We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel- with a few hick-ups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel- with a few hick-ups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Chose This small nyc hotel After reading The many positive reviews.
Oustanding service provided by all staffmembers.Our 1 bedroom suite was Good in si ze and The excellent concept of using The lobby for complimentary breakfast and evening wine and cheese was a Great hit.

The hick-ups:

Aircondition is close to The bedside, so you feel like sleeping in The middle of a polarstorm

Windows lack doubleglazing, so you Can enjoy all The sounds of New York City, Day AND night!!!!!!

We had made reservations months in advance, asking for a suite om a High Floor

They provided us with a suite on 5th floor in a 12 storey hotel!!!!???

And finally i forgot to mention that we Also booked transfer from The airport very early, but nobody showed up










  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,818
    568
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,022
1,370
179
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The young staff seemed actually happy to have us; they thought of ways to make every request happen. High ceilings and a wall of window with a Juliette balcony make the room spacious. Closet doors have substantial weight and mirrors front and back; easy to check appearances. Robes and slippers are provided; very relaxing. The bathroom counter is easily six feet long and close to two feet wide and there is also a glass shelf. Hot water comes on instantly and stays hot; water pressure is very good. WiFi is free, password protected and is always available; not slow, not spotty. Housekeeping leaves clean, thick towels both morning and night. Breakfast in the Art Deco lobby is generous: baked goods, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, hard-cooked eggs. Coffee/tea/espresso machine is on 24 hours a day. Wine, cheese, cookies, olives and so forth are out late day to early evening, accompanying the live piano music. Both breakfast and wine service are ostensibly buffet, but the charming staff happily serves guests. The roof-top area is inviting with it's many teak seating areas and colorful plantings. The 6 train is two blocks away. From start to finish, this is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 26th street side, which has less traffic that the Park Avenue side. And be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

having stayed at many of the better known hotels in NYC many times for business, Hotel Giraffe for a leisure visit was easily one of the best. The staff were excellent and the atmosphere of the hotel really pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Come to NY yearly. First time staying at Hotel Giraffe. Very clean, nice hotel. Staff incredibly nice and friendly. Breakfast is great. I will definitely be back. Best hotel so far that I have stayed in NY! Then you Hotel Giraffe for making my 20th wedding anniversary special!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyatlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were moving our son to NYC over the 4th of July weekend and found this hotel which was conveniently close, pleasingly quiet with nice sized clean rooms, and had a very welcoming staff and a relaxing area to enjoy their complimentary wine and cheese with piano music in the evening as well as a very good breakfast in the morning! I also wanted a hotel which offered valet parking as we had a SUV to park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Love love love this hotel! We had a lovely king room on the 9th floor, so quiet, super clean, and relaxing. We love that we can pop down to the lobby for breakfast, a glass of wine in the evening, or a cookie or two before bed.

I can't say enough about the staff. All of the people we came into contact with were friendly and professional.

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband, daughter and I were in New York for a long weekend. We had never vacationed in New York before. We chose the Hotel Giraffe based on Trip Advisor reviews and were very pleased. The room had a separate bedroom, with a door separating it from the living room area that had a pull-out sofa. This combination worked well for us. The room fronted on Park Avenue and had a tiny balcony just big enough to stand on so you could see up and down Park. The beds were comfortable and the climate control worked well.

The thing that really set this hotel off was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. From the guys at the front desk who patiently answered our questions and always asked how things were going to the ladies who helped us with breakfast. The breakfast itself was very nice, with large excellent bagels, fruit, etc. and a huge coffee machine that made latte at the push of a button. When we came in from our many trips, there was always coffee, tea and cookies waiting.

The location in midtown worked great. We were two blocks from a subway station and quickly learned to get around.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and plan on using it again in the future.

Room Tip: We were in 706, which was a suite. The balcony was a nice feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing