We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location and hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
South West England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a wonderful find - it was our first trip to NYC and what a great impression the staff made - polite, helpful and attentive, but not overly pushy or in your face, which we liked.. All the staff were friendly and helpful - booked restaurants and helped us with the subway and gave great advice. The breakfast and wine and cheese are a great way to start and end hectic days and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, what more could you ask for. You thoroughly deserve your Tripadvisor rating - and we will definitely be back to enjoy the hotel again - we are NYC converts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabatforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,776
    564
    80
    18
    10
See reviews for
1,001
1,361
174
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I love this hotel! The rooms are always clean & comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is very enjoyable, as is the evening reception. They staff is very courteous and helpful. One of my favorite hotels un NYC!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYWildcats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I came to NY from San Francisco to celebrate our anniversary. The facilities were very nice, but the staff was less than enthusiastic... Although they knew we were visiting from out of town and we were a bit tired upon check-in, not a word about the neighborhood or where we might get dinner in the area. No mention of the restaurant in the hotel. During our entire stay, with a staff of at least 2-3 people at the front desk, not once did any staff member ask if they could be of assistance in finding or suggesting something interesting to do or see in The City. No proactive interest at all. Everyone was polite, but uninterested. We don't expect tour guides, but showing a little interest in your visiting guests goes along way.
On our last trip in 2007, we stayed at the Tribeca Grand Hotel. Whenever we passed through the lobby either the desk staff or the doorman made it a point to ask if there was anything they could do for us that day. Having been an owner in the Hospitality Business, a little genuine attention goes along way....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiraffe, General Manager at Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Rick P,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am truly sorry you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. Our # 1 objective is to ensure that every guest feels CARE – Cared for, Appreciated and Respected at Every encounter; we are deeply saddened you did not feel this way. After reviewing your comments, we are now looking for ways to improve our interactions with in house guests. From the front door to the Sales Department, we are going to begin to establish new best practices that allow us to check in with our guests during their stay.

This particularly pains us because our Guest Service Agents all agree that their favorite part of the job is to share their love for New York and their extensive knowledge of the city with travelers from around the world. We are overjoyed when they are able to provide personalized recommendations to guests. It is our general practice to make sure to invite guests to contact our front desk staff if they need assistance planning their stay in our confirmation and pre-stay emails, and reiterate this upon check in. Now due to your feedback, we will make sure everyone understands the importance of asking this question periodically during the stay when any guest approaches us. Because of all the initial steps taken, we have relied on guests to approach us with inquiries as we do not wish to impose, but let us know if you feel that a mid stay call would have been appreciated. We would love for you to visit us again in the hopes that with our new service procedures implemented, you will have the wonderful experience you deserve. I would be more than happy to handle your reservation personally, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, peter@hotelgiraffe.com, when you wish to rebook or If you have any further suggestions on how we can improve in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Peter Velk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I recently spent one night at the Hotel Giraffe on very short notice. I chose it due to the location (and because of the funky name), and left the next day a huge fan.

Making the online reservation the day of arrival worked incredibly well (not always the case, since some reservation systems block you, or make it impossible to process online), the correspondence with the front desk was friendly and incredibly helpful, and check-in upon arrival easy and uncomplicated. My room was spotless, comfortable, and the bathrobe so incredibly comfortable that I ended up purchasing one for my mother.

Breakfast in the lobby is all you need, the staff available at all times for special requests, and the value for money great (all the more considering you are in New York). I will definitely be chosing the Giraffe, if I ever need a hotel room again while in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1337Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our daughter is a big fan of giraffes so once we'd found this hotel when looking for somewhere to stay in New York then there was probably no other alternative. Hotel Giraffe lived up to our expectations though and our daughter was excited & delighted. From the decor to the facilities to the giraffe statue on the roof terrace everything was a hit. The beds are comfy, wi-fi is fast, breakfast and other refreshments through-out the day delicious. And if you want something to eat when you've arrived late into town and don't want to start exploring then Bread & Tulips is excellent too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Particle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the Giraffe. We returned because what I felt the first time was that this was a hotel with personel that were honest and helpful, rightly proud of the work they did, and simply service minded and in a friendly way always wanted to make sure the guest was happy.

Our feelings are exactly the same after this second time. We arrived jet lagged and tired, and I was grumpy and disappointed that we didn't get a high floor as requested. The personel at the desk were very friendly, (despite my awful mood), and reassured me they would try to do a change. Next day they called me on my phone when we were out, and asked for permission to do a "room-move", and when we got back later that day we had a higher floor and my son was happy. (I also apologized for my behavior when first arriving).

We also feel the location of the hotel is perfect. A rather quiet street, but still 1 minute walking to the Gramercy area where lots of things are happening, and there is a play-ground, 5 minutes to Union Square, and lots of buses near by that goes at least every 7 minutes uptown.

It is not cheap to stay at the Giraffe, BUT, everything is simply included, a nice breakfast with fruits, bagels, marmelade, croissant, cereal, all sorts of coffee etc, the WIFI works great, lots of complimentary things in the room, the wine and cheese in the afternoon/evening etc.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant next door, Bread and Tulips, twice during our 9 night stay. Very nice and cozy italian restaurant, and as a guest of the hotel one gets a 20% discount. Highly recommend it.

Again, highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proplateltd@aol.com
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2014 - 2 adults 2 children. The room was spotless, big enough (you shouldn't be spending too long in your room in NYC!!). Great location for exploring both uptown and downtown, and a quieter area so it's good to get away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square etc. The evening wine and cheese reception is great and the kids loved the cookies and tea/hot chocolate offered throughout the day. The breakfast was good too and if it's busy just ask for a table and they will set one up for you. A good selection of restaurants also situated close by. If we come to New York again we won't be staying anywhere else but Hotel Giraffe. You deserve your rating on Trip Advisor xx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambchop38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing