We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great sightseeing location, nice staff and a very comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great sightseeing location, nice staff and a very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We visited New York for my husband's birthday and chose the Metro for it's central location and cheaper rates than places like the Soho Grand where I had stayed previously. When I booked, I mentioned that it was a birthday celebration and requested a nice room on a high floor (New York is pretty noisy!). I was delighted to find that we were given a spacious room on the very top floor , and waiting on our arrival was a handwritten 'Happy Birthday' note, chocolates, and a bottle of bubbly.... So top marks for making us feel welcome! Many more expensive places don't make this much effort! The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the rooftop bar has a great view of the Empire State. My only quibble was the breakfast. Other reviews rave about the breakfast which is certainly plentiful, but was not very classy. It was very crowded, consisted mostly of bread and muffins and not that appetisingly presented. Coffee was from a machine AND we had to use plastic plates and cutlery which I've never experienced in any other hotel, however cheap. Also the 'overflow' breakfast room is really depressing, badly decorated and spartan- More YMCA than hotel-style. Overall though I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opinionatedsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,138
    1,494
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
723
2,139
143
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed five nights at the Metro - the bed was a bit on the hard side and the air conditioning too noisy to leave on overnight, but it was clean and the staff very friendly and the location was great just off Broadway and five minutes walk from Times Square - very close to the subway with connections in all directions. The room itself had no view (they put us on the back which was supposedly quieter so all we could see were brick walls) but the view from the roof terrace was compensation enough - a fantastic view of the Empire State Building. The free breakfast was good too - bagels, toast, muffins etc and free tea and coffee 24 hours a day. The public areas are lovely - art deco and very stylish.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherbutFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We chose Hotel Metro for our first-ever visit to New York City. Booking a hotel online is always a little nerve-wracking--you never know exactly what you're going to get. We were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Metro! The location is excellent--a convenient subway stop right down the street, and the Empire State Building, Macy's, and 5th Avenue all within a block. Walking north to Times Square or south to the Flatiron Building took only minutes. Our room was large enough for the two of us and was extremely clean. The staff was helpful with storing luggage and securing cabs. The best part of the hotel is definitely the rooftop terrace--the view of the Empire State Building cannot be beat! We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again next time we're in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMS2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHAMPTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

my husband and i stayed at the hotel metro from 5th june to the 10th june. we checked in fine and we were upgraded to a king size from a deluxe double. the room was massive ! we had friends coming on the next flight and they had a standard double . these rooms are very small with just enough room to walk around the bed. but then you dont spend much time in your room. the rooms are spotless and the beds are very comfy.the rooftop bar is stunning with a good view of the empire state building. the breakfast is also very good with a choice of toast,cereal,bagels,doughnuts and muffins.the staff at this hotal were very helpful and polite. i must recommend the new york waterway boat trip which was amazing ! ask the receptionist about the details as i dont think its on any tourist leaflets but she ( ana i think ) recomended it to us. it lasts about 1.30 hours but the sight of new york from the water is stunning and you go round to the statue of liberty as well. also it was nowhere near as packed as some of the other boat trips. you get a free shuttle to the boat as well and after we got another free shuttle down to ground zero.the hotel overall is a very good one and its within walking distance to everything. the only downside was the building work at the back of the hotel which woke us some mornings but it wasnt a real problem.overall we had a brill time but its very tiring . we did all the main tourist things times square , empire state building etc you have to do these , they are amazing especially at night ! we also found it very expensive aswell so take plenty of money ! and thats just the food and drink ! but i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisa 149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed at this property for 3 nights. It's a good location. Very easy walk to Times Square, but not right in it. Within walking distance from the hotel is a wonderful Korean restaurant, a coffee/bakery shop, convenience store, 2 Irish Pubs and a subway stop. Only 1.5 blocks from Herald Square and Macy's.

We were upgraded from a double to queen room. Room was clean and comfortable. Aside from the bed, it had a desk with chair, lounge chair with small table, a chest of drawers, closest with safe. AC worked really well. Bathroom was clean. Did not include a tub but the shower stall was ample. Only blemish I saw in the room was some paint peeling on the ceiling in the corner of the shower stall. Water pressure was great and the hot water was hot.

We were on the 4th floor and found the room and hallways to be very quiet.

The hotel is serviced by 2 elevators which ran fast.

The hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast which was good as far as continental breakfasts go and a rooftop bar, open only to guests and with a great view of the Empire State Building. The rooftop bar is a rather expansive space with ample seating. The hotel also provides complimentary coffee and tea, 24/7 and also has a nice exercise facility. There is also a restaurant in the hotel, but we did not eat there.

This hotel provides a good location, several amenities and a few good extras (breakfast, rooftop bar, free coffee/tea and free newspapers) at a fair price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisak64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My wife and I stayed there for four nights in May. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. We had a double-room that was a bit small but very clean.The location is super as a base for sight-seeing - either walking or on the subway. The roof terrace was a terric place to enjoy a cool drink after hard days sight seeing. Fifteen-minutes free internet in the business centre was a life-saver given that we travelled BA during the cabin crew strike. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My Husband and I stayed there for 4 nights. Room was a bit small but very clean mind you it is only for sleeping and having a shower etc as you will be out most of the days. Loved the location, you are basically central to alot of attractions. The roof terrace is fab, we sat there having a beer looking at the Empire State Building. There is a subway only yards away, Macys is in view and walking ditsance. I would stay here again and recomend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing