We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideally located midtown hotel”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #85 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ideally located midtown hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Metro in July 2013 as a change from our usual choice of a hotel close to Times Square. The hotel is located on 35th St right next to Herald Square and is ideally positioned for exploring midtown by foot but has numerous transit links - Subway, PATH train to New Jersey, or Penn Station for further afield. Herald Square also offers Macy's, Manhattan Mall and many more shopping opportunities too numerous to mention including several Duane Reade which are open 24/7.

I would class this as a boutique hotel, neither too big or too small. The staff are friendly and helpful and you are recognised as a guest from the moment you arrive without being constantly asked to show your room key card.
The hotel is kept to high standards and our room was a reasonable size and very clean. The room also had a safe which I regard as important. Room service was daily and to a high standard. Although there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room drinks were available 24/7 in reception. Breakfast was included and there was a varied choice of hot & cold food available.

The hotel has a small but adequately sized fitness suite on the top floor and also, a major bonus feature to the hotel - a rooftop garden complete with a bar and stunning views of the hotels famous neighbour the Empire State Building.

Due to it's central location midtown can be easily explored on foot, Times Square is a ten minute walk north, Central Park around 20 minutes or a 2 minute subway ride. The PATH train station in Herald Square gives you the opportunity to take the short (and cheap) ride across the river and take in the stunning NYC skyline from either Hoboken or Jersey City which I strongly recommend you do to get that perfect photo and experience the re-vitalised New Jersey waterfront.

We enjoyed our stay at the Metro and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,153
    1,506
    295
    72
    49
See reviews for
729
2,159
144
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in January when it was very cold. Its perfectly nice hotel and great value for money. They offer a breakfast buffet for croissants and muffins and free coffee and tea all day. The rooms is clean, airy and large and the bathroom is of a good size and good water supply.

The location is excellent its right by macys and a short walk to all the attractions but far enough away from Times Sq as to be walking distance but not blinded by the lights.

There is a tube station at the end of the street so its good for getting further around.

Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Upper floors have more of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a 5 night stay to celebrate my 50th birthday. The hotel is in a perfect location to get to all the main attractions such as; Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Square and Broadway. If you turn right out of the hotel the subway ( 34th St Herald Sq ) is only around 150 metres away. We bought a Metro card for $31, which lasts a week. The subway is easy to use and very handy to get to all the main attractions if you don't want to walk too far. The concierge will give you plenty of advice on what train to catch and any other advice you'll need during your stay. All the staff at the hotel are very helpful and are more than happy to offer advice.

They are plenty of choice's for breakfast which include; bagels, cereal, yoghurt, muffins and toast. You can also pay for a cooked breakfast if you want, however we found the continental breakfast very adequate. We had booked a premier queen room, but when we arrived we were told they didn't have any available. We were given a basic room with the promise that they would upgrade us to a premier king the following day. The basic room was very small, however when we arrived in our premier king the next day the difference in size was amazing. It was about three times the size and had a massive bay window. Our room was on the 10th floor and away from the main traffic. The air con is quite noisy, however it didn't keep us awake. You can still here the traffic down below because in new York they like to use their car horns. The terrace and the view of the Empire State was lovely, however the drinks are very expensive. There isn't a price list for the beers and we had two pints of Bud light which cost $10 each.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulnic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Metro as the first stop on our honeymoon in the US, from the UK. We arrived at around 11.30pm in a taxi from JFK, and were able to check in really quickly with a lovely friendly guy on reception.
We arrived to a lovely bottle of rose sparking wine in an Ice bucket and a card from the hotel staff congratulating us on our marriage and wishing us a happy honeymoon, which was a lovely touch after a long journey.

The rooms are fairly small, but not cramped. Our Virgin rep recommended the hotel to us as she said it's quite boutiquey, and I'd agree with this. The room and bathroom were both quite plush, and the free coke in the fridge was a very welcome extra in a very hot New York! The air con was a life saver too!

The complimentary breakfast was lovely; a nice relaxed dining room and lots of options - several cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bagels, toast and muffins, with butter, jam and cream cheese. Really lovely quality and we enjoyed our breakfast each day. In fact staying at the doubletree Hilton in Washington a few days later we both notes that their continental breakfast (not complimentary) wasn't nearly as nice as the Metro!
We'd definitely stay at the metro again; it's in a really central location - you can see Macy's at the end of the street, and the subway is no more than a 30 second walk away. And it's quality hotel, without the attitude and pretence of the Waldorf Astoria where we stayed last time, and hated.
Also the staff are an asset to the hotel, the door guy and concierge gave us excellent tips on where to eat, theatre tickets and where to visit during our stay, and they are so genuinely welcoming, we were really impressed with this.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RadcliffeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodoigne, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Friendly staff, small bedroom, but clean nicely situated to visit the city. A good value for money.
Restaurant and shops very close ,ideal place for couple and people who are travelling to visit places not to stay in there hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doops1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great view of the Empire State just a share about the terrace, it's dated and not really designed for conversation or long stays. Hard metal chairs don't make you want to sit and lounge away the evening. You can smoke on the terrace so a bonus but don't go at the opening time as they were not set up when we arrived and it was a good 30 mins before we could get a drink. Overall not a bad place but there are many other in New York with much better views, service and atmosphere

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in July at The Metro Hotel. Brilliant location for all the sights. Travelled in from Newark Airport and the NJ Transit is very easy but the exit from Penn Station is not too straightforward! Would recommend exit either via main Penn Train station exit or if you can use 35th and Herald Square as the hotel is just there - however quite a few stairs which are tricky with luggage! The hotel facilities are great-the breakfast a real bonus! All the staff very friendly and helpful but special thanks to Glenn the doorman who gave us great advice on where to eat!! Would stay here again without question. If you are going - enjoy!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#104 of 468 in New York City
1,663 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 468 in New York City
730 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,347 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing