We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy hotel in an easy location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel in an easy location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

I'm so happy that I chose this hotel for my 5 night stay in NYC. The location was great for several reasons:
-easy to hail a cab (on Park ave)
-close to subway stops
-entrance to hotel on 26th is in a calmer area, so entering/exiting building doesn't feel rushed/busy
-Gramercy area has lots of good restaurants in easy walking distance
-Whether you're going to uptown or downtown, not a long trip/distance due to hotel being well situated.

I was looking for a hotel that was quiet enough should I want to sleep late (into the afternoon), and this was a good choice. We were on the 6th floor, happened to be a corner room, and were never disturbed from noise coming from the hall or other rooms. The double pained windows helped keep out a lot of street noise, too, although I did use earplugs 2 nights when there was some early morning construction on the st below. The darkening shades also helped get that extra shut eye.
I requested a mini fridge for my stay and did not get charged extra for that, which was very nice. 2 bottles of water are delivered at turn down service, so you always have something to drink. The wifi was great, had no trouble getting a signal or keeping the connection whether I was in the room or downstairs in the lobby/sitting area.
I didn't have breakfast, but did stop by for some cheese one night and it was delicious! Laid out nicely and a wide selection of cheese and crackers along with raw veggies and dip.
The bathroom had lots of counter space and the complimentary umbrella really helped us out for the rainy weather. (Saw more available downstairs if you need more than 1 per room.) There's also a door to the bedroom, which is helpful if someone is still sleeping and the other is making noise in the other part of room.
The only slight negative thing I can think of is that the couch in the room didn't offer much support. There are no arms and the fabric is a bit slippery, so working at your computer as your sitting in that area of the room can be a little uncomfortable after awhile. Had to unplug a lamp or two to get all our chargers plugged in (a cell phone charger and laptop charger for 2 people, so 4 plugs), but that wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lws07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,773
    564
    80
    18
    10
See reviews for
1,001
1,359
174
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Enjoyed out time there, no complaints at all, after all how many hotels like this have wine and cheese gatherings at a piano bar, as well as great bagels in the AM with a paper.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yepitsmeSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

I found the Hotel Giraffe quite by accident and had a wonderful time at this elegant property. I cannot complement the staff enough for their great service and attention to every detail. The rooms are spacious, nicely appointed, and updated. We were pleased to find plush robes and complementary water. In the morning there is a complementary continental breakfast available in the lobby, a nice way to start your day. The hotel is a short walk to the subway which proved to be an added bonus for us. After a busy day of shopping and touring the city, we were pleasantly surprised with their evening wine and cheese reception in the lobby. It was a nice way to relax before heading out to dinner. New York truly is the city that never sleeps. When you're ready to sleep, I'd highly recommend the Hotel Giraffe, a hidden gem in a very busy city.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joebaker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Giraffe for one night in late October. From arrival until departure the staff were friendly and attentive. They were also very considerate to my 11 year old daughter and made us all feel very welcome.

The location is convenient being close to the subway and all the sites of NYC are easily accessible.

The buffet breakfast was fresh, and the evening wine & cheese selection a nice start to an evening.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesrw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed at the hotel giraffe for 5 nights 27 Oct- 1Nov 2009.
The staff were outstanding in providing excellent customer service, nothing was to much trouble and always with a smile.
The rooms were immaculately clean and furnished to a very high standard with a lovely balcony, providing an wonderful view.
The complimentary breakfast was ample with a very good choice to suite all tastes.
Evening cheese and wine served between 5pm - 8pm Monday - Saturday always went down well and again the staff should be complimented for their immaculate service.
Location was perfect only 2 mins from the subway.
A real treat to stay here and cannot recommend this fantastic hotel highly enough
Our advise - book a room and see for yourself !!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

From the rooms to the service....top shelf....they do an excellent job here.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MRK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Hotel Giraffe was found by me through the Trip Advisor's reviews. It is the third time we choose a hotel this way,and like the other times, it was absolutely precise on all descriptions. Hotel Giraffe is very conveniently located in Park Ave ,between Uptown and Downtown, served by 3 subway lines nearby,and the big Union Square subway almost 8 blocks down.The neighbohood is amazing ,and full of excellent restaurants (Voce ,at 26th st,Gramercy Tavern, at 20th St,, Union Square Cafe,at 18th St.) .The room is very nice and full of amenities. Breakfast is included ,and also very nice (only misses a cheese and ham offer) ,as well as a cheese and wine/champagne selection at the lobby, from 5 to 8 pm, which is a very convenient snack for those who have theatre or concert at 8pm,which is the average time.The girls attendants at the breakfast/wine and cheese are also SO NICE and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff !We will definitely stay at Hotel Giraffe by next time in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelianaCalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing