We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Hotel Giraffe 3rd - 8th May 2014. What a gem this hotel is. We had a Classic King Suite at the back of the hotel facing onto 26th Street. The room had everything we needed and was relatively quite. This is NYC at the end of the day and there will always be street noise. The staff are friendly and attentive, always willing to help and advise, reception staff (Simona if I recall correctly) spent 45mins making a call to arrange our return pick up for which we were very grateful. The concierges are very helpful offering advice on how to get about, particularly on the subway which is only two streets away. The girls in the breakfast lounge/bar are attentive and we found the regular evening cheese & wine to be a very nice touch, particularly after a long day of trecking and sight-seeing. Breakfast, although 'continental' was more than adequate, cereals, fresh fruit, toasted bagels/bread, boiled eggs, fruit juice, tea/coffee etc. We found the location to be good for most attractions, quite central and within easy reach of the Empire State Building, Times Square and the Theatre District, most central attractions are within 10-30 minutes walk. We did however take the subway to 59th Street to visit Central Park and took a taxi to Battery Park for our trip to The Statue of Liberty. All in all we had a fabulous time in NYC and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Giraffe. If we do visit NYC again we will definately stay at the Hotel Giraffe or one of the sister 'Library' group hotels. A big thank you to all the staff at Hotel Giraffe for making our stay a thoroughly enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing onto 26th Street would seem to be the quieter ones, 801 was excellent for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 3,947 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had amazing service with very friendly, helpful staff. Our room was unusually large for NYC (Classic Guestroom with king bed). Daily continental breakfast was great and daily wine/cheese reception each night was outstanding. Beautiful rooftop seating too. Couldn't have been nicer. Easy to get taxis and the subway.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Classic Guestroom with one King bed. It was spacious! Room 704.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Hotel Giraffe is a warm and friendly place to be. The lobby is so comfortable and the staff is so friendly and helpful that people hang around to socialize. The room we had was facing the street and had a small balcony. The room and bath are lovely and very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I must have stayed in at least 250 hotels in my life for work and vacations, and Hotel Giraffe is the best of the non-resort hotels I have stayed at. We had a one bedroom suite that was large and comfortable and, very important for me, quiet. I could not hear the guests in the adjoining room, and the only street noise we heard was the sirens. The staff is extremely helpful, the breakfast is great and a time saver, and on those days we had a heavy lunch, the evening wine and snacks were enough for dinner. I have found my perfect NYC hotel and will return on our once or twice yearly visits to NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnLowrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel Giraffe is lovely. The hotel is relatively small, the staff get to recognize you and go of their way to make sure your holiday runs smoothly. The concierge can offer advice on where to go, how to get there and what and what not to see. The rooms are very clean, and spacious, with a good range of quality fittings and extras (we requested an empty fridge for the room). The hotel is very well located, close to the Flatiron Building and Empire State, and only 2 short blocks away from the subway, which we used extensively to travel virtually everywhere on Manhattan island. The breakfast is simple, but perfectly adequate and coffee/tea is available all day. There is also a cheese and wine each evening, again, a simple affair, but very welcome after a day out. The success of this hotel is that is manages to maintain a high level of professionalism, whilst at the same time being casual and welcoming. The balance is perfect. Would I stay again?- most definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Gilberts_SAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at Giraffe with my family and it was really enjoyable stay for everybody. We liked breakfast, wine reception, and 24 hour snack service at free of charge.Location was great so we can go anywhere easily and neighborfood was also good..You can pick any kinds of restaurant , shops, etc. We'Il definitely go back to Giraffe!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I like this hotel. The staff are very efficient and pleasant and every request we made - for extra blankets, directions, recommendations - was met with professionalism and genuine interest. The buffet breakfast is just perfect to get you going for the day, and the staff that helped out at the food area/bar throughout the day were very accommodating, even when busy with many guests asking for coffee, toaster, etc. I found the noise from Park Avenue to be a bit much, but once we turned on the "waves" from the sound machine, we were able to get past some of the honking out on the street. A great, clean, well-located hotel - would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_heart_Paris_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 471 in New York City
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing