We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable elegance and luxury in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Lovely, quiet rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast buffet and evening wine and cheese in the beautiful lobby. Pianist for evening reception. Neighborhood full of great ethnic restaurants. Far enough away from midtown rush, but still convenient to all attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,032 - 3,038 of 3,807 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2010

we were looking for a clean hotel at a good value for a quick overnight to visit our daughter in graduate school downtown. We got that and more. Smiling helpful staff, a beautiful good sized (by NY standards) room, nice location..... even a tiny balcony! Very good value, considering all the free amenities.... wine and cheese from 5-8 PM (the staff volunteered happily that our daughter was welcome to join us!) free bottled water in the room, and a nice continental breakfast. We didn't really take advantage of the breakfast, but it looked great and plentiful. Comfortable bed. A coffee pot in the room would be nice, but that is serious nitpicking. We are looking forward to returning when the roof garden is open.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiSu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I will try though. This trip was a Christmas gift for my husband, due to a truly horrible January we were afraid we would have to cancel. That being said, it was really a treat to leave all the stress behind. From the moment you walk through the door you are made to feel extremely welcome from all of the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone, is polite and welcoming. They look you in the eyes and ask after your day and is there anything they can do for you. I mention the "look you in the eye" part because there are plenty of places you go that the staff will avoid eye contact for fear that you may actually expect them to do something for you. Our room was on the second floor, and no we were NEVER bothered with street noise or any other noise. It was beautifully decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby. The breakfast has plenty of choices and the staff is very helpful. Usually, you have to toast your own bagel then either make two or three trips to your table or perform some circus juggling act to get your breakfast and coffee to your table. Not here, they will toast your bagel for you while you get your other items, make your coffee for you and bring it all to your table for you. While these may seem like little things, I have always thought it was the little things that make things special. I absolutely loved staying here and while I do not get to come to the city often, I will be back no doubt about it. Thank you to all the staff for a great trip!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Great hotel. We've stayed in many, many New York hotels, and this ranks near the top, especially if you are looking for something small, friendly and good value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

This is a great boutique hotel. The price was right, the rooms are beautiful with high ceilings, nice linens, great service and perfect location. I'm looking forward to staying here on my next trip to NY.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The management has thought of everything from the complimentary European style breakfast and wine and cheese buffets to the coffee and tea available all day. Great location, great service, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTVNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I would recommend Hotel Giraffe to tourists and locals who want to spend a quallity weekend. It is located away from the hustle and bustle of mid-town, Times Square. However, centrally located that you can walk there within 15 minutes or a take a train to Times Square, Grand Central, Union Square or the Village. The staff, service and value is well worth it. It includes a very nice breakfast and wine & cheese reception. The rooms are clean and very nicely decorated and setup. As a New Yorker I would recommend this hotel for the price value. I've stayed in Times Square area in a boutique hotel (which Hotel Giraffe is consdiered) and this is way much better. Times Square is just too crowded but that is a New Yorker just trying to get away from what he experiences everyday. Would highly recommend this hotel and there are great dining choices within a 15-20 block radius. Union Square, Chelsea, mid-town South have great dining choices on all levels. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huele62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
425 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £201 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing