We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and a nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #90 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

No complaints about this place, great spot for shopping, broadway and the busy midtown experience. Even though it's close to the noise the hotel itself was quiet and great for a nights rest after a long day (and night) . The continental breakfast was perfect to set you up for a day's walking round NYC and the hot tea and coffee on tap all day was a nice touch too. The highlight for me was the rooftop terrace which has a fabulous view of the Empire State building, open 5-10pm there were good beers on tap, plenty of drinks and friendly bar staff. It could get busy sometimes but other days there was plenty of seats. Even if you don't stay at the hotel - go to the roof bar!

Room Tip: We were at the back on the 11th floor - but the whole hotel seemed nice, being up from the road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smggraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,186
    1,530
    301
    75
    49
See reviews for
746
2,195
148
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Metro, New York City for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly The hotel was very clean and the continental breakfast that was included was great. The room itself was quite spacious for a New York hotel. We would stay here again if we go back to New York. The location was great and very close to the Empire State Building and Macy's.

Room Tip: We had a double queen room and it was certainly quite spacious for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights before heading down to mexico. With sightseeing being our main priority we were definitely in a great location! So close to subway, times square, empire state building and Rockefeller center to say the least! The free breakfast included in the stay was fab!! The muffins were soooo big and everything we ate was extremely tasty and definitely set us up for a day walking around.
There is a Irish bar two doors down that shows premiership football games and serves gorgeous food definitely recommend!
Would definitely return to this hotel! The beds alone are worth staying here so comfy!

Room Tip: we were on the second floor and had no problem with noise! Do not miss breakfast so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We found this hotel to be ideal. Its in a great location in mid town Manhattan so we were able to ride the LIRR from JFK to Penn and walk to the hotel in around 7 minutes with two 110 litre wheeled suitcases. As soon as you walk through the door you know you are in a lovely hotel, the decor is amazing and the piped jazz and swing classics really fit the mood for the big apple! Our room was a little small and the large air con unit was maybe a little noisy but neither was an issue for us, in fact the air con was an absolute must in the middle of a humid summer. The bathroom was great with a walk in shower and very good quality soaps and shampoo's. An iron and ironing board were in the wardrobe and we used it a couple of times. Also in the wardrobe was a large umbrella, I thought that was a nice inclusion that we would have used had we not got away with the threatened thunderstorm. The coffee machine was excellent and easy to use. The free breakfast was very much appreciated and set you up for the day. Available to you are a wide range of cereals, pastries, gigantic muffins, fruit, toast, a range of breads, cheeses, fruit juices, coffee, tea, decaff coffee, absolutely everything you might need. One thing we liked to do after a day out was to walk in to the hotel, take advantage of the free coffee and a sit down in a big comfy chair in the air conditioned lounge with big band and jazz music playing - luxury! All of the hotel staff are friendly and very helpful and we'll certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barnieslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in New York at the Hotel Metro and would definitely stay there again.
Fabulous view of the Empire state from the rooftop terrace. Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, concierge had a smile any time night or day. Location great as very close to Empire state and Macey's. Main subway line at end of the road making it very easy to get to all the attractions and only a few blocks from Times Square. Hotel itself very clean, room lovely with loads of room for the three of us, could not fault it, would definitely stay there again. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Our first ever trip to New York and the room was perfect for what we wanted. They were clean and the breakfast was filling very informal just what we wanted. The roof top bar at night gives you and amazing view of the Empire state building so worth going up to see it from a different angle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stay but everyone was very helpful; front desk, bell captain & concierge. We had the 3 bed family suite it was great! Clean, comfortable and a lovely rainfall walk-in shower. Would definitely stay here again. Great location for getting to major attractions and the subway.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#105 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 467 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing