We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real pleasure to experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A real pleasure to experience”
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed at the hotel giraffe for 5 nights 27 Oct- 1Nov 2009.
The staff were outstanding in providing excellent customer service, nothing was to much trouble and always with a smile.
The rooms were immaculately clean and furnished to a very high standard with a lovely balcony, providing an wonderful view.
The complimentary breakfast was ample with a very good choice to suite all tastes.
Evening cheese and wine served between 5pm - 8pm Monday - Saturday always went down well and again the staff should be complimented for their immaculate service.
Location was perfect only 2 mins from the subway.
A real treat to stay here and cannot recommend this fantastic hotel highly enough
Our advise - book a room and see for yourself !!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,965
    581
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,081
1,431
184
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

From the rooms to the service....top shelf....they do an excellent job here.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MRK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Hotel Giraffe was found by me through the Trip Advisor's reviews. It is the third time we choose a hotel this way,and like the other times, it was absolutely precise on all descriptions. Hotel Giraffe is very conveniently located in Park Ave ,between Uptown and Downtown, served by 3 subway lines nearby,and the big Union Square subway almost 8 blocks down.The neighbohood is amazing ,and full of excellent restaurants (Voce ,at 26th st,Gramercy Tavern, at 20th St,, Union Square Cafe,at 18th St.) .The room is very nice and full of amenities. Breakfast is included ,and also very nice (only misses a cheese and ham offer) ,as well as a cheese and wine/champagne selection at the lobby, from 5 to 8 pm, which is a very convenient snack for those who have theatre or concert at 8pm,which is the average time.The girls attendants at the breakfast/wine and cheese are also SO NICE and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff !We will definitely stay at Hotel Giraffe by next time in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelianaCalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aude, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We enjoyed our trip at hotel Giraffe. The hotel staff was very kindly. We were in the "terrace one bedroom suite".
Only one negative point: there was no hot water during one morning in the week we spent.
We'll come back to this hotel as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Brook, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We discovered Hotel Giraffe on Trip Advisor and were very pleased with everything about our recent stay there. We will definitely stay again and highly recommend it to those who are looking for a hotel that is trendy yet quiet with an appropriate atmosphere for families.
The complimentary continental breakfast is wonderful and the lobby is a very pleasant place in which to enjoy a leisurely meal. Other meals were available through the hotel's association with two adjacent restaurants. The rooms are a good size, most with small balconies, and very well appointed. All in all, the Hotel Giraffe is the best value we have found in New York.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellsw0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our time at the Hotel Giraffe. We were very pleased with our room (although strangely, there was no bedcover on the bed - just sheets and a folded blanket at the foot of the bed - and one of the sheets was quite badly torn. This was changed, but a little odd for such a lovely hotel).

The location was great (close to subway, restaurants and some lovely walks), the staff were very helpful, everything was spotlessly clean and I loved having a small balcony to step out onto in the mornings and evenings. The continental breakfast was more than adequate to keep us going through till lunchtime and the evening wine and cheese was lovely. We actually looked forward to that time of the day when we could relax with a glass of wine listening to the pianist before going out for dinner. It was terrific to have coffee/tea/hot chocolate as well as cookies and fruit available in the lobby all day for guests.

We would have taken advantage of the rooftop terrace, but it was raining and a bit cold when we were there.

We will certainly stay at this hotel if we are fortunate enough to return to New York City.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Babyboomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Visiting on our 25th Anniversary and our first long haul flight we were made to feel very welcome by the staff.
We had requested a special welcome of "Romantic Rendezvous" – Rose petals, chocolate strawberries and champagne – and it was perfect…..better than Giraffes pictures…. see ours.
The room with balcony was to a very high standard, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast, buffet style was tasty, plentiful and beautifully presented in a very nice, relaxing setting. In the evening before going out for a meal we really enjoyed the complimentary cheese and wine.

The location was good with the subway and some nice restaurants within easy walking distance. We comfortably walked to the Empire State building – 10 Mins – and Grand Central Station. Just around the corner was the beautiful Madison Square Park and Flat Iron building – all best seen at night with views of the Empire State Building.

The staff were simply excellent. There to help but not in your face. Greeted warmly at breakfast and throughout the day they were happy to undertake tasks such as confirming bookings and calling cabs. They were all extremely professional and to a clear and consistent standard without losing the personal touch. They as much as the hotel made our stay so enjoyable. We loved the hotel and really our only disappointment would be the Rooftop Garden which was understandably closed for the season.

Having read our review and looked again at the website we feel it does what it says.
Well done Giraffe and thank you. We would not think of staying anywhere else in New York.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 466 in New York City
1,366 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 466 in New York City
171 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing