We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Giraffe is worth the premium” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Giraffe is worth the premium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Since ordinary N.Y. hotels can be pricey, I was curious to see whether the premium for Hotel Giraffe would be worthwhile. It was. Staff were pleasant and helpful. our room was great and public areas - main floor and rooftop bar - were also great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,767
    563
    79
    18
    10
See reviews for
997
1,356
174
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I just adore this hotel, and will continue to book a room each year for my parents' annual visit to New York City. This time round was the best yet - we were very generously given an upgrade to a suite for the bargain price of an extra $10.
The location of Hotel Giraffe is fantastic - and hanging out on the rooftop garden on a hot summer's day - above and away from the hustle and bustle of midtown Manhattan was absolute bliss.
The staff go out of their way in their level of service...
Hotel Giraffe has managed to incorporate all the comforts and amenities of a chain brand hotel, but has also created a unique, boutique atmosphere at the same time.
The complimentary cheese and wine, served to guests in the lounge each evening contributed hugely to the 'special' factor, which this hotel certainly has. This being particularly special as it it's in a city full of not-very-special and rather over-priced hotels.
My only complaint would be how noisy the air-conditioning is in the room.
Expensive but worth it. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: A balcony room over-looking Park Avenue is truly special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SW8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well, where to begin, we came from the uk for a 5 night break in NY, mom and dad with 11 and 14 year old lads. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the staff couldn't do enough to help us. I used trip advisor to select a hotel and can only say all the positive reviews are absolutely right.
We had a two double (queen) sized beds and the room for such a city was great. The ac was superb and quiet but devilishly efficient.
There is a small amount of sound through the double glazing but this is a large metropolitan city, I didn't expect any less. Actually, this reminded me I was in NY and no one in the family suffered from lack if sleep. If this noise bothers you you can avail yourself of any if the many items that the hotel give out free of charge if you request them from an eye shade, ear plugs or soothing music.
The breakfasts were healthy, plentiful and fresh from fruit, cereal, bagels (very fresh and local), croissants, pain au chocolate, toast, muffins, boiled eggs etc etc. there was a great selection of teas, coffees and fruit juices all flowing freely. The coffee machine is on 24 hrs so a wander down at 0539 hrs for a coffee in the first morning was very acceptable. This filled us up until lunch time so not only saves you money but time as well
The evening wine, cheese, olives, biscuits, nuts and juices were great as well. We arrived back from a busy day looking around NY and slumped into the large comfy chairs to have a glass of crisp white wine placed in front of us by one fantastically helpful and kind lady. This was delivered with a lovely smile and the offer to make my two boys some hot chocolate which made them feel so special.
The reception was efficient, helpful and these was nothing more they could do for me. The concierge and door staff were so courteous and kind and a friendly face after trudging around a great city.
The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard and the turn down service was lovely albeit a race to the chocolate on the pillows. The bathroom was enormous and more that required for a family of 4. There was even an umbrella and robe/slippers in the wardrobe to ensure that you have all you need.
The hotel is in walking (UK standards) distance if the Empire State, Grand Central and we even walked to Times Square however this was quite a way. We ate at Max Brenners the chocolate restaurant that is about 15 minutes walk away and also if you fancy a true American diner experience, try Big Daddy's Diner about 5 blocks down but ask to share the breakfasts as they are enormous but great.
Would I recommend this hotel to a visiting family, yes, you will struggle to get any better. We absolutely loved this place and should we ever return to NY, I won't search trip advisor, I will just book this hotel again.

To all the staff at the hotel, thank you. You made our trip so special and memorable even when my youngest was poorly in the night. Don't change anything, keep going from strength to strength.

Phil

Room Tip: The balconies are small but allow you to open the double doors full for a lovely view and the sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stalkerchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I spent 9 days at Hotel Giraffe (arriving June 7, departing June 16th) and we would highly recommend this hotel for a splurge in New York City. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, starting with Ashley who made our arrangements and enthusiastically accommodated our special requests. Laura and Gabi were exceptional hosts for the complimentary breakfast and happy hour, and everyone made us feel like valued guests.
The hotel itself is well-located at the corner of Park Avenue and 26th street; it is a 2 block walk to the Lexington (#6) subway, easy walk to many of the sites (Empire State Bldg, Flatiron Bldg, Madison Sq, Union Sq, grand central terminal, times sq.). Our King Suite was spacious, modern, quiet and cool. The relatively small size of the hotel (72 rooms) lends itself to the boutique feeling which made our stay special.
After a long day of sight-seeing, we looked forward to retreating to Hotel Giraffe to freshen up and enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese with pianist Jan playing tunes on the grand piano in the lobby, before heading out again for New York's night life.
Hotel Giraffe genuinely felt like an oasis for us on a busy New York holiday. We would recommend it and we expect to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepCoveRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel in downtown New York. We went for my daughter's 30th birthday. Everyone was very accommodating and pleasant. The valet was helpful when parking my car, not easy at rush hour! The wine and cheese was lovely and relaxing, the staff very helpful. The selection was great! The from was beautiful with a terrace overlooking Park Avenue South. With the door closed no road noise. Bathroom and closet space plentiful! Very comfortable bed with down pillows and comforters! Breakfast was terrific!

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine, very well insulated. Only a few rooms per floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Trip Advisor reviews are correct. Room very clean and well-equipped. Staff professional and friendly. Free continental breakfast in NYC! Bed a bit too firm for my taste, but everyone prefers something different. A great value, style, comfort, location choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Fontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in Hotel Giraffe on my recent New York visit, had looked at numerous hotels but booked here after reading other reviews. For me it lived up to my expectations, had a king suite on the 26th street side so very little noise, really spacious, clean and well maintained during the stay. The breakfast service was great even when it was busy extra tables were put in the area, really great customer service from all the staff I encountered. The location was great being a little out of the way of some of the busy spots but near enough to get around without any trouble. I really hope to visit New York again and will definitely look to stay at Hotel Giraffe when I do.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pink_swallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing