We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lex NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park South Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The MAve Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New York EDITION(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Deauville(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Redbury New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James New York-NoMad(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,076)
Filter reviews
4,076 results
Traveller rating
3,340
617
88
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,340
617
88
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesepark avenuenew yorksmall balconycontinental breakfastevery eveningrooftop gardenbagelsflatiron districtunion squareking suitehard boiled eggsboutique hotelturn down serviceshake shackfresh fruitgreat boutique
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,471 - 2,476 of 4,076 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We arrived at The Giraffe feeling slightly jaded after a long journey but were immediately impressed by the place. Very friendly and helpful staff and an immaculate room. Everyone asks for a room on a higher floor but we ended up on the 3rd. Don't worry, the noise from the street is massively reduced by the balcony doors and the nearby lift didn't disturb us at all. A visit to New York (if you want to soak it all up) means that you won't spend much time in your room but The Giraffe is a lovely oasis to recharge your batteries. The provision of a buffet breakfast was very welcome and allowed us to have at least one helathy meal each day! Cheese and wine in the afternoon was again a nice touch but we were on the move too much to take much advantage. Have a burger in The Shake Shack on the nearby square and enjoy a great pint (with excellent bar staff) at The Old Town Bar. There are loads of similar eating and drinking places around this area of NY and it really is a nice part of town. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Just returned from our bi annual stay @ HG. Q what's not to like.

Positives: great location for uptown & downtown, managers reception with wonderful nibbles & unlimited wine (being Brit this is a huge appeal:-)), complimentary breakfast, fruit available all day, rooms comfy & quiet (last visit was 701) turn down service nice touch, fridge in room useful for 2 week stay, really accommodating staff & management (even offering to get hold of & buy robe for me on their US account!) customer service second to none, DVD collection available, relaxed atmosphere, pianist in evenings, unpretentious guests, free wifi, free access to NYSC, complimentary anniversary gift...the list is endless.

Negatives (difficult but here goes): agree with review below- tv nightmare to understand how to use (& we even used to live in Manhattan too) room temperature controls flick between hot & cold very easily, DVD collection needs updating, shame no longer films pay as go service as previously available, managers reception this time was so cold we would veer towards our suite earlier than intended and wish more gluten free options available at breakfast.

Notwithstanding this, this is the best hotel I have stayed in NYC we prefer over Chatwal, Embassy suites, Hilton etc. Its personable & boutique. Stayed originally at Casablanca but prefer HG location.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Park Ave relatively quiet but the higher up your room & not on main facing road means quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodiemonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Giraffe from the 22nd to the 26th December. Our entire stay was perfect. We have two children, 4 & 7, and stayed in room 1101. The location is peaceful and convenient. Madison Square Park is just a short walk away, as is Flatiron, Empire State Building, Union Square Garden, a 24-hour Pharmacy for all of your family's needs. The room was immaculate and the living area with sofa bed & satellite TV for the children was perfect. The Subway is just over the road (downtown) and two blocks up the road next to McDonalds (uptown). When you're in a City with so much to do and with so many places to explore, all you want is a safe, clean, friendly, comfortable and economical place to stay; Hotel Giraffe fits that bill perfectly. One morning at around 4 am another hotel guest knocked on our door persistently by mistake, we informed the hotel and they diligently investigated and resolved the matter satisfactorily. On Boxing Day after we checked out the Concierge looked after our luggage for the day, so that we could continue to enjoy New York at our leisure; when we returned in the snow another concierge hailed us a taxi and duly loaded our luggage. Breakfast is simple but perfectly adequate and enjoyable. The evening cheese and wine is also lovely after a long day of walking. We really would recommend this Hotel highly. Please just don't book room 1101 for next Christmas! Thank you. Enjoy...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaiHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

No doubt this was an experience of a Lifetime. I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Kudos to the staff !!! The staff was welcoming. Ambience was very nice an food was good. I will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justinksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 4 nights at the HG just before christmas. The staff were very friendly, helpful and gave the hotel a personal touch not found in larger hotels. The complimentary breakfast and evening drinks were just what busy and tired travellers need to start and finish the day. The rooms were well appointed and of a high standard. For being a city hotel it was quiet. The free WI-FI is a bonus. Would definitely stay at Hotel Giraffe again and highly recommend it to any prospective traveller wanting accommodation in a midtown location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews