We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent Hotel Great Value for Money"”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Excellent Hotel Great Value for Money"”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just come back from a trip to New York with my daughter.
We have been to New York before and stayed at larger hotels.
I booked the Hotel Metro on the back of reviews on trip adviser and wasn't disappointed. We could not have wished for more,friendly helpful staff.The rooms were very clean, there was a lovely buffet breakfast included and wow the roof top terrace!
A truly wonderful place to stay in the "Big Apple"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimmy-Mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    1,518
    298
    74
    49
See reviews for
739
2,179
146
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and wear
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this hotel and the city it is location....amazing !!!! Queen size room small and not for 2 friends to share but apart from that it was 1st class, from location to service, booking a trip again in 2015, if you haven't been start saving and book up ✈️

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HD8718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from 4 nights stay at this hotel with my partner and loved every minute of it. The staff are lovely and so helpful. We were upgraded on arrival and were please to find a clean room with coffee facilities refreshed every morning. The complimentary breakfast is offered from 6am every day and is a great option to fill yourselves up before hitting the tourist attractions. There is tea, coffee, orange juice and a selection of cereals and croissants. The location is excellent, a minutes walks from 5th avenue and near many subway stations. Could not fault this hotel in any way. Will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was the first stop on our honeymoon. We stayed here from 24/06/14 to 26/06/14. Where should i start, the hotel really is in a perfect location. To your left when exiting the hotel is 5th avenue with all the upmarket shopping. If you turn right at the end of the street on 5th and go a couple blocks over you have the empire state building. Macis is to your right when leaving the hotel, about a 2 minute walk and just turn right at the next block from Macis and your on your way up to Times Square, it really couldn't be more perfectly located. There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms for guests, a mini fridge and the air con really is amazing especially in the summer heat. There is also a safe and the beds are really comfy. The room was a little on the small side but not an issue when your only really in your room to sleep, especially when your visitng such an amazing city! The continental breakfast was lovely, the best bagels i've ever had! If you go you must have a drink in the rooftop bar, the view of the empire state building at night is lovely and the atmosphere is really relaxing, more so for the city your in. Lastly, the staff are all smiles and friendly. All in all i can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissRP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Metro in July 2013 as a change from our usual choice of a hotel close to Times Square. The hotel is located on 35th St right next to Herald Square and is ideally positioned for exploring midtown by foot but has numerous transit links - Subway, PATH train to New Jersey, or Penn Station for further afield. Herald Square also offers Macy's, Manhattan Mall and many more shopping opportunities too numerous to mention including several Duane Reade which are open 24/7.

I would class this as a boutique hotel, neither too big or too small. The staff are friendly and helpful and you are recognised as a guest from the moment you arrive without being constantly asked to show your room key card.
The hotel is kept to high standards and our room was a reasonable size and very clean. The room also had a safe which I regard as important. Room service was daily and to a high standard. Although there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room drinks were available 24/7 in reception. Breakfast was included and there was a varied choice of hot & cold food available.

The hotel has a small but adequately sized fitness suite on the top floor and also, a major bonus feature to the hotel - a rooftop garden complete with a bar and stunning views of the hotels famous neighbour the Empire State Building.

Due to it's central location midtown can be easily explored on foot, Times Square is a ten minute walk north, Central Park around 20 minutes or a 2 minute subway ride. The PATH train station in Herald Square gives you the opportunity to take the short (and cheap) ride across the river and take in the stunning NYC skyline from either Hoboken or Jersey City which I strongly recommend you do to get that perfect photo and experience the re-vitalised New Jersey waterfront.

We enjoyed our stay at the Metro and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank markbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in January when it was very cold. Its perfectly nice hotel and great value for money. They offer a breakfast buffet for croissants and muffins and free coffee and tea all day. The rooms is clean, airy and large and the bathroom is of a good size and good water supply.

The location is excellent its right by macys and a short walk to all the attractions but far enough away from Times Sq as to be walking distance but not blinded by the lights.

There is a tube station at the end of the street so its good for getting further around.

Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Upper floors have more of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a 5 night stay to celebrate my 50th birthday. The hotel is in a perfect location to get to all the main attractions such as; Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Square and Broadway. If you turn right out of the hotel the subway ( 34th St Herald Sq ) is only around 150 metres away. We bought a Metro card for $31, which lasts a week. The subway is easy to use and very handy to get to all the main attractions if you don't want to walk too far. The concierge will give you plenty of advice on what train to catch and any other advice you'll need during your stay. All the staff at the hotel are very helpful and are more than happy to offer advice.

They are plenty of choice's for breakfast which include; bagels, cereal, yoghurt, muffins and toast. You can also pay for a cooked breakfast if you want, however we found the continental breakfast very adequate. We had booked a premier queen room, but when we arrived we were told they didn't have any available. We were given a basic room with the promise that they would upgrade us to a premier king the following day. The basic room was very small, however when we arrived in our premier king the next day the difference in size was amazing. It was about three times the size and had a massive bay window. Our room was on the 10th floor and away from the main traffic. The air con is quite noisy, however it didn't keep us awake. You can still here the traffic down below because in new York they like to use their car horns. The terrace and the view of the Empire State was lovely, however the drinks are very expensive. There isn't a price list for the beers and we had two pints of Bud light which cost $10 each.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulnic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
740 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#95 of 466 in New York City
701 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,376 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing