We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Money saver”
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #391 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Money saver”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is an old building. It resembles more of a "dormroom". The lobby is small but the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms that end on 06-09 face central park. Elevator is slow. Carpet needs replacing. Rooms are small (10X10 or 10X12). Bathroom is 6X7. Even though the building is old, bathroom and bed were VERY clean. Room was quiet and bed was comfortable. TV only has 12 channels, there is no closet, no iron, blowdryer available in bathroom, window A/C unit bearly kept the room cool. No free internet (however there is a Turkish Deli 1 block north that has free internet and good sandwiches). Internet in the hotel is available for a charge. Use of hotel computer is $2.00/8 minutes. The closes train station was 3 short blocks away (A,B& C line) and 5 long blocks away (D line). The neighborhood is safe. To the west (manhattan, Amsterdam, Colombus street) is mostly hispanic. I walked all over day & night without a problem. This is not a family hotel. It worked out great for me since I would wake up at 8 am, be out by 9am and wouldn't be back until 8pm. If you are planing on doing the same, I highly recommend it. If you plan on spending any time in the hotel, you will go crazy. Subway fare is $2.25. I recommend getting the unlimited 7 day ticket (even if you stay less) for $29. Everywhere you go, you will need to catch the subway or bus. Yankee stadium is 10 minute ride, times square 13 minutes, WTC 20 minutes. Be aware that "1 block" equals 1/10 of a mile....so, from the hotel to time square is approximately 6 miles (60 blocks).

Room Tip: Higher rooms is quieter. Rooms ending on 06-09 have windows facing the park. Rooms ending on 07 &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank csmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    530
    470
    181
    151
See reviews for
246
600
106
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My partner and I stayed here during winter time on a 4 day trip to New York. Rooms are small but clean and the central heating is nice and warm. There is an air conditioning unit fitted at the window which I found a little noisy. The walls are thin also and we did ask to be moved at one point as our neighbours were loud - once moved, we didnt have noise problems. The views of Central Park are gorgeous, especially in the snow. Access to down town NYC & JFK were easy on the subway too. NYC remains one of my favourite places on the planet and I would consider staying here again; the price is good value and beats the crazy prices of other New York hotels!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrhysmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we went to this hotel from las vegas for our 40 wedding anniversary all though staff was friendly this hotel needs up dating carpet in my shed is cleaner looks as bleach has been dropped on it in places blinds in room very dirty and did not fit right did not take clothes out of case as did not feel the wardrobe was fit to hang anything stayed out as late as possible so we could just close are eyes and not see anything bathroom door would not shut good point towels and sheets changed every day thank goodness

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda_adin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

england
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My friends and I have just returned from the astor on the park what a lovely surprise for the price , it is uptown opposite centeral park , it's an ideal no frills hotel to visit newyork and I would defiantly recommend it for anybody wanting to see newyork , two blocks down you can get the subway to anywhere its a clean hotel with rooms , bedding and towels changed everyday it is very friendly hotel with the two security men on the door great help they know all about newyork and are so willing to help .my sister and I often sat on the hotel steps and everyone said hello or good morning as they walked to central park. I would recommend getting a weeks pass for the subway as its so cheap at 29 dollars it will save you money on taxis . We paid 75 dollars from Newark airport to the hotel which is a reasonable price , I would also advise taking an empty suitcase as newyork is a shoppers paradise and so cheap for designer gear , we went to see two broadway shows ghost and Chicago which were both fantastic but if you wait till about 6pm go to the ticket office in times square you will get up to 50% off prices if the theatres not full . Do not get worried about going as I travel up to four times a year and can honestly say this is the friendliest place I have ever been if you don't intend spending loads of time in the hotel stay here it's a great base, also in reception there are stairs downstairs where there is Internet and a coffee machine

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking central park they are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My biggest "but" is the fact that internet access shouldn't be charged additionally and the room could also have a mini-fridge and microwave. Really good location! Room (double) clean and small, yet not too crowded, so you can easily move around. Stuff nice but not too eager to attend you. Overall OK for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinTym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2012

If you want a hotel with your own bath for under $200 a night in NYC this one is it. A subway ride from the busy downtown area( remember to take the C during the day and the A local at night) Clean, friendly, on the older side with a small but working elevator. Rooms are very small, but workable. Ours was quiet on the back of the hotel, great little place to eat and pick up snacks on 109th just a few end blocks down.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package holiday that took us to Niagara, to New York by train then cruise home to the UK.

The room was dire. It was very small, smelt horrible, was damp and had a noisy air conditioner that didn't work properly. The bath had a crack in it. The bathroom door wouldn't shut. The bed was uncomfortable.There was no where to eat. There were no tea or coffee making facilities or any way of getting food or drink. On the last night the carbon monoxide monitor started bleeping so they removed it pointing out the smoke alarm as a 'back up'. Not quite sure how that works!!

Anything good to say about it?

It was cheap. It is close to Central Park, although I should point out it was a couple of miles from down town Manhattan, where most of the main attractions like ground zero , Broadway, Maceys etc are. It's next to the subway. The staff were polite, and arranged a taxi for us to the cruise terminal which we were very grateful to get to. Other room photo's on this site look better, but I would never risk this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarySew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 467 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,608 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 467 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Property: Astor on the Park
Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing