We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i love this little funky hotel”
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #396 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“i love this little funky hotel”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

there's nothing fancy about the hotel but the location is wonderful and quiet...the northern entrance to central park is right across the street. the A B C subway line is three tiny blocks away...several stops to 59th street to transfer to crosstown subways. lovely friendly staff. I recommend astor on the park!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veh235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    518
    461
    180
    148
See reviews for
240
589
99
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

You only get what you pay for. Very cheap end of market and it shows. Staff work hard for a poor hotel. Needs demolishing and rebuilt. Actually may be better if it was knocked down and left.
I would advise if yo have a bit more money to go somewhere else/

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyuk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

You will never mistake Astor-on-the-Park for the Waldorf-Astoria, but then again, your final bill won't hurt as much either. Located at the very northern end of Central Park West, the Astor presents itself as an alternative to the pricier hotels located further downtown. The second you walk in, you notice the worn condition of the lobby and the smell of disinfectant. I didn't anticipate much of a room, considering the nightly rate I was paying and what the lobby looked like. As I ascended the stairs (my room was on the second floor and the elevator is VERY slow), I noticed that the carpeting was much in need of replacement and the narrow hallways were dimly lit. Opening my room door, I was met with a small room with a flat screen on the wall, a worn wardrobe cabinet, an old-style radiator, and a bed that had clean linens. The carpeting in the room had a yuck factor, so I mostly kept my socks on. The bathroom was the big surprise. While there was a broken sink and some signs of repair work, it was updated at some time fairly recently. While it isn't the bathroom of my dreams, it was clean and comfortable. Two problems that did pop up were that hot water takes about 10 minutes to come up first thing in the morning and a towel that had two large holes and was fraying on the edge was placed in my room for my use. If I had a towel like that at home, it would either be used to wax the car or thrown out (see photo.) Also, I housekeeping failed to make up my room on the last day of my stay. Location is convenient to the subway (<3 blocks away), Museum of Natural History (1.5 miles, 3K), and some of the best quality for the price restaurants in New York on Columbus and Amsterdam avenues.
So, even though this hotel is very worn and has some aspects that are downright unacceptable, the price for the location ratio is quite high. The 2 most important things I look for in a hotel are a clean bed and a clean bathroom. The Astor-on-the-Park had both. Therefore, even though there is a major need for updating, I would stay here again if the price is well below other Manhattan hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor so that you don't have to take the SLOW elevator. It's o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roccoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I suppose you need to know your own limits: saving money and an interesting location might make up for a sadly worn property, saved from being truly terrible by an accommodating and good-natured staff. It is clean: your bed will be comfortable. But the heating may go, the cable TV is likely to be out, and if you are past your youth hostel days you may find the level of discomfort not worth the savings. If your young and buoyant and have a reason to be on the Upper West Side, by all means try your luck.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is to be avoided like the plague if you are the least bit fussy. The rooms are tired with furniture that is damaged or at best well worn. The state of cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired and general hotel facilities and services are almost non-existent. The staff tried their best in the circumstances and the hotel is fairly well situated overlooking the top end of Central Park. Although a high standard of hotel accom is not crucial in a City like NY the lack of it it certainly spoilt our holiday. The actual experience of the hotel in no way matched the visual impression given on it`s website. We accept that tariffs are reasonable but this is no excuse for the the standard of accom and serices offered. Should have really complained more whilst there but there did not seem to be anybody in authority to communicate with on this basis.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there try and opt for the top floors which are a later addition. However, we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 214Forest13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice, in 2012 and 2014, for a few nights. I basically agree with all that markmarkmarkmann said below; especially, plumbing could be irritating at night. However, considering price, location, cleanliness, safety, it is a safe haven in Manhattan, and I will give it 4 stars. I am going to stay there again when visiting Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serguei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cavan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a small hotel across the road from Central Park some of the rooms have no view as they look onto other buildings they rooms were warm and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful it's a short walk to the subway station which is a great way of getting around and to sight see in this wonderful city all said its a basic hotel good value and a good base to see New York

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#390 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Property: Astor on the Park
Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing