We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique gem in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boutique gem in great location”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I met a friend for a girl's weeklong trip to NYC. We had a wonderful experience at the hotel. The service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful with making reservations and suggestions. The location is also central so it's easy to get to many different parts of the city. I've stayed at many different hotels in the city over the years. While this may not be the fanciest hotel, I had one of my more pleasant stays. The size of the hotel makes it more enjoyable. The wine, cheese and free breakfast in the lobby were all very nice extras.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,868
    573
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,041
1,389
180
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

In all my travels I have never come across a warmer, friendlier, attentive hotel than Giraffe. 24/7 coffee cheese snacks and drinks free and a chocolate on my pillow!! And it's all done in a comfortable environment!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Hotel Giraffe was a splurge for us, but well worth it! The staff was great, especially JR & Chris at the front desk who patiently helped me review how to get where, made arrangements for me and looked up a laundry. The ladies at the morning breakfast took such great care of us, preparing a beautiful tray when we ate upstairs one day. Loved the wine and cheese in the evening! We had a 2 bed balcony suite and enjoyed being able to look out at all the activity. Nightly turndown service was great - it was a pleasure to come back to a room that was lit softly with music playing. Location was great for all of our adventures - within a few blocks of two different subway lines. Make sure to ask the front desk for the NYC Concierge map and you will easily be able to find your way around Manhattan on your own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RailFan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Okay, here is an honest review:
I lived in New York for a decade, and I have traveled to New York for at least one week per year for the last eleven years. I have stayed at more than a few hotels. The Giraffe has the biggest sink area, the strongest water pressure and some of the nicest staff I have ever experienced. It felt like home away from home. It is efficient and clean. The towels are thick. And the service is attentive.
We stayed in Room 706, a King Suite, with our 9 and 14-y-o kids, and it was exceptionally comfortable. The other reviews are correct. Book now.

Room Tip: 706, a King Balcony Suite, has two large closets, two TVs, an excellent bathroom and a large sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel staff are great, service was excellent. They where very helpful with questions and any extra arrangements that we requested including tickets to shows, and car service from and to the airport. Rooms are clean, bed was comfortable, all the little things are included in the room, and a couple of extra's such as comp. water bottles each day, wine and cheese in lobby everyday, a good selection for breakfast, and a full coffee bar in lobby.
The hotel is located a bit south of Time Square, but if you mind walking a bit, it is an excellent choice.
The only draw back was the restaurant located in the hotel. It is not actually part of the hotel, but you can access it from the hotel elevator. The food is okay, not great, service is okay, but not great. You receive a 20% discount as a guest, but they add an 18% service charge, without advising you. But don't let this spoil your choice, there are plenty of places to eat in New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about Hotel Giraffe. The hotel itself was small and beautiful. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast and wine/cheese reception was incredibly convenient and also delicious. The price was also unbeatable for NYC. I will definitely be returning to Hotel Giraffe in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in a king suite and could not have been happier with the choice. Room was nicely laid out and everything was top quality. An example: the door to the bathroom was solid wood with a large panel of privacy glass. The included continental breakfast was a great option as was the afternoon wine and cheese. The staff was professional, friendly and obviously into taking care of guests. The location was ideal for our weekend plans. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Go for the suite if it fits your budget. One person can sleep late while the other reads the paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing