We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here for five nights after reading the recommendations from other trip advisers. It was a lovely hotel, the staff were fantastic, they arranged theatre and cinema tickets for us ready for our arrival. The breakfast is a boon, not had one provided by a NYC hotel before, and of course the cheese and wine pepped you before a night out. The location was ideal, a short stroll to the
Shake Shack which we would also recommend, both the meat and the veggie.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,869
    573
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,041
1,390
180
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

What a super hotel! Staff are so friendly. My room was very large for New York. Location was good. Easy walk to Empire State Building, Macy's etc. Loved the cheese and wine at night and the breakfast was ample plus coffee and tea available all day. If you want a great room with helpful, friendly staff then stay here. Perfect choice

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel is remarkable - especially for the rates which are very reasonable. The staff is amazing from door personnel to the front desk and the wonderful women who serve breakfast in the morning. It's not many places you can get wine & cheese and breakfast included in the price of a room!
We come to NYC frequently and love the location of the hotel, the staff and everything about it!

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms offer a wonderful view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stumbled upon Hotel Giraffe from a Trip Advisor list of family-friendly hotels and wasn't disappointed. At the same time, it was still a very nice boutique hotel that didn't feel at all like those chain hotels that usually get this classification. The staff were so friendly to my kids. The rooms were large (we had a king and fold out sofa). The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was very nice. They will even let you pre-order breakfast the night before and deliver it to your room for only a small charge. I found this very helpful since my kids are embarrassingly unruly sometimes in restaurants and preferred to eat breakfast in their PJs while watching cartoons. Plus it meant the other hotel guests could enjoy breakfast and coffee in peace :) All in all, we had a great experience here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had arranged to stay for our 25th year anniversary, and what an excellent choice. The only less than perfect note was on arrival - the rooms wasn't ready at 3pm, and we had to wait longer than we would have liked for our room (having travelled from Australia we were anxious to drop bags and settle it). But the room when we walked in was perfect, rose petals on the bed, chocolate covered strawberries, lovely. Manager Peter had apologised and offered us free cocktails at the restaurant next door, but in the end we didn't take him up on that - the fact of his courtesy was quite enough.

Great breakfast, lovely hotel. I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epsc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I had an amazing stay at Hotel Giraffe. The room was great, warm (it is cold in New York this winter) and the staff were attentive and helpful. It is also good value because you get free wifi and an open bar (wine and cheese) each evening.

The Flatiron district is also convenient, accessible and interesting with a huge selection of restaurants.

Room Tip: I took the cheapest room and it was beyond my expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandson39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The included breakfast was delicious and a filling start to each day. The rooms were nicely furnished, flawlessly cleaned, and sufficiently-sized. No in-room microwave, but that's okay. Bread and Tulips, the attached restaurant had delicious food (much of which could be ordered through room service). The location is convenient to the subway's #6 line. It's also an easy walk to Madison Square Park (not the same as Madison Square Garden), the Museum of Math, and the Empire State Building. (You walk right past the Museum of Sex en route to the Empire State Building, so that could be a plus or minus depending upon your perspective.). We had a wonderful visit to NYC and would likely stay here (or at another hotel in this group) if we visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela_Giddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing