We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than a jail cell!!”
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #394 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worse than a jail cell!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just back from a 5 night stay in NYC, myself & boyfriend were booked into this hotel believing it was a great location right in the heart of city! This is not true! It's on the edge of Harlem right at Central Park but feels very unsafe as not many tourists about! We were booked in to the hotel for 5 nights but after the 1st night we left and booked into 1 at Times Square. The hotel is very basic and externally run down! The receptionist was very ignorant when we checked in (more interested in her mobile) there was a 10 min wait for the 1 elevator in the place! The corridors were very narrow & badly worn & dirty carpets! The room was the Pitts! It was barley 5 feet by feet! Dirty carpets & dirty windows with a lovely view of a brick wall!! No safe in the room and the place was just not what it looked like in the pictures! The walls are so thin you hear everything! Do not stay here you will be disappointed!! Pay a little more & stay in Times Square it was amazing down there!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    523
    464
    180
    149
See reviews for
242
593
102
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I really wanted this to be my go-to hotel in NYC since I travel monthly, but unfortunately it is not. The hotel is on the edge of Harlem and is pretty safe, although I recommend going home on the early side. The rooms are very, very small - but that didn't bother me too much because the bed was comfortable. All essentially was going well until the ceiling started leaking...rapidly....at midnight. We called downstairs and it took about 10 minutes for someone to come up. They had nothing to offer us, and did not try to stop the leak, so I called to ask for a new room. The new room was even smaller (it only fit the bed, no walking space) and was very, very uncomfortable. I went to the desk to tell him this is ridiculous, and he cared more about texting than my complaint. We barley slept and checked out the next morning. The new person at the desk offered me another room if I wanted to pay, saying she would "upgrade it." At this point we needed sleep and left. I would not recommend this hotel, even to those used to staying in hostels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlynnedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Astor on the Park in New York for nearly a week in February 2014. The room was very clean and well kept, bed sheets changed every day, as needed soaps, shampoo and towels, has a flat screen TV with cable. It is not luxury but if your goal is to enjoy New York for a very moderate price, than Astor is a good place. Our room had a great view of Central Park, which you may get if you ask.
Area is safe and has plenty of small grocery and eating places. Great deli next door for breakfast with a Turkish flavour.Convenient bus lines are near by.
Elevator is small and a bit slow but that is a minor item to us.
We appreciated also the friendlly and helpful attitude.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I got a top deal on this hotel. 9 nights for 500 dollars. I took the risk and booked it. I was quite nervous about staying at this hotel, as I always read the reviews.
I'm really thankful for the "bad" reviews as I was prepared to sleep in a "dirty hole". We brought two pillows and lots of earplugs (better save than sorry).
As we arrived the staff was very nice and helpful. The first ride on the elevator was quite the challenge, as we had to fit in it with three big bags. Yes the elevator is tiny but it was the perfect workout to go up and down the stairs every day. Didn't bother us.
The room wos tiny and cozy, it was totally clean (I began searching for dirt, didn't find anything). The bathroom was renovated, no broken tiles and very clean (much better than last years stay at the sheraton 4*).
The closet and the tv-board were pretty old and used, my boyfriend fixed the closet-door and it worked perfectly after that.
The housekeeping staff changed towels every day, which was very nice of them.
The heating system was pretty loud but I slept all through the night with ear plugs
The busstation for the M10 line is only a few footsteps away and the subway station a few blocks, there are plenty of stores and good restaurants in the area.
I really don't get all the bad reviews - the price is totally right on this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was booked into this so-called 'hotel' as a two-night interim stop-off as part of a package including two cruises either side of the New York stay. Thank goodness that it was only for two nights, as it was so grim and depressing that I could not wait to get out of the place within 15 minutes of setting foot in it.

The staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were relatively clean, and I was offered the option of a 'smoking' room, which is quite a rarity in these authoritarian times. However, these were the only positives which I could find in favour of the place.

The Astor is situated right at the northern tip of Central Park West, so it is by no means conveniently or centrally sited. The subway ride into central downtown N.Y. took 15 to 20 minutes, while the transfers by cab involved approx. 40 minutes. I was booked in on a 'room only' basis, but I at least expected the opportunity to purchase a meal on the premises: not so! There were no dining facilities whatsoever, which to me begs the question: does an 'hotel' really merit the description of hotel if it has no dining room? Additionally, there were no tea/coffee making utilities in the rooms, and the only option to buy a hot drink was by means of a vending machine in the 'basement', which actually resembled a rubbish tip. In addition, the rooms were tiny, with very old and noisy radiators, and there were no chairs to sit on: one had to sit or lie on the bed,

This is the second-worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune of staying in, the worst being a hovel in Southampton, where I stayed overnight 3 years ago prior to a previous cruise. My advice to anyone considering staying in the Astor would be: steer well clear and don't even think about it.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to look out over a very grim and uninviting courtyard, so I could not begin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked and paid to stay 3 nights, but we stayed only 1 as this place was so bad. Tiny tiny room, dirty sheets, the walls were paper thin and the whole hotel creeked all night because the heating was on full blast. Life is too short to stay in places like this. Spend the extra and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisrowenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

For the price it was more than enough. The room was clean and warm (during a snow storm). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent; right near the central park north entrance and near the subway.
No free wi-fi (about $10 a day!) the pillows were hard and too high, and the radiator whistled all night. The price was so cheap that it was well worth it though. Just bring your own pillow :D

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tired_Faith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,281 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#314 of 468 in New York City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
834 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#391 of 468 in New York City
1,585 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 468 in New York City
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Property: Astor on the Park
Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing