We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel to stay in New York !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Genève
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel to stay in New York !”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We love the Giraffe ! We stayed there 6 nights in August 2013 with our kids aged 7 and 10. This followed a trip in Florida where we stayed in several hotels and the Giraffe was the last of our 3 weeks trip in the US… and it was far away the best hotel we had during all our trip in the US ! We particularly loved the perfect boutique hotel size, the design, comfort and amenities of the room, the location, the cleanliness, the nice lobby with the good cookies… all along the day, the cool but efficient staff, the rooftop bar, the wine and cheese hours, the adjacent Bread and Tulip restaurant and the fantastic location. We particularly liked to relax in the lobby with a glass of white wine after a full day of visit while Kids ate cookies and played. There is free WIFI all over the place. Madison park is just 5 minutes away and it is nice to go there with kids, there is a playground and the Flatiron building is just at the end of the Park, which is also home of the Shake Shack, when hamburger are perfect. Overall, if you want to stay in a luxury but relaxing place in a very nice neighborhood in New York, this is the place !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoubidou71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,867
    573
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,041
1,389
180
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel Giraffe is a solid moderate hotel. This hotel was an expensive option for us but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodation and the inclusions. We had for two rooms at the end of the corridor that could be separated from the other rooms by an external door.

The rooms were a little darker and older than expected from the pictures on the website but still nice and a good size. The master bedroom had a king bed, TV with wardrobes and draws for clothing. It would have been better to have some more power points close to the bed.

There was a separate lounge area with a pull out sofa bed. There was still room to walk around with the bed left open. The mattress was not the most comfortable so I asked for a pillow top mattress to be provided. The hotel has a ‘sleep menu’ and has the additional mattress as an option for all the beds but we found the other beds were fine as they were. There was a large bathroom with translucent glass on the door. This seemed to be relatively private unless someone pressed their face right up against the glass. There was a large vanity with plenty of room for cosmetics and two washbasins. The shower was over the small but adequate bath.

The other room had two queen-sized beds and it was larger than the master bedroom previously described with a large identical bathroom. There was plenty of light and each room had Juliet balconies.

A “continental” breakfast was provided each morning in the lobby and was more than adequate. There is a self-serve coffee machine and the staff were happy to make hot chocolates for the kids. There was fresh fruit salad, yogurt, lots of options for bread, toast, bagels, scones and mini muffins. We were out for most of the day and into the night, but there were biscuits on display when we returned one day, which made me think they are there through the day as well as access to the coffee machine. After 5pm they serve complimentary biscuits, cheese, vegetable crudites and wine. It was lovely touch before heading out to dinner.

The staff were very helpful and charming, nothing was a problem. The experience was distinctly less impersonal than larger hotels. The attitude of the staff and level of service is a strong reason to stay here. My only criticism is that I would have liked more information about restaurants around the area. My email correspondence with the concierge was a little limited.

The hotel is in a good area of town and close to most attractions. It was nice to walk a few blocks to see the Flatiron building, stroll through the nearby park and go to a nice restaurant. Transport was relatively easy, taxis and subway, the hotel is on 26th street and we walked to 23rd street to use the subway. We ate at some good places around the area. Our favourites were Eataly (a large restaurant/Italian supermarket a few blocks away), and Pipali (a new and very good authentic Indian restaurant around the corner).

Room Tip: There are some rooms directly opposite the lifts. Although I don't know if these were noisy, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenrock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aledo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel Giraffe is small but potent! The employees were extremely helpful and pleasant.--best customer service ever! The location is great and rooms are very nice. We loved our stay here. Check out rooftop patio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked the Giraffe after reading reviews in TA.... What a fantastic boutique hotel! Warm and welcoming, intimate yet slick and professional. We had a 2 room suite for our family of 3.clean spacious, balcony, lots of extra touches and nothing too much trouble for the ever smiling staff. Complimentary Breakfast , the most amazing coffee machine which is free to use all day and night plus yummy home made cookies.... Cheese and wine also complimentary between 5&8pm whilst listening to the pianist.. We'll placed for both walking and hailing the yellow cab!! A great way to spend Christmas, we would definitely return. Fabulous .

Room Tip: Think they are all good but the balcony was a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I had never heard of the Hotel Giraffe until I received a gift certificate for a gift. Went with my mom and hubby this past Friday and I was amazed! It was so beautiful. Our room was so nice. They had a wine and cheese reception which was so nice. The entire staff were so friendly and helpful. Highly recommend it and will stay again. Thanks again for a wonderful visit!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Great location with a balcony. The staff was fun and very friendly. The wine and cheese Hour was very relaxing and a great bonus to the stay. The room was big and the staff even brought us a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fatchuck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
channel islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We pre booked a 5 night stay in a 2 bedroom suite.
The staff are the most pleasant and helpful I have ever had the pleasure to deal with in any hotel.
Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Breakfast- amazing- loads of choice and fab coffee!
Wine and cheese 5-8PM- WOW!! After a hard day shopping this was such a lovely treat to come back too.
The hotel is very well situated and we managed to walk to everything with ease. The location is safe, near the subway and plenty of restaurants to visit.
Overall- Lovely stay in a clean and comfortable hotel and if customer service is important to you- stay here!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennywren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing