We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. Very good. Not perfect, but very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Clearly a good experience.
PROs: whatever you see, touch or eat will be top quality. Nice rooms, even if a bit dark for my personal taste, everything inside them is very well designed. Obviously the place is very clean. The breakfast, even if at first sight will not hit your eyes, has very high value and, again, top quality. And it is included in the price. Just perfect for those who are trying to avoid the excessive food offers you find at every corner in US. Staff is alawayd very kind and supportive.
CONs: the is no Concierge (or at least we didn't see him/her), therefore you need to rely on your own sources of information or ask the staff at the Reception, not necessarily able to give you the best advise nor to make the booking. But they will do their best to be helpful, no doubt. Low floors rooms are noisy during the night, insulation should be improved (garbage collection on the 26th happens 3 times per night). Outside the hotel you need to walk a bit/take a cab if you look nice restaurants for dinner (but maybe a proper Concierge would help).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,936 - 2,942 of 3,818 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted by a friendly helpful staff. Evenings begin with wine and cheese and piano music in the lobby and breakfast begins with croissants and cappuccino. There is also lovely roof garden to relax and unwind.

A great neighborhood to explore with many of the finest restaurants in New York.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JARPSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Wonderful botique hotel with clean, beautiful rooms. Excellent, personal service and wonderful continental breakfast daily. LCD TVs with entertainment center in every room. Free Internet and maid service twice daily. Pay for your stay in advance for best deal. Good location in a terrific neigborhood with fine dining nearby. Close to all of the attractions in midtown. Complimentary bottled water in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLWTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have been 5 times in NY and most of the time we had good hotels, but hotel Giraffe we liked the most of them for the next reasons: Breakfast and wireless included and also cheese and wine between 5 and 8 PM.We enjoyed it all. The rooms are not as small as in many other NY hotels.The bed is extremely comfortable and maybe because we were on the 11th floor, but we slept very well because there was silence and also this is not easy in NY.The price is a little bit high, even with the prepay and save offer. The position of the hotel we liked and the metrostation is only 1 block away. Maybe I would have put a little swimmingpool at the rooftop instead of the terrace, because there is no view and there are only offices nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henriette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Can't say enough good things about the Giraffe Hotel. It's not a swanky, high-end hotel. It's down to earth, friendly, low key, small, quiet, and just perfect.. Everyone has different ideas about what a great hotel should be. For me, in such a bustling city like New York, it's great to come back to a peaceful place where everyone knows your name, the rooms are big, and it feels like home for a couple days..

For my needs, the location was perfect being on Park and 26th, as I needed to travel all over the city. If you need to go West, East, or North, South, you can access the entire city with ease.

There are some excellent restaurants nearby as well: 11 Madison, Blue Smoke (for ribs), The Breslin, Shake Shack, Maialino (in the Gramercy Park Hotel), etc.. All are within walking distance.

For me, what makes a hotel "excellent" are the people. And the Giraffe staff couldn't be nicer. From the young man that greets you at the door, who remembers your name, to the reception staff, this is a hotel that understands the importance of service.

The hotel policies are friendly too. There is no annoying nickel and diming like you get at the big chains. You are not charged extra for Wifi. And every morning in the lobby is a perfectly good continental breakfast with fresh fruit, bread, cereal, juice, coffee, just enough to get you going in the morning. And it's COMPLIMENTARY! No $40 breakfast charges..

I also liked the large rooms with high ceilings.. Other things I liked were great food service from the excellent Mexican restaurant next door..

I definitely recommend this hotel, and will make it my home any time I go back to NYC..

Great job Giraffe!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed for six nights in June as part of our around the world holiday. We found all the staff friendly and obliging, especially the guy that got us our ice everyday...sorry didn't get your name but you were so obliging. We were happy with the rates and size of the rooms for a New York Hotel. Having the high ceiling and Juliette balcony added space to the room. Breakfast was included which adds to the value and the wine and cheese evenings were a lovely way to end to the day. With a subway station just across the block it was easy to get everywhere however as we like walking we had no problems walking up to Times Square. I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doaswelikeclub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Some check in snafus - room "blocked out" for us on 12th floor not ready at 4 pm when we checked in and all that was available was a 5th floor room so we agreed to wait - came back a half hour later and we were told the 12th floor room was "smelled too much of smoke"(?) and we were put into the 5th floor room anyway. Room was OK, needed a little refreshing - room service menu just a bunch of papers stapled together, I agree with some of the other reviewers that the bed and pillows were not that comfortable - but were OK. Blackout curtain actually lets in quite a lot of light along the sides, and quite a bit of street noice (but it's NY!) Very bizarre that bathroom door has a large window in it - and it's not very opaque! Bathroom was nice and clean, but could use a few updates - rather low pressure old fashioned shower head, plastic curtain, etc. Breakfast was very nice indeed, a good selection, and the happy hour cheese and wine was good as well. Slow elevators (there are only two) but it's a relatively small hotel so this is not a big detraction. Overall, perfectly fine, great location - room price is a little high for what you get but free breakfast and happy hour make up for that. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieNBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
442 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £206 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing