We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Value”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #85 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Value”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Metro. The trip was a present for my husbands 40th birthday. I mentioned this to the hotel on booking and when we arrived we found our room had been upgraded and there was a complimentary bottle of fizz in the room. The room was amazing, huge bed, cool decor, spacious, great bathroom, great view of the Empire State building. The hotel is in a great location just minutes from the Empire State Building and Macys. We pretty much walked everywhere although there is also a subway station close by. Facilities are good we used the gym and the interent in the business room. The staff were all really helpful and friendly. The included breakfast and complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day were a nice touch. The roof top terrace offered great views and I should imagine that this is a great place for a drink when the bar is open during the summer months. The hotel exceeded our expectations and offered good value for New York.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    1,513
    296
    73
    49
See reviews for
737
2,177
145
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The Metro hotel is really well presented and the staff friendly and accomodating. The hotel's decor is really charming. The Metro bar was really nice too and breakfast in the morning was great and really generous- bagels galore!. There is also a small gym facility that has some good equipment- so well worth using if you fancy a bit of exercise. The roof terrace was nice and has some great views of the Empire State Building and Macys. Our room was also nicely presented, good flat screen TV, coffee making facilities and nice bathroom with a walk in shower. The room was nice and warm, however in the end we had to adjust the thermostat because it was getting too warm. i was expecting more noise from the City but actually it wasnt too bad. Hotel is in a good location- near to Empire State and metro stops going uptown and downtown. Recommend jumping on metro to Greenwich or Soho for good quality restaurants, although there is a small Korean quarter near to the hotel. All in all a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed here with a friend 2 nights. Second time (stayed for 4 nights with my son last summer) and got an excellent room rate I would think because of the work going on in the hotel and construction in nearby street. Neither of these spoiled our trip though there were a few loud metallic noises early the first morning.

Location is perfect, being two minute walk to Broadway and 6th and right by Macys and other well known stores. Subway to other areas is right on the street corner. Easy walking distance to Rockerfeller Centre, Empire State and other downtown locations. Good eating places around the corner, Pax for excellent sandwiches and fresh salads and it's handy having a fridge in the room to store snacks and drinks. Duane Reade drug store on the corner of the street too.

As previously, staff were friendly and very helpful but I imagine it's how you treat them if you have a bad experience! Received a much appreciated and unexpected room upgrade.

Breakfast is good but if you're looking for full service then this isn't for you. It's help yourself but a good selection of muffins, pastries, bagels, bread for toast, cream cheese and jams, yoghurt, and always a fresh fruit salad and bowl of fruit. Plenty of fresh tea and coffee and juices. Never had a problem finding anywhere to sit!

Business centre has free access and good internet speed. Paper provided for printing off your boarding card or other documentation where other hotels charge for internet and printing.

All in all you can't go wrong. The hotel is clean and the maid service excellent with clean towels daily. Most bathrooms in Manhattan hotels are small by the way! Plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower.

Highly recommended by a fussy traveller!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday to New York. It was our first time. Hotel was recommended by travel agent. Have read all reviews already logged with Trip Advisor and I think I agree with almost all the comments. Hotel Metro is in a good location with a Subway, Macy's and Victoria's Secret just a few minutes away. Room was good. Reception area really nice. Good continental breakfast which must have saved us a fortune in not having to eat out as there were 4 of us. Free tea and coffee available all day. Bar and small restuaurant as well. Found staff, especially the doorman very nice. We were disturbed a little by the building work but I think this depends on where your room is. Maid service every day. If I returned to NYC I would stay here again. View of Empire State building from roof terrace - you really are very close! Times Square approx. 15 mins walk. Central Park approx 30 mins walk. Make sure you have good walking shoes for a visit to NYC. Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock Cafe and TGI Friday's were just some of the places we ate at in Times Sq., but have to say they were the best meals we had. Maddisson Square Gardens 10 mins. walk - check online before you go as they have some great events there - we were lucky enough to see the Harlem Globe Trotters on the night we arrived. We signed up for the Citysights Tour (blue bus). This turned out to be good value. Inc. river cruise, entrance to Top of the Rock, ferry to Statue of Liberty, 2 hour night bus tour. (We had to queue 2 hours in the freezing cold for the ferry to Statue of Liberty - saw some people with tickets that took them straight to the front of the queue as they arrived so this may be worth spending extra for) It took us everywhere we wanted to go and you can hop off/on along the way. However, just make sure you check with the bus guide each time so that you know when the last bus back is from where you are dropped off and we went to get the bus to go on the River Cruise and found out there was no bus and we had to walk 20mins or so to the harbour. Went ice skating in Central Park which is beautiful. As the hotel is so close to the Empire State building we decided to view NYC from the top of the Rockerfeller Centre. We went at 6pm just as it was starting to get dark. I think the view will stay with me as my most outstanding memory of my visit to New York. It was breathtaking. You are 68 storeys up and you can walk around all sides - wow! Once you work out how the streets and the avenues work it is easy to find your way around. As part of the bus tour went to World Trade Centre site. This is the stop before the Statue of Liberty. Small exhibition at St Pauls Church is worth while before walking to the site. They are rebuilding and plan to open the Memorial Garden there this coming September. From the site walked on to the World Financial Centre. You have views of the bulding work there. Also at the WFC are the Winter Gardens. 40 foot palm trees growing inside! You can get lunch there and it has terrace out to the Hudson River. Flew with Virgin Atlantic - very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The good bits:
Good location in the heart of Midtown.
Free tea and coffee provided throughout the day in the lounge
Free wi-fi and fast by hotel standards
Door staff/storage staff were very friendly and helpful
The roof terrace which has stunning views of the Empire State Building (closed until Spring)

The not-so-good bits:
Our booking was not fulfilled: we had booked two rooms through which were supposed to be adjacent and with two beds each. However, they were at opposite ends of the corridor from each other and each had one uncomfortable small 4'6'' bed. This was not good enough and did not make for a good nights sleep. At check-in, the surly staff told us we could get our rooms changed...but the following morning we were told we could not change rooms because the hotel was full all week. Staff generally in the hotel were unhelpful, even my NYC standards (excepting the door staff).

The "contemporary" class bedrooms (512 and 517) were, in our opinion, tiny, cramped and dingy. 512 room looks onto the construction site and work started at approximately 7am in the morning. 517 was even smaller and looks onto the back of a blackened brick building - possibly the most claustrophobic, depressing outlook we have ever had from a hotel window. Our bed linen was inadequate i.e. did not keep us warm during the nght with the heating off, and the "damask" duvet cover in 512 was stained. The bathrooms were tiny although the water pressure in the shower in 512 was good. One of the few "positives" about the rooms was the charge we developed from the dirty, stained nylon carpets which resulted in entertaining static shocks. Further, the corridors smelt stale and smoky.

The "daily deluxe continental breakfast" (as described on the hotel website with "deluxe" defined in a US dictionary as "luxurious or sumptuous; of a superior kind") was complementary which ought to be a good thing in NYC. However, after the first morning we went out and paid for a proper breakfast at a local diner in W36th St. Breakfast in the hotel is great if you like using paper cups and plates, plastic cutlery and enjoy a scrum for a seat. If the hotel is full (as was alleged to be last week) it will accommodate approximately 350 guests. The "executive lounge" for breakfast must seat a maximum of approximately 50-60 guests. Whilst the food was merely adequate, the breakfast experience was appalling and certainly not "deluxe" in any way whatsoever.

This was not our first visit to NYC and will not be our last. However, we will not stay in this hotel again and nor would we recommend. Hotel Metro can apparently afford to be complacent as it clearly has many contracts with tour operators and therefore occupancy rates are high. All in all, this hotel is poor and whilst the construction work continues at the rear of the building, visitors should be wary of taking any rooms at the back if they want peace beyond early morning. Yet, from other reviews, rooms at the front do not offer quiet either. This is not a problem we have experienced in other hotels in NYC as they have had double/triple glazing. I would respectfully suggest that the hotel website blatantly misrepresents the quality of this hotel.

However, if you do stay here, do try the Han Bat Korean restaurant next door but one...unpretentious surroundings, great food and service and excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Each time I have visited the Metro it was better than the time before, its central location, the staff really seem to care, the complimentary breakfast, the room upgrades even the Metro Grill food is excellent. I certainly recommend giving the Metro a go. I have used other hotels in New York but for me 'I heart the Metro'

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrosie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

So me and my friend stayed at this hotel for our first time in New York and it was great. The staff was good and they even remembered us and said hi, even on the streets! It was cute and unexpected. The rooms were kinda small but who cares? You're in NYC! Water was hot, room service tidied up better than my own mother would, and the location was EXCELLENT!! Not to mention the rooftop views were amazing. 0.o Try to wake up early to see the sunrise or go up later to see the wonderfully lit Empire State building. Overall it was a wonderful experience and we will hopefully be coming back to this hotel for many more stays in the big apple.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 466 in New York City
738 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 466 in New York City
701 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,372 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing