We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked at hotel giraffe when coming to New York City to celebrate our birthdays... On arrival we had a bottle if red and beautiful chocolates waiting for us to start our birthday celebrations, so this already added spark to the hotel. Throughout our stay the hotel cleanliness and service was brilliant. The breakfast was great, but more importantly we loved the wine/prosseco with the cheese and biscuits, olives etc in the early part of the evening that the hotel offered complimentarily! It was a beautiful hotel, and would highly reccommend.
However, only downside which isn't really part of the hotel, however, the restuarant that is attached to the hotel that they offer 20% off isn't great at all and I wouldn't reccommend. It seems the 20% deal is great, until you realise 18% service charge is added involuntarily- and to us the food in there was particularly low when comparing to other places we dined during our stay to NYC. But that aside, highly highly reccommend this beautiful hotel. You will not be dissappointed

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,885 - 1,891 of 3,859 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Giraffe and it felt like a vacation. The small size makes it feel cosy, and the staff was so helpful with tips for getting around and finding places to eat. The room was much bigger than I expected in the city: roomy sitting area with couch, tv, chair and giant window, then nice bedroom and bathroom. Quiet and clean, and they surprised us with champagne for our anniversary! Breakfast and happy hour were also nicer than expected: delicious baked goods, fruit, and espresso machine in the morning and nice wine and cheese reception in the evening. we walked to the gym just a few blocks away and it met our needs. Lobby was cold, but it was the weekend of a major snowstorm. We loved Hotel Giraffe and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateD746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

You are going to love this hotel for so many reasons. Chief among them is the welcoming, helpful, knowledge staff. Let them guide you to restaurants and services, rely on them you won't be disappointed. The rooms were a nice size and so was the bathroom. Well appointed with your choice of pillows and mattress topper if you want. We were very satisfied with the continental breakfast it was ample and kept us going till dinner. Since we were visiting during the recent polar vortex we appreciated the hot chocolate and coffee after a day of being outside. We could relax with a hot drink and read the New York Times or Wall St. Journal in their comfy nicely furnished lobby, it became our late afternoon living room. We will definitely stay here again and would look forward to trying more hotels in The Library Collection. We were here 5 nights.

Room Tip: We had a balcony king and it was worth the small price difference from the queen standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights over New Year and will definitely stay here again. From the staff to excellent breakfasts, 24 hour hot drinks & cookies, cheese & wine receptions and bedrooms, we could not fault this hotel. We stayed in the suite on the 12th floor and had no problems with noise. Our flight was delayed so we arrived a couple of hours later than expected and yet after taking only about 5 minutes to check in, a bottle of champagne which we had pre-ordered was waiting on ice in our room. On the morning of our departure we got a call in our room asking if we'd like reception to check if our flight was affected by the snow storm - a very nice touch. Location of hotel is excellent - we only took the subway once and taxis a few times as it was so nice to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Suite on 12th floor spacious and not affected by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane, Australia
11
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I only have excellent things to say about my 2 recent stays at the Hotel Giraffe in December 2013 and January 2014. The first stay was with 3 other girlfriends for 11 nights. The hotel was fantastic and the staff catered to our every request. Breakfast was served every morning in the lobby with an excellent array of fresh baked goods, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and boiled eggs. Not to mention espresso coffee and tea. The staff were only too happy to assist, including preparing oatmeal to your liking. The wine and cheese reception from 5-8pm every evening was an absolute treat and a great way to start the evening. While there is no gym onsite, Hotel Giraffe offers guests compliemtnary passes to the NYSC gym a short walk away – and if you ask me, that is a lot better than any hotel gym!
The staff were fantastic, and I have to give a special thanks to the lovely doormen who helped us with our bags including playing a pretty tricky game of Tetris trying to fit 6 suitcases into the car (we did a lot of shopping!) and who were always more than happy to find us a taxi, even during peak hour times (including running down Park Ave!).
On our second visit our incoming flight was cancelled and we ended up having to hire a car and drive from Boston to New York. Hotel Giraffe was only too happy to arrange valet parking for our hire car. They took care of everything – a very pleasant outcome after a very stressful day.
I would highly, highly recommend Hotel Giraffe to anyone visiting New York. The level of service is outstanding and the hotel itself is lovely with all the amenities you could ever need. The best thing about the hotel is you are not just a number in a huge hotel – the hotel is genuinely a boutique hotel, and to us that really made the difference.
There is only one place I am staying when I visit New York again. Thank you to all the staff for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The staff are the most gracious and helpful that we have run into at any time in a New York Hotel. The wine and cheese hospitality time was most appreciated and in an intimate setting. Our room was clean with all the necessary amenities. For our stay the location was perfect as our family lives just around the corner. Dining and cab availability was accessible.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

would recommend and stay here again, the location was great, close to a lot of fabulous restaurants, walking distance to most sights and 2 mins to the metro. Only issue was the cost, as a week cost $4500.00

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £188 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing