We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lex NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park South Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The MAve Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New York EDITION(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Deauville(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Redbury New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James New York-NoMad(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,076)
Filter reviews
4,076 results
Traveller rating
3,340
617
88
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,340
617
88
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesepark avenuenew yorksmall balconycontinental breakfastevery eveningrooftop gardenbagelsflatiron districtunion squareking suitehard boiled eggsboutique hotelturn down serviceshake shackfresh fruitgreat boutique
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,190 - 3,195 of 4,076 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just one thing:

So I lost my bag on the terrace rooftop one night. And after trapezing around the hotel searching for it, I call the front desk and they have it with keys, makeup bag, everything still intact.

Livesavers for the luckiest idiot in the world.

Other than the great staff (who by the way will bring a toothbrush to your room if you idiotically forgot that). The rooms are small and cozy but not cramped. The decor is simple with red accents and black and white photograph - they come together very nicely, and everything is very clean.

The breakfast is is great because one can never go wrong with New York bagels. And if I had found a way, I would've smuggled away the entire jar of ladyfingers that they serve during their wine-and-cheese session. I must've have five or so.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theyellowfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I've stayed in Hotels all round the world and I highly recommend this one. I can't remember the exact price - but whatever the difference was between it and less comfortable accomodation, it was negligible.

ONLY TWO SLIGHT drawbacks - the TV/remote was difficult to operate. But you're not in NYC to watch telly. And 2) The bathroom has a window, albeit opague one. And if you're a group of young people out to party, this is not the best spot (but definitely nice enough to bring someone back to impress)

Those aside, IDEAL SPOT. If you're not a party of young girls or boys partying, regardless of your circumstances, this is PERFECT.

Trust me, save yourself the sweat of further research and book this place now. You won't regret it

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronisjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Hotel Giraffe is the "nicest little hotel in New York City!" The service is impeccable as everyone from the doorman to the front desk people bend over backwards to be helpful. My standard room was more than generous in size and the accommodations were more than comfortable. It is centrally located between Gramercy Park and Midtown which makes those areas, Broadway and the lower east side a comfortable walk. The best thing about the "Giraffe" is the amenities which included a buffet breakfast (cereals, hard boiled eggs, croissants, fruit, yogurt ,coffee and cappuccino) with newspaper. 24/7 complementary coffee and cappuccino. Also they include at no charge, a wine and cheese bar between 5 and 7 pm. They also include a free bottle at bedside. The only below par amenity was the shampoo and conditioner. It needs to be upgraded. They do not have a restaurant, however, they have an agreement with the two restaurants next door that provide room service. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misaramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We just returned from New York and stayed at the Hotel Giraffe for a week. We chose it, in part, because of the fabulous reviews on this site. We really enjoyed this property. It is convenient to everything. The staff was great, the whole hotel was really clean and we felt very safe.
It was a great experience. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDAnderson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Just spent 4 nights here. Excellent friendly staff, breakfast, internet and the evening cheese and wine all included in the rate make the hotel excellent value as well. The evening drinks makes for a great atmosphere as people gather in the reception area to relax from the days sightseeing or work before heading out for the evening.
Great location with a delightful park including kids play area just one block away, subway close by, easy access up and down town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lon_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews