We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco and much more”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #93 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2007

My stay at this hotel was a lovely experience.Great location, friendly helpful staff and wonderful art deco decor.
Free breakfast and 24 hr coffee machines are a real bonus.the rooms are cleaned daily ,bed was very comfortable and also changed daily ,another bonus.
This was my first trip to NYC and if I return I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trishann111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,173)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,145 - 3,151 of 4,174 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2007

Room was extremely tiny. Rude staff. No one helped us with our luggage getting settled in. Has got to be the most horrible service i've had in a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chas4125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

I have been to New York City for four straight years and stayed in average hotels and first class hotels. My favorite was the Hotel Metro because of the staff, location, and rooms. The room was clean and spacious (suggest upgrading to the double bed size - it's large considering others in NYC). The front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant. The hotel was close to Times Square, subway and Macys. Hint: the rooftop bar was very popular, so go early and get a seat. The fitness center was clean and everything worked. I checked on different sites for rates and got different prices, so check all the resources- don't forget to empty the temporary files and cookies on your computer when you check around, the web site will remember the rates that were previously given to you and won't change unless you update them every time you go to the same web site.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

I had a panic when I read a negative review of this hotel just before I stayed there but decided to go for it and was pleased I did. Yes the area is not the leafy Upper east side but the location is amazing in terms of the subway and Empire State. I couldn't fault the hotel and the staff were excellent and very helpful. Don't believe the negatives and go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank 173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Metro in Feb 2007 for our first trip to NYC. We both absolutely loved it!! The staff were always very friendly, one in particular, the receptioninst George was always very helpful, and was always smiling and chatting. The rooms were very clean, and were immaculately cleaned by the time we got back for the night. The breakfast was nice, it was the same everyday, but there was lots of it and it was good to set you up for a day walking around the city! We are going back to NYC in November, and wanted to stay at the Metro again, but it was a little too expensive for that time at year, but I would definately reccommend it!!

Stayed: February 2007
8  Thank vicki_d2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Stayed at the Metro for 4 nights at the beginning of July 07 and had a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The room was plenty big enough for us , certainly roomier than in the hotel we stayed in on our previous visit to New York , as was the bathroom and both were very clean.

Great location , just a short walk to the subway and to Macys and the construction work didn't bother us unduly.

Enjoyed the breakfasts and didn't see any sign of mice!

The staff were very pleasant and helpful , particularly George on reception.

Would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CatLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Please have patience whilst I get something off my chest - why are some of the other reviewers basing tsome of their criticism on some neighbourhood properties & some of the hotel guests being of Far East origin??? I think that closed-minded travellers who wish to visit somewhere that does not contain a 'melting pot' of cultures are rather naive in choosing to visit New York. Afterall, isn't the wonderful preponderance of Minority Ethnic neighbourhoods, cultures & cuisines one of the truly great things about New York?? Plus, the restaurants referred to ignorantly as 'Chinese' are actually Korean. And the rubbish that was left outside them was the same rubbish left outside every NY restaurant every night!!!
OK, the hotel - not brilliant, but not bad either. Luckily we did not come across any evidence of mice at all, and may feel defirrently if we had. The hotel seems expensive compared to other US destinations, but is a pretty standard price for London for example, and you expect higher prices for NY. Our room was very small (but again we expected that) but very clean. We enjoyed the MP3 docking station/speaker unit, the breakfast was useful (toast, bagels, fruit, yoghurts, chesse, ham, cereal, danish pastries, muffins, T&C & juice), and the 24/7 T&C was very very useful. The staff were neither friendly nor rude, they got the job done in a quiet non-chatty way - so nothing to rave about, but crucially no complaints either. The lifts were limited & slow, so we often took the stairs, but again - you only have to wait 2 or 3 minutes & it would arrive. We didn't have any problems with noise & we thought the location was superb - v close to subway stop/Macys/Empire State Building. THe area felt very safe, we often returned at 22.00 to 01.00 and didn't feel worried about doing so- the 24 hour Korean restaurants next door help this as there is always a pretty lively crowd outside. There is a newsagents to the left of the hotel for drinks & papers, the area is slightly whiffy - but it only takes you 1 minute to walk through it & then you're back in the excitement of New York. This hotel is a perfectly decent place from which to see NY, it is better than 'basic' but not luxurious, the rooftop bar is still closed. If you just want somewhere to bed for the night, get a decent shower, good air con, have a cup of tea after hitting the city & a free breakfast to get you ready for the day - this is it. Just don't expect huge rooms, smiley 'have a nice day' service & low prices. (Extras - if you're buying an iPod in NY make sure it is actually the gB requirement you need - don't accept the sellers reassurances that 'this is 8gB' for example - especially around Times Sqaure. Bargain hard, walk away & the price gets knocked down by $$$- over $150 off the asking price for a Sony camera for us. Half price ticket booths for Theatre tix are well worth it despite the wait of up to 2hrs - great seats, especially for Weds matinees - for $55. Chicago & The Colour Purple were both superb - the first very polished, the latter very moving. Washington Square is wonderful for people watching, and dog watching, at the weekend. The New York Water Taxi is a great way to take a trip over to Brooklyn, ~$11 pp with excellent views of the Statue of Liberty)

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Antonia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#154 of 468 in New York City
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £145 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing