We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice, would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just home from a 4 night stay in the Giraffe, lovely boutique Hotel well situated where Staff very friendly and efficient. Quite a small hotel with only 12 floors, the 12th being a roof top bar which is set out in a Mediterranean fashion with plants, pots etc. stayed in a corner suite on the 10th floor 1006- with balcony overlooking Park Ave, room was clean and spacious with lots of natural light.
Wine and cheese served every evening between 5-8pm, wines were very good and forthcoming, coffee and tea available all day in the lobby and continental breakfast included. Small issue- I prefer something hot to a continental breakfast, so went out to eat in the mornings but plenty of places to choice from close by. Quieter location than Times Square but close to Empire State Building, Grand Central etc

Room Tip: Take a high room-less noise and corner suite if you can afford it, bigger rooms and more windows to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonA854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,107 - 2,113 of 3,882 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

I booked a Classic King Suite for myself staying 4 nights, hearing that hotel rooms in Manhatten run on the small side. Even so, the suite isn't very large - but for a solo traveller, it will do.

Tea/coffee making facilities need to be requested and weren't standard in the rooms apparently.
I tried to travel light and relied on the bathroom amentities provided by the hotel, they were not the quality I expected of that kind of hotel - but again, it did the job. Combined bath/shower facility.

It seems to be a nice quiet area, apart from the garbage trucks that come by somewhat regularly in the mornings. I wouldn't say it was in the heart of everything, but it wasn't far to jump on the subway to get to all the touristy places.

Biggest pain point was having room service only available for lunch & dinner hours from Mon-Sat. A light continental breakfast could be brought to your room in the mornings for a small fee - no charge on the food, which was pretty good.
Those who arrive on Sunday, checkin late or have jetlag and would like a snack, be prepared to go on foot and wander around to find something because breakfast starts at 7. Although, they were nice enough to bring up something a bit earlier when I told them I hadn't slept and was starving :-)

Overall, the staff were helpful, the hotel was nice and free wifi is a bonus.
I couldn't remember the name of the blonde lady working at reception who was very friendly and extra helpful with a hair appointment and massage therapy recommendation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level with an exterior window may get noise from garbage trucks in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed first in their standard room and then in a junior suite only because the standard rooms were sold out for the last few nights. The standard room was nice with a little tiny balcony. Smallish bathrooms, but acceptable. The rooms were clean, but definitely could use an upgrade with the oldish carpeting.

The junior suite had a sitting area with a couch, can sit maybe 4 people comfortably in that room with a tv. The bedroom is the same as the standard room. The beds were comfortable, not too soft.

The rooftop (common area) is nice. Visit there if you're staying there. They have free flow coffee and water in the ground floor lobby that you can take up to the roof to sip on.

The lobby acts as the breakfast area as well, which I didn't think was that nice at first, but I got used to it and it was actually a very fast and efficient way to grab breakfast.

The hotel is savvy and while it didn't feel like a "treat" staying there, it had what we needed and good service.

My only complaint is that the windows were quite thin as we could hear the garbage truck collect garbage every morning around 6am which woke me up every morning.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony is a nice touch, but not necessary. It's very small and can barely sit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great hotel, excellent location, wonderful service. Highly recommend this small boutique hotel in midtown (?Murray Hill) Manhattan. Stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orchidman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Not my all time fave but very nice. We stayed in king suite. The decor could be freshened a bit. The balcony is really cool. The room was a bit smaller than expected. The staff was excellent. Kind of a drag you can't get a drink on the roof patio until 5pm and that it's closed on Sunday. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissawol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I've just returned to London after a 4 night stay here and cannot recommend it highly enough! This is my 3rd visit to New York, I've been fortunate enough to stay at the plaza before but in my opinion the hotel giraffe was far superior. Faultless service and reasonably spacious rooms for a city centre hotel. It's unusually hard to spend any additional money at this hotel as almost everything is complimentary, including great coffee available 24 hours a day. Would definitely recommend and come back myself.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kittenzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here 9 days.. So helpful was everyone who worked here. Breakfast was ok and Wine and cheese was good. The room had a couple of issues but they apologized ...Loved the location and the Rooftop was wonderful. The value was expensive but felt secure ! Would highly recommend this hotel and happy we choose this

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
565 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £187 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing