We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel -- attentive staff, very accomodating....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Maywood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel -- attentive staff, very accomodating....”
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hotel Giraffe this week -- the staff was so attentive, and the room was charming, well appointed and who wouldn't love the juliet balcony overlooking Park Ave. Close to great restaurants and Union Square, subway. Delightful lobby with refreshments and a wonderful breakfast each morning... A must stay in the Flatiron District. We're planning to make it a regular stop -- but also are eager to stay at their other hotels in the city - each with a theme.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainelapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,867
    573
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,041
1,389
180
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Absolutely loved this great hotel in Midtown! The room (BR suite) was stylish and comfortable--best bed that I've slept in on the road. The staff were always available, friendly, and helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast (with *real* NY bagels!) was nicely arranged in the relaxing lobby, and the breakfast staff were always ready to hand you another cup of coffee. Given the location, service, price, Hotel Giraffe is truly a gem in the big city. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We have just come back from a short break in New York and had a fantastic time in this fabulous hotel. Everything was great (although we had requested a high room and given one on the second floor - this could have been because it was valentines day weekend) and we found the staff very attentive but not intrusive. The room was lovely and clean with great amenities and the turndown service was a plus in the evenings. There was a brilliant continental breakfast each morning with fresh bagels, danish pastries, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurts and plenty of fresh coffee. The wine and cheese in the evening was another nice touch. The hotel is very central, and only a short walk from the Empire State Building, Macy's and underground stations to get you around the city.
We had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMAGANorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I stayed here with my mum for a short break and we both throughly enjoyed our stay here. We booked an exec double and were pleased to find a large room with 2 queen size beds, and two of all the amenities (desks/mirrors/case stands) which was perfect if you are not traveling as a couple, or don't want to share space in the mirror whilst trying to get ready! The room was large for a New York hotel, and had a lovely little Juliet balcony overlooking the corner of Park Avenue South and East 26 St. Too small to sit on, but very handy if you want to check the temperature outside before venturing out for the day (it was gorgeous sunny blue skies whilst we were there but absolutely freezing!) I requested a high room, and we were given a room on the 11 th floor, which definitely made a difference to the traffic noise when coupled with the good double glazing in the french doors. Also loved all the small touches in the room, like the Ipod docking station radio alarm, dvd player, and turndown service complete with beligan chocs, soft music and mood lighting on your arrival back to the room each evening!

Staff at the hotel were all very friendly and accommodating, and were happy to ring round to try and reserve us a table for dinner on a busy saturday night.

Free cheese and wine each evening was also a big plus (this included prosecco, which was nice) the red and white was not so great, but free so can hardly complain, and they don't have to do it. Also had live piano music each night, which was a really nice touch.

Only downside was breakfast in the morning. It was not bad, a selection of pastries, bagels, fruit salad and cereal, all of which was very nice, but the limited selection got a bit boring after the first few days. You also had to eat it in the lobby area, which again was a pleasant area, but didn't really seem like the right place to be eating breakfast (tables were not laid for breakfast, and on a few occasions we couldn't even get a table). Think this may have been because the hotel restaurant (Barna) had recently closed down, and suspect that this would have been where breakfast was previously prepared and served. This also meant that there was no bar in the hotel (though if you don't mind only drinking wine, then the free cheese and wine makes up for this)

Overall this is a great little hotel, walking distance from all midtown attractions, several good restaurants, and the gorgeous Madison Square Park (try the shake shack there for brilliant burgers and hotdogs). I would definitely stay here again. Advisable to book via the hotels website, as they do a number of offers, including discount if you book early.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2009

If you're looking for a swell place to stay in the Flatiron district, you can't go wrong with the Hotel Giraffe. Nice location, at the corner of Park and 26th. Extraordinarily friendly and helpful staff (is this my New York?). Lovely rooms and each, as best I can tell, with its own French-doored balcony. Good continental breakfast is included, with bagels, muffins, croissant, fruit (whole and fresh-cut), cereal, oatmeal, etc. Excellent coffee available all around the clock--push a button and out pours a fresh cappuccino, latte, whatever. Wine and champage reception in the evenings. All this is included in the price. One of the very nicest places we've stayed in Manhattan.

  • Liked — The balcony
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deweyd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Hotel Giraffe and loved it. Great location just below midtown with subways less than a block away. Hotel is small and intimate - service was excellent, everyone was very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were very nice - small as is the case in NYC, well appointed, clean - one cool feature was the automated shade that was controlled by a switch next to the bed. There was a free wine and cheese reception every night from 5 -7 or so and breakfast was free as well (yummy bagels)...We made both of these part of our daily routine. We would've given the Hotel Giraffe a 5-star rating had the bed been a bit more comfortable. However, we really enjoyed our stay there and are already looking at returning in the spring or summer.

  • Liked — Inimate feel of hotel and location.
  • Disliked — The bed - a bit too hard for my liking.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DontMissTheBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I was in NYC for a party and picked this placed based on location. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it is! They have a wine and cheese reception in the evenings and breakfast in the morning included. Parking was only $38/24 hrs for my huge SUV. (for a reg. sized car it is $28). I lived in NYC for 5 years and have gone back many times since and this is a fantastic value for the city! That is some dirt cheap parking for there.
The staff was also very helpful and courteous. I have stayed in some of the large chain hotels in midtown in the past, but never again! This is my new favorite hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing