We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new "pied a terre" in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new "pied a terre" in NYC!”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

This is a great boutique hotel. The price was right, the rooms are beautiful with high ceilings, nice linens, great service and perfect location. I'm looking forward to staying here on my next trip to NY.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,012
    583
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,102
1,453
184
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The management has thought of everything from the complimentary European style breakfast and wine and cheese buffets to the coffee and tea available all day. Great location, great service, highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTVNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I would recommend Hotel Giraffe to tourists and locals who want to spend a quallity weekend. It is located away from the hustle and bustle of mid-town, Times Square. However, centrally located that you can walk there within 15 minutes or a take a train to Times Square, Grand Central, Union Square or the Village. The staff, service and value is well worth it. It includes a very nice breakfast and wine & cheese reception. The rooms are clean and very nicely decorated and setup. As a New Yorker I would recommend this hotel for the price value. I've stayed in Times Square area in a boutique hotel (which Hotel Giraffe is consdiered) and this is way much better. Times Square is just too crowded but that is a New Yorker just trying to get away from what he experiences everyday. Would highly recommend this hotel and there are great dining choices within a 15-20 block radius. Union Square, Chelsea, mid-town South have great dining choices on all levels. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huele62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Giraffe and was greatly impressed.
After many stays in New York hotels where staff were generally less than attentive and rooms were ridiculously small, this hotel is a sight for sore eyes.
There is no huge luxury here, but the place is spotlessly clean, the rooms are fairly good in size, and staff is super helpful and simply nice to deal with!
Ok, it is not in the best of all locations, but for I will willingly come back to this hotel and simply walk or take a cab to the hot spots in town during my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Our one bedroom suite was the perfect size for the 4 of us. The hotel staff even brought in an extra mattress at our request so our 2 children would not have to share the pull out. It was so nice to have breakfast in the lobby before we would head out on the day. The wine and cheese each evening from 5pm to 8pm was excellent. The staff were very helpful and kind.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank familyupstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2010

The hotel was great though not in the best location. We stayed in a suite which was very nice though there is no need to pay more for the terrace as it is like six inches wide, I guess the only good thing is you can open the doors if you are so inclined, but not a good view or anything. The restaurant was closed while we were there but two (very tasty and nearby) restaurants provided the room service, one was a french bistro and the other an upscale mexican restaurant.
The wine and cheese was very nice, lots of cheese, crackers, celery, carrots ect., it's free and runs from 5-8 mon-sat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMrsWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Perfectly on the cusp of all that is hip and right with the NYC groove. Decor and feel is authentic as the staff made me feel as if I were the only guest. I never had to set down my shopping bags the entire stay as they were steps ahead of me. Beyond that the staff made it there priority to insure I made my flight as a gentlemen even rushed out to the street to stow my stored bag in my cab I hailed blocks away. I'm a 4-5 star NYC hotel veteran and this hotel beats the W, beats all the boutique hotels and out-margins those old "Barclay" style hotels by a long-shot. The free-internet, gym pass for a very cool local gym just next-door, complimentary wine & cheese nightly, and of course the complimentary dazzling breakfast were superb, a time-saver, and a huge NYC $$ boost as those items can total hundreds of $$ on a typical NYC stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDeDaLeSalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,378 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing