway all under 5 mins walk. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again if we return to New York.

Room Tip: You can't avoid the road noise and sirens in New York but choose a room on a higher floor at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. And the jury is still out on this one. Booked as a BA holiday and having read the good reviews on tripadvisor we decided to risk it as all the other hotels were coming out at crazy prices.
The location is great for sightseeing, around the corner from Empire State Building, so a handy location in midtown. You can walk loads of places. Not too far from the subway either to get uptown or into downtown - nearest one is on park avenue at east 33rd street - about a 3-4 minute walk. The area is a little tacky though and we prefer Greenwich village, SoHo where you can find smaller restaurants and cafés.
The good about this hotel is they do offer you a free breakfast - although we ate out every day to get eggs. They also offer tea and coffee all day, although we still kept Starbucks in business too with our love of caramel macchiato! Our room was small - not too much of a problem as we were not planning to hang out there - but it was clean and the bathroom was ok too. Just a shower but I prefer this. The hair dryer provided would not dry anyone's hair that is longer than short so either bring your own or get a blow dry at the salon about 4 doors away from the hotel. I did. Read the safe instructions before trying to secure it - there is a red button you need to press and we managed to lock our stuff in there and needed help. The maintenance guy got in no worries - however this offers other concerns in my eyes!
Avoid, avoid, avoid the roof top bar for a drink. We sat out one sunny afternoon and had 2 beers. No prices are not displayed although the list of beers are there and they were a staggering $18 + tip! The view is not that great. It is only the 12th floor after all. I would say go, take a photo and leave and go elsewhere. We did question the prices with the hotel and they said the roof top bar is part of the metro grill so nothing to do with them and they have told them to display prices but they have done nothing about it. There was also a rather large man sitting up there with his top off in the sunshine when we were there and nothing was said to him about putting his top back on. This is not a bar that is full of sunloungers for you to sunbathe so they should be stricter on dress code - ie tops on! If this isn't part of the hotel I can't mark the hotel down on this but just wanted tripadvisor readers to be aware!
One last thing. Wifi was great in reception but was shocking in our room, especially after they changed the password one day!
Yes, the hotel looks a little tired but it's good for a base. If there are some refurbed rooms - our room 601 wasn't - then perhaps ask for one of those...
Would we return? Not to stay here as I think there are perhaps better, quieter neighbourhood areas... Would I recommend you to stay? Yes to beat a Empire State Building queue. A 2 minute walk to the front door at 7.30am for 8am opening is great!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, refurbed room on higher floors apparently..?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingstarsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#151 of 469 in New York City
1,998 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
587 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £134 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing