We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I've just returned to London after a 4 night stay here and cannot recommend it highly enough! This is my 3rd visit to New York, I've been fortunate enough to stay at the plaza before but in my opinion the hotel giraffe was far superior. Faultless service and reasonably spacious rooms for a city centre hotel. It's unusually hard to spend any additional money at this hotel as almost everything is complimentary, including great coffee available 24 hours a day. Would definitely recommend and come back myself.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kittenzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,779
    564
    80
    18
    10
See reviews for
1,003
1,362
174
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here 9 days.. So helpful was everyone who worked here. Breakfast was ok and Wine and cheese was good. The room had a couple of issues but they apologized ...Loved the location and the Rooftop was wonderful. The value was expensive but felt secure ! Would highly recommend this hotel and happy we choose this

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and liked it although not sure the value for money is completely there. The wine and cheese in the afternoon Is nice. Breakfast is ok...ish. Could have probably had some salt like hm or cheese

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Like so many other travellers, I loved Giraffe. We arrived very early in the morning and our room was not ready (we did not expect it to be), but were offered a cup of coffee and something to eat either in the lobby or on the roof terrace. It was actually breakfast time, but nobody asked if we had paid for an extra breakfast.

Our room turned out to be bigger than expected, very comfortable, with a tiny balcony and a big bathroom. The bed not so very big, but it was my own fault; I booked too late and could only get a queen size, so basically we got what we ordered. I liked the breakfast, which was served in the lobby: a simple choice of cereals, fruit, pastry etc. with good coffee and freshly pressed juices – Giraffe scored the highest points with me for their fresh cold grapefruit juice! Plus the afternoon wine & cheese, from 5 to 7 if not until 8 o’clock – it was great to come back after a busy day to a glass of cold prosecco and a plate of snacks.

But most of all I liked the atmosphere, very relaxed and still elegant, making Giraffe a place where I felt very comfortable and at home. I would stay there again. And did I mention very nice and helpful staff?

One small minus: the lifts. Two of them, both very slow. Sometimes we had to wait a little bit longer than we would like to. (I would stay there again anyhow!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We just finished our 4th stay at Hotel Giraffe. We originally selected it because of proximity to our son's apartment and Tripadvisor reviews. It has exceeded expectations and we will return again. We especially appreciate the fine service, breakfast buffet and evening wine & cheese. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. My wife and I enjoy newspapers in the AM and these are available in abundance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have a favorite hotel in Chicago and were looking for a similar type of hotel in NYC. We found it in Hotel Giraffe! From the amazing staff, to the beautiful, clean rooms and the great location, this hotel has it all. The breakfast is wonderful (including their awesome coffee machine) and the wine and cheese reception was a welcome respite from our long days of walking and sight-seeing. There was a wonderful jazz club within walking distance as well as shopping and plenty of dining. We would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arveale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Took a chance and stayed here on a recent business trip to NYC. Typically stay at the Four Seasons or the Palace, but tried the Hotel Giraffe on the recommendation of a friend. Wow...what a great stay. The staff is very, very good. They treat you so very well...they want to help and make your stay the most enjoyable possible. They were just superb.

Had a suite on the 6th floor that was clean and had a separate bedroom. Very good bed...wifi service was quick and effortless to access. Snacks available throughout the day as well as fresh fruit included in your room rate. Breakfast as well.

Superb rate and value for the money. It could be one of the best hotel rates for great value in NYC. Did I mention location. Outstanding and close to some of the best restaurants in the city.

I travel extensively and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will stay here again when I return to NYC.

Room Tip: Check the suites out if you need additional room. Sofa bed pulls out to a full bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing