We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and service”
Reviewed 30 April 2006

We had just returned from a 10 day trip to the above apartment. There were four adults travelling but we needed three separate sleeping areas. We had exactly what we asked for the bedding was clean and plenty of it.

There were plenty of dishes and glasses etc and with a coffee maker, toaster, microwave and fridge you didn't have to go out. However with restaurants so cheap and just across the road or up a block and with a deli next door but one who needed to eat in.

If you are going to New York want a good value stay with close links to subway and the rest of Manhattan stay here I would recommend it to you as I have to friends already.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oatrih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2006

Stayed here in August 2005.It was a good value place
to stay. Exactly as advertised. Spacious and convenient.
The only minor issue was that we asked to pick up the key in Hanrattys bar. However it was actually in the other address ( with the conceirge ).
Walls were thin, but we didn't have a problem with noise. Corridors were a bit shabbily painted though.
Overall, i would recommend compleatly to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank smiley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 May 2005

I agree with many of the comments from reviewers but since there aren't many reasonably priced apartments available in NY (especially bookable via internet), I wouldn't necessarily rule this one out as some of the other reviews suggest.

The apartment was fairly clean, in a safe location (close to central Park), arrangements for getting the keys were fine and everything in the publicity was factually correct.

However, you should consider the following before making a decision:-

- The front apartment is noisy (passing trucks) despite the triple glazing, although quietens down a fair bit late at night.
- The toilet can block easily so needs careful use and you might need to get some unblocker from the supermarket
- It has been heavily used since its refurbishment and so is a bit shabby
- You can't expect 24 hour service because it isn't a hotel
- There is no elevator
- It is really just outside Carnegie Hill in East Harlem (which is obvious if you approach from the North). However, it's in an OK street and is only 100 yards away from the real Carnegie Hill.
- Although close to some of the museums and North part of Central Park, it is a couple of miles from most of the main tourist attractions and further from some others.

If you aren't too bothered about these issues, I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2005

My finance and I stayed in an apartment Oct 04 for 5 nights - after booking I had emailed to make sure that we had a double bed. When we got there there was 2 single beds. When we phoned the number we had been given it was an answer machine only and no one got back to us. Our toilet became blocked so we phoned the emergency number where a rude man then accused us of 'putting things in the toilet that weren't supposed to go there' (which we definitely hadn't) and then told us where the plunger was kept. If there is a plunger there it is obviously a common problem. When we showered (shower head over a bath) the bath would fill with water as the drain was so blocked up and it would take all day for the water to drain down. Again when we made phone calls no one was interested in this at all. Also the walls of the apartment were paper thin and you could hear every word being spoken in the room next door.
The apartment is in a convenient location - close to Central Park and close to a subway station. But due to all the problems we were faced with and the lack of customer service shown by the company I would advise people to avoid staying here.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank davo292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2004

I wanted to warn everyone about this unscrupulous apartment rental company.

We rented from them 2 apartments for 1 week at the end of April. We reserved and paid IN FULL 5 months in advance (a mistake we now realize...). The day before we left, they called us because that they had overbooked one apartment and told us we would not have one of the apartments for the first and last day of our stay and therefore would have to move twice. They agreed, on that day, to compensate us by $400 for their mistake and our inconvenience. They have not reimbursed us and have ignored every message we sent (email, phone, fax). They also claim to be members of the New York Convention and Visitors Bureau which is not true.

The apartment themselves were OK and as advertised but because of these practices I would strongly recommend you avoid them.



Helpful?
17 Thank pptulula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2004

We have just got back from the Carnegie Hill apartment.We wanted the freedom to lie in without the maid service disturbing us.The apartment was clean and larger than we expected.Three of us stayed in it,and slept ok with an added single bed in the lounge.Our apartment had no view, and tended to get really stuffy, but we had the air conditioning which helped.It was quiet,and being on the upper east side we could get to most places easily by subway.It was nice to be able to make tea/coffee/toast any time without running up room service charges.An adequate apartment which could have been much nicer by adding a few touches ie the duvet covers were so worn you couldn't see the pattern- there was only two cups in the kitchen! passable, if you prefer to be more independent than a hotel.

Helpful?
13 Thank rainysnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 November 2003

The apartment was clean and very pleasant. The facilities (kitchenware, sheets, television, etc.) were of a good standard. We had no trouble getting the key from the restaurant next door to the apartments.I had some issues with the service. This is not the kind of apartment you rent when you want a high level of service, however at one point our toilet was blocked. When we tried to get in touch with the brokers we could not even leave a message on the answering machine, as their voicemail box was full and there was no room to leave a message. We had no way of getting in touch with the owners in an emergency to at least get the contact number of a person who could fix this. A blocked toilet is definitely not a matter that can wait a couple of days!Also, we ordered an apartment to sleep five people, they gave us two single beds and a double bed- definitely not enough room for all of us! Also, not enough blankets either. (Thankfully it was very warm in New York that week!) It took us several days to get in touch with the owner/broker, who we found to be unhelpful and in fact hung up on us whilst we were speaking!One other thing you should be aware of is that they charge an "excess electricity fee", so if they feel you used too much electricity during your stay (for example by leaving the air conditioner on constantly) they will charge you accordingly.So, in conclusion, the apartment itself was to a very good standard, but they need to sort out some issues with people being able to get in touch with them in case of an emergency.

Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#265 of 468 in New York City
728 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#386 of 468 in New York City
696 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#172 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#36 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#73 of 468 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill

Property: Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill
Address: 1412 Madison Avenue, East 97 St., Carnegie Hill, New York City, NY 10029-6941
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing