We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,547)
Filter reviews
4,547 results
Traveller rating
2,385
1,674
347
82
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,385
1,674
347
82
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace metro grill bagels the empire state building tea and coffee premier queen room free wine tasting new york times square continental breakfast family suite set you up for the day herald square art deco style penn station perfect location fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
3,244 - 3,249 of 4,547 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Metro last year as it is near the Javitz Exhibition Centre and I really thought it was good value for money. I go to NY for business and cost is always a consideration. This hotel represents value for money.

Breakfast is also great. You can fill up for the day on muffins, bagels, cereal, coffee, juice. Really good selection. The breakfast room is like a cosy lounge with big screens showing the news. Nice way to start the day.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireg800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in February 2009. Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. For New York you cannot fault this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a very good continental breakfast in the morning. During the day there is constant supply of fresh coffee and tea in the lobby area. The location is perfect, only 300 metres from Macys and 5-10 minute walk from Times Square.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerwh1te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Went to New York mid Feb 09, Had fantastic time.
Stayed at Hotel Metro West 35th Street. The hotel staff were excellent even though our travel agent had messed up our booking and hotel had no record of rooms booked for us they gave us a room for the 1st night untill we could contact our travel agents for them to provide confirmation that we were staying 3 nights. The hotel is very clean, rooms are nicely furnished, contental breakfast is provided. TV and shower in rooms, clean towels every day & shampoo shower gel etc provided could not ask for more. This is the second time we have stayed there and would stay again next time in New York. Also Macey's department store is at end of street, 5th ave at other end, Empire state building in next street and Times Square only few blocks away good location for visiting lots of places

4  Thank PetalPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed at Hotel Metro for only two nights after traveling around US for three weeks. We were quite tired - and happy. The hotel is centrally located which is all the more important if you're only staying for a short time - no need to waste time going from one place to another. The room was spotlessly clean and bed good. We had a room with a view (ESB, if you stood in the corner of the room and craned your neck). Room was small, of course, but still bigger than usually in New York. There was some noise from the street at night but we were too tired to care about it. Our room was in 10th floor so I can imagine the noise is pretty bad if you're staying lower. Rooms have wireless internet connection for your laptop and there is a room with a couple of computers and printing facilities, which is great if you want to print out flight information as we did. Good breakfast, free newspapers... In European standards I think this hotel would be a three-star-hotel, not two.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiikkaLotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

After searching through all the reviews i wasnt sure what to expect of the Metro, but i was pleasantly surprised on arrival. The hotel has a lovely boutique feel about it & is in a good location - not far away from anything, with the subway just at the end of the road. The room was very small but clean & warm (too warm) with no bath, just a powerful shower, although we did get fresh linen every day . The only down sides were the noise, as there is building work going on behind the hotel which goes on until late & starts again early and the unhelpful receptionist Anna - who is very sarcastic. The breakfast was good too, more than enough to set you up until lunch time with plenty of choice but gets a bit busy around 8ish. Avoid the hotel 'bar & grill' next door - slow service & quite expensive. A good value for money stay but take your ear plugs and dont ask for any help from Anna!

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaccaWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews