We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

First of all, I will try not to compare this to the top luxury hotels in NYC. As far as the boutique hotels, I give it a 4 1/2. Front desk, doorman, and breakfast staff are all excellent and helpful. My room (a corner suite) was very large and nicely furnished. It appeared first rate in every way except I give the bed a 3/5. The bathroom was large enough and well illuminated. It was quiet even though it is right on Park Avenue. The rooms could be darkened completely to block out the early morning sun. The complementary breakfast was very adequate with super coffee available all day. The afternoon wine and cheese looked good but I never had to chance to sample it. The rooftop bar is very nice however service can be a little slow and many tables were reserved hours in advance. It is still a nice place to have a drink in good weather.
Location - you must understand that this hotel is centrally located between everything you want to see in NYC but close to nothing special. This may be an advantage however, you will be walking a long way (25 mins) to Broadway shows and Central Park to the north and a long way south to the villages (25 mins) and Wall Street below. There is a subway stop 2 blocks away and cabs are plentiful with little competition for their services. With the large size of the hotel rooms, their excellent condition, and the friendly staff, I felt this hotel is fairly priced and I would stay here again and will recommend it to friends as long as I explain the location.

Room Tip: Corner suites very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,018
    583
    83
    19
    11
See reviews for
1,103
1,456
184
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here from 9th to 12th August. The hotel is in an excellent location. Our room was well appointed with high spec.and very spacious, especially for New York. All the staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was very fresh and excellent selection and the cheese and wine reception was the perfect way to end the afternoon or to start your evening. Have already recommended to friends and family and will stay again next time we are in New York.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto Park Avenue South which provided really good views, and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ean_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were in NYC for a wedding and could not be happier with this hotel. Good service, location, and friendly staff made it a big hit. Coffee and sweets are available all day long. The wine and cheese hour is quite a nice spread. Make sure to try out the rooftop area for cocktails. We really enjoyed our stay. It was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Try a suite - the rooms are large and very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have just returned today from a 4 night break at Hotel Giraffe and I have to say that look as hard as I did, I could not find fault! We had a deluxe king room which was spacious and had a Juliet balcony overlooking Park Avenue South. The room itself was spotless and was restocked with complimentary bottled water each day. The buffet breakfast is excellent - such a variety of choice and it's included in the price of the room which, when coupled with the evening wine (Prosecco included!) and cheese reception, adds up to a considerable saving. The hotel employees were friendly and most helpful and all I can say is that we will definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JosieJoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

small boutique hotel with extras. 5pm wine and cheese, ample continental breakfast and great staff. Good location and most important to my husband and myself very very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the smaller atmosphere while in the lobby and piano area with friends. Will be our choice in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Enjoy your stay at this modern small boutique hotel. The staff is helpful and friendly and the service excellent. The continental breakfast (which is included in the price) is plentiful and the food is fresh. Wine and cheese are served every day except Sunday from 5 pm until 7 pm. As a frequent traveler to NY, I find this little gem to be an oasis in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atane45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel was beautiful and so accommodating. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. The extras were great... The wine reception, the 24hr coffee station and the breakfast. We will DEFINITELY return on our next trip tp NYC.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom suite was perfect for the 3 of us. It had a king bed and a sleeper sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 466 in New York City
270 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 466 in New York City
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing