We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well located and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Well located for Metro and pretty much all main sites.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast good but gets busy and often not enough tables for all guests at peak time around 9ish..
First impression of the lobby / entrance was tad disappointing as quite small and discreet. Certainly not a wow factor.
Rooms very clean and reasonable size for NY.
Lots of nice touches.
The evening wine / cheese / nibbles is very civilised with a pianist playng most evenings!
Be aware there is some construction work on an office block opposite. Net result is they can empty rubble into lorries all day and til very late!!!
Did comment to staff. Not a lot the hotel can do but felt they should have been little more upfront about the potential so at least customers are aware.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minimcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,869
    573
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,041
1,390
180
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Very impressive operation. The staff was uniformly friendly and professional without sounding scripted, even the cleaning staff. One showed up outside to offer to take photos just as my friends and I were starting to take group photos. The young ladies who staff the complimentary breakfast bar were always cheerful and efficient, even under pressure. Nice relaxing lobby with an oversized chess set and refreshment. The one problem I noticed with the room (it turned out not to be a problem) was addressed within five minutes by the maintenance staff. I was worried that our room on the second floor facing Park Avenue would be noisy, but it was well insulated and once you turned on the fan, you could sleep comfortably. Very clean as well. The location is very good if you don't mind walking a few blocks--and in NY, you should walk. I'm giving it three stars for value only because it was considerably more expensive than the average hotel room we stay in, so no advantage there. My only regret is that we never went up to the 12th floor to see the giraffe (presumably plaster) the staff told my daughter about.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoohMcLean_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

What a great hotel! Read about it on TripAdvisor and hoped that the excellent reviews were accurate, which they were!! There was a wine and cheese session from 5-8 PM and then there was a lovely Continental Breakfast served in the morning! We were able to get a non-refundable rate of $199, which was a real bargain! Our first room was on 26th Street but since there was construction noise that was going to continue into the night, we requested that our room be switched to a quieter part of the hotel. They could not have been more accommodating! This hotel was a real find!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlenejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I must say that this is one of the best experiences I've ever had at a hotel. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels nearby on Manhattan and there is a big difference. The room was large and very clean. The stuff members were genuinly friendly and helpsome in a natural way. The idea with wine and cheese in the evenings is great and makes you really feel at home. Free coffee 24 hrs and free internet are also things that I appreciated very much.
The breakfast that is served at the lobby can be a little chaotic and you may have to waite for a table. We were only two and managed to find a table at once every time, but it can be difficult if you are more.
A very good hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjegmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Having previously stayed at their sister hotel, The Casablanca, we decided to try another hotel. Staff are very friendly and quicky accomodated our cases as we arrived early. We booked a one-bedroom suite and had an upgrade to a terrace (THANKS)

The room was awesome and perfectly clean. Turndown service each evening and wine / cheese a common feature of both hotels.

However the biggest disappointment was breakfast. Every morning of our stay we had to wait for a table or clear one ourselves. There was often no clean cutlery or dishes again causing a delay. Others were complaining too - the breakfast staff ran around like crazy but there were too many people, too few tables and they were not prepared. The room is not cheap and if you cannot feed everyone in the hotel at busy times something needs to change. This was the only fault in a great stay - although quite a big one! We decided to leave breakfast until very late on our last day to sit and eat in a calmer environment.

Wine and cheese in the evening a completely different matter - busy but very civilised and live music as well. EXCELLENT! One morning I thought people were going to eat on the piano!

Desk staff / concirege all very useful and made the trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKJBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We have just been back from the Giraffe after a 3 night stay, and I have mixed feelings about the hotel. Definately, did not have any "Wow" effect, which I expected after reading the reviews of previous guests and the position in the ranking of hotels in NYC. Here are my conclusions:

(a) location: the location is really good. Very handy when coming from the airport (we arrived at Newark, and from the Newark Express Bus stop it is just a 15 min walk). In addition, you have the Chelsea area really closeby, as well as the Bowery, Nolita, etc. In fact, we never used the subway during our three days in NYC;

(b) service: hmmmm...this is difficult. Some of the staff were very helpful, but on the other side, there were some others which just seemed to be there doing their job and waiting to go home (some of the girls at the front desk had this attitude). One negative point is that I was surfing on the internet in the lobby of the hotel during the evening, and I was the only person I was asked whether I was a guest of the hotel. Why weren't the remaining guests which were in the lobby also asked? This made me feel very, very uncomfortable;

(c) breakfast: the breakfast is supposedly "complimentary" (well...you are paying for it in the rate of your room). It is a basic breakfast, with some bagels, fresh fruit and muffins (there is no cheese--except Philadelphia--nor any meat). Do not expect a breakfast with warm dishes or anything very fancy. By the way...breakfast is served in the lobby of the hotel, and there are only some chairs and tables. When we were in the hotel (Easter holidays) the hotel was fully booked, and many people had to either wait for a really long time in order to get a table, or had to have breakfast standing around (whilst some of the guests just read the newspaper and did not feel compelled to leave the tables free for the other guests). Therefore, get up early if you want to catch a table for breakfast;

(d) wine and cheese reception: this is a nice touch, since you get to get some energy back in the late afternoon after having been walkind during the whole day;

(e) common areas: the walkways in each floor are very dark and basic. Nothing fancy...looks more like an industrial galley;

(f) rooms: the rooms are nicely furnished, but, as probably all of NY, they are not very big. The rooms had a somehow "dated" feeling, although there are big LCD TVs and iPod dockstations. The insulation with respect the street noise could be improved (there are some works going on in the building opposite the hotel, and we heard everything!). The bath tub was chipped and the curtains were not as clean as I would have thought they should be (by the way...why are there curtains in the bath tub and not a glass? These curtains are mostly smelly and not very hygienic!); and

(g) internet: there is free wi-fi access throughout the hotel, and in the lobby there is a computer with a printer (great for printing out your boarding cards).

Conclusion: The Giraffe is a good plain hotel, but do not expect nothing fancy. I do not think that a hotel should "earn" its ranking and reviews on Tripadvisor based on the "complimentary" breakfast and the wine and cheese reception, but on the installations, quality and comfort of the rooms and the common areas. And it is here were the Giraffe could do much better. Therefore, I think that there are much better hotels in NYC (at the same value), and the position of the Giraffe on Tripadvisor is not fully deserved. I would recommend the Giraffe only if there are no other rooms available at similar hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed our time in the hotel. The staff were very efficient and friendly, the rooms were very clean and the turn down service was nice. The hotel is located very close to Union Square and a reasonable walk to the Empire State Building. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast and the the wine reception in the evening was a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing and shopping. We will certainly return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireland060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing