We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Loved the apartment!
It was clean (a bit dusty but didn't matter), cozy, quiet and very convenient. There is a bus stop just across the street and a tube station a couple of blocks away.
When I go again I will definately stay here before going to a hotel

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2008

My family and I just returned from a 5 day stay in NY. Over all the appartment 3B was ok, failrly clean (a lot of dust) and the appliances all worked.
When first we came in there was a terrible gas smell that made us open all the windows. I called Douglas Copper right away, he was friendly enough but wasn't ready to send someone out to fix the problem (7 PM). He suggested lighting the pilot light on the stove top which we did. Upon returning from an evening meal (having closed all windows on leaving) the smell was still there and no answer on the phone. The next morning we left a message at 9 (also there were not enough towels and comforters) and called Mr Cooper at 3. He said the housekeeper had looked after everything but the smell persisted. With the windows closed we had headaches and felt nauseous ....
I would not return to this appartment.
D. Koch

Stayed: November 2008
2  Thank dkh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

I have just returned from a seven night family stay at this apartment and would like to share our experiences with everyone. Although the apartment does have some good points I would strongly advise against staying here because of the terrible customer service we received.

Basically we were charged over £200 by Oxbridge without notification for plumbing services to fix the bathroom toilet after we had informed them that there was a problem with the toilet drainage. We informed the contact person immediately after discovering that the drainage wasn't working properly and some time later were met by the contact person who refused to speak to us for over an hour whilst he checked the toilet out. With a very young child, we were left with no toilet facilities overnight before finally a plumber came to fix the problem the next morning. We noticed that several parts of the toilet had been changed by the plumber but the contact person again refused to speak to anyone about the problem, as he asked the plumber to go downstairs with him and sort out the details. Upon return to the UK we found out that approximately £250 had been taken from our account by Oxbridge.

I notice that several others who have stayed here have had similar problems with this company, including some who Oxbridge have tried to charge for similar problems with the toilet. The apartment has, in my opinion, some sub-standard facilities that are not properly working and in our case we were charged for informing Oxbridge of the problem. The big issue I have with this is that we weren't informed of the charges whilst we were in the US and so had no method of complaint.

I strongly advise people to steer clear of this apartment and choose to stay in another apartment or else you risk being charged unfairly in this way for something you haven't done.

With regards to the actual apartment, it is a basic, cheap place in a nice Carnegie Hill location. Negatives include no lift, noisy front bedroom, one bedroom being entered through another and the sub standard bathroom facilities that I have already mentioned. Positives include the Madison Avenue location and the cleanliness of the place.

Overall, please stay away from this one. We are a normal hard working family who had looked forward to this trip and our dealings with Oxbridge left a sour taste.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Stephen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I needed to book a flight and hotel to visit my dear friend who had become paralyzed and is in Mt Sinai hospital. I spent hours online trying to find something that was nearby and reasonable. There were so many hotel/flight packages that were around $2000 and were at least a taxi ride from the hospital. I was thrilled to find the Oxbridge, at first, only for the close location to the hospital. But, I was more than pleased when I got inside the door. It was 2 doors that locked behind me, the smell of new paint up the staircase.. not a bit of dust. I stayed in #2A, as it seems a lot of reviewers have, and the apartment was beautiful and spotless. Wood floors, plenty of space, very comfortable bed, 2 quiet air conditioners, a spotless sink, spotless stove. Even the tea kettle was absolutely clean. There was actually 2 ice cube trays that had been filled and ready for use. My only complaint, there was no bar of soap for the shower, even though there was dishwashing liquid for the kitchen and hand washing soap for the bathroom sink. The bath towels were clean and plush.
Once outside, there are coffee shops galore, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts and a few restaurants. The restaurants, Hanratty's, One Fish Two Fish and Peter's are wonderful and definitely not NYC priced. When I got closer to Mt Sinai Hospital, there were street vendors with more coffee, pastries, wonderful fresh fruit and other sundries.

I enjoyed my stay, unfortunately it was not for a vacation. But, should anyone need to visit friends or family at Mt Sinai, this is the place to stay. It is a one minute walk to the hospital in a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cadygulf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My family stayed for five nights in the two bedroom apt.
The room was very spaceious and full of all the utilities required for our stay.
The people in the area seemed very friendly and helpfull when questioned for directions.Hanrattys bar was excellent and all the staff very friendly.please note children are allowed in the eating area.
The downside was the lack of lifts to the apt,so this would be a problem for people with mobility.
We would consider staying here again in the future as these apts are good value for money.
As other people have mentioned in their reviews there are some good eating places in the area.
For transport i prefered the buses ,the subway can be confusing at first but you get used to them.The taxi fare was reasonable to and from central manhattan around $12.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank phantomf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

After searching and searching for reasonably priced good accomodation in NY I stumbled on this. I was wary of booking it at first due to its location. Other reviewers had mentioned that Carnegie Hill wasnt the best place to be. Well I chanced it and am glad I did. The apartment is spacious. We had one bedroom and kicthen/living area and a bathroom. The apartment was spotless when we arrived. There was a lot of channels on the tv. The bathroom was a good size and it was clean. The apartment is about a 5 minute walk to the nearest subway station and you will need to use it. The apartment is a bit out of the way in relation to all the touristy places in NY. The area itself seemed fine to me. I didnt encounter any problems... however I also didnt venture far... I usually went from the apartment to the subway station and never really went in the opposite direction which is the direction of Harlem. There are pizza places, dunkin donuts and subway nearby as well. For the price I really dont think I could have found better in NY. I loved the privacy of the apartment. I didnt have a problem with noise or anything here. There is no elevator so if you have a lot of luggage it might be a problem. The only bad part for me was the fact that we couldnt control the heat and the apartment was so hot all the time! If I come to NY again I would try and get one of their apartments closer to Times Square but if I couldnt I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank traveluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We had 4 adults and a baby in our party and we stayed on the top floor apartment which had 2 rooms, big open plan lounge/dining and kitchen. It was perfect size for us and we were not in the room that much anyway. We thought it was a great location and have no trouble getting around anywhere. Heaps of good food places with in walking distance and plenty of food stores to get supplies. My only complaint was that the toilet was blocked before we arrived and when one of the guys from our group called out the owner to fix it, he said that our lilttle one must of put something in the toilet to block it, only problem with that is she didnt arrive till late in the night so thats impossible!! but I think he just wanted to put the blame on someone nad maybe charge us for the repair (which we got told in a letter left on the table when we arrived). but overall good place, great for the money and location and I would stay there again no worries.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hdettmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,395 reviews
Midtown
YOTEL New York
YOTEL New York
#137 of 470 in New York City
11,276 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill

Address: 1412 Madison Avenue, East 97 St., Carnegie Hill, New York City, NY 10029-6941
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £116 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing