We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel in NYC!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel in NYC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Loved this hotel. Was ideally situated for Macy's and the tube, round the corner from the Empire state. We stayed for 8 nights, room was ideal, bed was comfy and thank god it had air con. The shower was massive and a godsend.
Staff were lovely, even the bar restaurant next door was awesome, the burger we had was lush.
Only downside is the so called 'Breakfast', it was horrid, a free for all, plastic knives and paper plates. We only went once for breakfast at the hotel, going to a bit classier place where we could actually sit down civilly.
All in all would stay again if we went back cause of its location.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else for breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellephotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    1,461
    292
    70
    47
See reviews for
710
2,084
138
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our travel agent recommended this hotel for our 5-night stay in NYC, and we're glad he did. The room was good (a "premier queen" in the 8th floor) recently refurbished and with all the necessary facilities and free wifi, although a little small.
The location was very good, with 34th St shops & Macy's very close, and Times Square just a few minutes walk. The continental breakfast was good, a bit basic but well organised and plenty of it.
As it's a city centre hotel in a busy area it's not much to look at from the outside, but very nicely decorated inside. Lovely staff too, so all in all a great find. Recommended.

Room Tip: Suggest a room at the back - we were at the back on the 8th floor and it was very quiet (although no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tidynige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just spent 4 nights here with my wife. I let then know in advance that it was our 10th wedding anniversary and we had a room upgrade which was fantastic and a bottle of champagne was waiting in the room. The breakfast is basic but it's enough. Brodway is only 5 min walk. My only gripe is that the terrace bar was shut.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Myself and my sister booked Hotel Metro for 5 nights from Tuesday 29th July to Saturday 2nd August. Unfortunately due to our negative experiences at Hotel Metro we left after three nights and booked another hotel accepting the fact that we would still be charged for the remaining nights at Hotel Metro.

On the second day we found a cockroach in our bedroom. It went behind the heater and we promptly packed our things away and requested to be moved to another room. This was carried out which we appreciated, however the following morning in our new room I found several insect bites on my feet. At this point our confidence in Hotel Metro's fumigation services were not high at all.

Furthermore I found a few reception staff, one being Dana, to be rather rude us when we came to them regarding a few belongings we left in our first room. They seemed to be unsympathetic to us leaving them behind and put very little effort in retrieving them. I then had to personally ask the cleaners if I could check their bins in which I found our belongings (they were non refundable tickets for a few New York events). This was the absolute last straw, and we decided to leave Hotel Metro the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faraf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colne, lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from staying at the Hotel metro for the second time, have to say location is second to none. We booked a premier queen room which was fantastic with views of the Empire State Building , we were at the front of the hotel which can be a bit noisy at night but the view is well worth it. Continent breakfast is a nice touch to set you up for the day although it can get a bit crowded and the coffee is rubbish but free 24hrs a day. Roof top terrace is amazing though very quiet suprisingly. The doorman Glen was very helpful and arranged for a taxi to take us to JFK on our last day. You have all transport links on your doorstep to get anywhere in the city, Bryant park is just round the corner which is a lovely spot to relax and take in the city. Would we stay again? You bet we would, brilliant hotel! Brilliant city!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank micheal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The 4 things important to me in a hotel are
(a) can I get some sleep?
(b) are the staff happy in their work and good at their job?
(c) is the food okay?
(d) is the hotel comfy and clean?
The answers in this case are Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes!
We loved this Art Deco hotel which was lovely to look at and nice to stay in. The breakfast wasn't in a fancy dining room, but it was a plentiful and varied take on a continental breakfast, with muffins, bagels, bread, fruit, cereals, yoghurts etc. I understand the attraction of bagels now I have eaten these, in New York :-)
The staff were great - efficient, helpful and friendly. The room had air conditioning. The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet.
The best thing about this hotel, though, is its location. We were within a short walk of the Empire State building, Macy's and Time Square, and could easily make our way to the other main sights and excitement of New York. There is a roof-top terrace with a bar with an unbeatable view of the Empire State Building. I'm going to attach a photo.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters - you're in New York! We were overlooking a service courtyard so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed one night at the Hotel Metro. Great location, walking distance to subway, and easy and inexpensive commute via train from JFK. Walking to major tourist attractions i.e. Time Square, Empire State Building. Staff was very pleasant. I was given a corner room on the 8th floor. I didn't have a great view, but as it was the back side of the hotel, it was very quiet. Smaller room, but very well appointed. The shower was great, and included a rain shower head. Free breakfast included bagels, huge muffins, toast, yogurt, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There were three rooms open for breakfast diners, so room for everyone. Able to store bag at the hotel when I checked out, then come back later to get it and head to the airport. A very good value for NYC.

Room Tip: Less noise on the upper floors, and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakota726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing