We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem in Big Apple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #5 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Big Apple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Having travelled to New York City a number of times in the past, I have to say the Hotel Giraffe exceeded all expectations. This is a hidden gem in the Big Apple! Service, the hallmark of true luxury, is sublime! The setting is breathtaking - and made for the best hotel experience I have had in a long time! From the moment my mom and I arrived on the property till we departed the customer service of the entire staff was extraordinaire. I am huge on customer service and this staff exceeded all of my expectations beginning with our arrival!
The staff was extremely lovely and accommodating. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. They could not have offered a higher level of customer service. Having such a great option for breakfast, daily reception and breathtaking views all made for a memorable and wonderful stay. We felt like royalty when we entered the hotel each day. The staff does their jobs with efficiency, dignity and smiles.
After such lasting impressions, we look forward to visiting in the near future. It was a privilege to spend time at Hotel Giraffe. I will definitely recommend this property to others

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,676
    553
    77
    18
    10
See reviews for
963
1,320
171
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were a bit disappointed by this hotel to be honest. Having read some of the reviews here on TA, we thought it would be more of a chic boutique hotel in the European sense of a boutique hotel. It's not. I think that most of guests at the hotel are from North America and that the hotel, from North American standards, is a boutique hotel.

We had a room with a balcony on the second floor. The room was OK, quite spacious with a comfortable bed, but it was dark and the balcony was completely useless. The space of the room was not used to its full benefits and some things, like the TV, were placed in awkward locations. We were also disappointed that there was no kettle in the room. Breakfast was OK but really nothing special. We didn't try the cheese and wine. Location of the hotel was good, close to the metro.

One thing that was really disappointing was that no one came to clean our room during the day. When we pointed it out to the staff, there was also no reaction! That is just not acceptable.

All in all, there was nothing wrong with the hotel, it was just not worth the money you pay to stay there. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiraffe, General Manager at Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Elina S,

It saddens us to hear that our hotel did not turn out to be your style of accommodation. You make a good point; everyone does have different tastes and expectations, although we sincerely wish we could be the perfect hotel for everyone. In addition to the many photos of the hotel that are available on TripAdvisor from other guests, we also encourage all travelers to visit our website as well, to view all the additional photos that we have available. This way, all guests have the opportunity to make a well informed decision on which accommodations in NYC will best suit them.

I whole heartedly apologize if a staff member did not respond accordingly when you spoke to them about your dissatisfaction with your housekeeping service. I cannot imagine how this happened, as our staff all take any criticism or requests reported to them as opportunities to provide outstanding service and to take action to correct the situation. We do apologize that you were not given the reaction you expected. We have now investigated what happened, and our records do show that our housekeeper visited your room on the day after your arrival 3:45 and service was declined, although she did supply fresh towels immediately upon your request. Perhaps your travel companion choose to decline service while you were out? The next day you departed prior to the room being serviced for the next guest.

It is true that we do not have kettles in the room, although coffee/tea makers are always available upon request. This is because we have designed our amenities to create a social gathering for the guests in the Grand Lobby, which is part of the experience of the hotel. With 24 hour a day complimentary refreshments, including free wifi, a $15,000 Cimbali espresso machine and wine and cheese receptions every evening from 5pm to 8pm, our lobby is intended to be used as a 24 hour clubroom, and welcomes all travelers to be a part of our family. We even have live piano entertainment on weeknights. The complimentary continental breakfast we provide is intended to be a wonderful convenience and an easy way to begin the day for our guests, and includes fruit salad, bagels, hot oatmeal, hard boiled eggs and so much more. For those looking for a special breakfast, we are fortunate to have one of New York City’s most highly regarded breakfast restaurants, Sarabeth’s, located on the same block as the hotel. They even deliver to the hotel.

Although all of our hotels in the our group have the same Clubroom concept and amenities, perhaps one of their themes may be more suited for your taste for your next trip to NYC. I would absolutely be delighted to help you make that selection for your next travel dates, and I welcome you to contact me at peter@hotelgiraffe.com, so I can tell you more about all of our properties. I hope to hear from you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Peter Velk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Giraffe for one night and had a very nice stay. The really nice touch which the Giraffe did well was the breakfast selection in the morning which was very relaxed and also afternoon cheese and wine. Only negative was that lounge area was quite cold and a number of other people were still wrapped up. Saying that the food/drink quality was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.

We booked a standard double room and although it was clean and stylish, it was small with not a lot of space to move around, which we were slightly disappointed with. We were on a low floor and there was noise from the street but nevertheless had a good stay.

I would stay at the Giraffe again should we be in that part of NYC.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I come to NYC 2 to 3 times per year and usually stay a week at a time and I am always looking for a Hotel that feels like home. This is the place!!! The rooms are just the right size with a very comfortable bed, nice sheets and excellent pillows. The bathroom has everything you could possibly need and was very well kept. The wifi was very good and the breakfast was simple but to the point. However, the best part of my visit was the excellent service by the staff that were always willing to assist and help with a huge smile on their face.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GYMRAT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Location is excellent: very close to 28th st subway station which can take directly up to Downtown Financial District (Wall St. or Ground Zero) or in the opposite direction to Grand Central Station or Central Park (Metropolitan Museum) Area is safe and nice looking - real New York, not like touristy Time Sq, walking distance to Madison Sq or Union Sq We managed to walk from the hotel to Time Sq in 20 min
Hotel is very cosy with rooms of a descent size (for New York), clean, very well equipped. Corner suite with a balcony is a real gem with views over Park Ave Windows do have double glazing and good sound proofness, so we have not mentioned any serious disturbing street noise (anyway its New York) Bed was quite firm but very very comfortable (which was perfect for us but one can request a softer mattress topper)
Other good points:
good complimentary continental breakfast (in NY they can charge you 20-40USD for a breakfast): boiled eggs, fruit salad, toasts and pastries, corn flakes with milk, fruit and juices
complimentary coffee, tea and pastries all day through
5-8 pm complimentary wine and snacks with live piano (sometimes) very convinient to have a bite and relax in the lobby after daily tourist 'runs' through the city
rooftop terrace (actually no views but very nice and cosy small area for a coffee with a cigarret if you smoke)
Compared to other options definitely this hotel deserves its high ranking in tripadvisor, would come there again

Room Tip: Corner suite with balcony at 9th floors was wonderful, our first suite without balcony on the same f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aynho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was my first ever visit to the US and I had booked the hotel as a surprise birthday treat for my boyfriend. The hotel was great, we had a spacious room with a little balcony and complimentary bottles of water. The location was great and within walking distance of the Flatiron building, Madison Square Park within a few more blocks you can get to Empire State building and Macys.

We loved the fact we had access to free wifi, coffee and biscuits 24/7, fab breakfast which included fresh fruit, bagels, croissants, pastry, hard boiled eggs, cereal, OJ, and different types of coffee drink.

The real asset were the staff, in particular Simona who was so lovely and pointed out some really great places to visit and things to do, as well as Mike who was able to give some great place to get food. They both made us feel so welcomed and because of the attentive service generally by all the staff, I will definitely come back and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

So unlike Manhattan, So good...
This hotel does not have doormen in fancy uniform, nor a Lobby that looks like the living room of the rich and famous. What it has are very comfortable and cozy rooms (We had a balcony! in Manhattan!), great atmosphere and the best service we ever got in Manhattan: always smiling, always attentive.
It is not located at the centre of things, but it is mere 200m from a metro station.
Great hotel. Will definitley go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#2 of 463 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing