We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning guest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“returning guest!”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We were due to stay at the Giraffe from 22- 26th December - howevere, our stay was somewgat [prolonged until January 1st, due to the severe weather on the East Coast of America - so, we certainly can comment on the hotel.

The rooms are a good size and the bed linen is lovely. Television is a huge flat screen, and other media devices are good. The bathroom is nice - although, the bath is very shallow, and a the towels are nor exacty soft and fluffy!

The room very much misses tea and coffee making facilities - although there is a free machine in the lobby, that's not the most convenient first thing in the morning.

Breakfast is included and is nice, however after ten of them , I was craving some sort of pancake and maple syrup!! Also, some plain bread for toast would be nice as an option too.

The inclusive cheese and wine reception in the evening is a lovely touch and perfect to start off an evening.

Staff are friendly and keen to help.

My one criticism was over the price of the room we needed during our enforced stay. The rate soared for the extra days, and it was only due to our doggeed stubborness to negotiate, that we managed to get the prices down to below the over 4500 that was requested. i realise this was holday week, but, the stay was not our fault and the prices being quoted were slightly unreasonable in the circumstances.
That said, the hotel is well positioned in the city and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrsLaurenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,960
    580
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,078
1,428
184
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Warm welcome, nice room, complimentary hot beverage in the afternoon, pleasant lounge, convenient location : a very good choice. A little drawback, on 11th floor, sometimes a lack of water pressure, the shower tends to switch back to the bath. Wi-fi : everytime high speed.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pilote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

we stayed at the hotel giraffe two days before christmas...

the hotel location is perfect if you plan on being in soho or the village or uptown...

upon arrival our room was not ready and we were asked to wait in the lobby... while we waited, we had access to an espresso machine, juices, and biscotti... (very nice touch)... by the way, breakfast is offered in the lobby and even though we did not eat there, it looked rather nice with many options...

we had ordered milk and cookies which, unfortunately, did not arrive until we returned to our room after dinner...

the room (a suite with "balcony) was average with the "balcony" being the only thing that separated the giraffe from the "w" hotel, in terms of roominess... the bathroom was below average, with the shower being more of a trickle than anything else... the room was clean and, for the price we paid, good enough...

there is not much to improve upon, as it would mean to redo the rooms... so, in the interim, enjoy the location, service, and "balcony.."

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The Hotel is very well located if you want to walk or to use the subway. At the same time the rooms are very quiet and quite large for NYC. Breakfast is complimentary but a little bit crowded in the morning. And it is very nice to have some champagne and wine with cheese in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Giraffe for our 10th wedding anniversary and had a great time. We found the staff to be very accommodating and the ammenities wonderful, such as the wine and cheese reception and beautiful balcony overlooking Park Avenue. The one complaint we had was that the bed, although spacious with plush linens, was very hard and we had difficulty sleeping at times. Overall, we had a great visit and thought the Hotel Giraffe was great for a special occasion stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesPags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I love this hotel, it possibly my favourite hotel in the world, although I might be biased as this was where my husband and I got married in 2010.

The rooms are excellent size, suburb quality and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The little touches make all the difference such as the turndown service, bottled water in the room etc and you are certainly made to feel most welcome.

The location is excellent and the staff were only to happy to help in any way possible from local knowledge to getting you a cab or reservation. I loved the breakfast that the hotel provides in the lobby, it has everything you need to set you up for the day (although I had to avoid the pastries until after the wedding) :-)

The cheese and wine on offer each evening (except Sunday) is a great touch and was a brilliant pre dinner treat for us and our guests.

With regards to our wedding we got married on the roof top terrace and had our “wedding breakfast” (provided by the Park Avenue Bistro next door) in the penthouse suite connected to the terrace. The hotel staff were amazing and we had a truly unforgettable day with everything we could have wished for. As we were planning the wedding from abroad (UK/Germany) we had concerns about everything going to plan, however after a meeting when we arrived at the hotel everything was confirmed and it all went without a hitch. The hotel organised the seating for the ceremony (dressed chairs), the seating for our meal (including high chairs) then cleared everything for the evening bar/dancing (amongst a million other things). For our party size the venue was amazing and even though we arranged some things ourselves (cupcakes/stand/place settings etc) the hotel was very accommodating in setting this up on our behalf/directing the deliveries that arrived.

Although the hotel is fantastic I think the staff really make the whole experience a cut above the rest. Everyone we met was polite, friendly, and knowledgeable and they cannot do enough for you. We stayed at this hotel for a week in total including our wedding night and even when we experienced a small leak in our room after heavy rain the manager came up to the room in person and we swiftly had all of our belongings moved to another room whilst we went down to breakfast.

I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel and all of our wedding party guests stayed for at least one night at the hotel and all had only good things to say.

We also stayed at the hotel a couple of months prior to our wedding so that we could see the rooms for the ceremony/reception etc. The only negative I can say about this particular stay at the Hotel Giraffe was that we were only here for one night but it certainly made us look forward to coming back for the wedding even more!

We were grateful that the hotel allowed us use of the penthouse suite to meet with photographers etc for which they even set up a table, water, notepads, pens etc for us without being asked. Once we had seen the hotel and the excellent staff on hand we knew we had made the right choice and couldn’t wait to go back.

The Hotel Giraffe made my wedding day unforgettable, all it needs to do is just keep doing what it is doing because it really is the best place to stay in New York, I only wish I could give it more than 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllthatisNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Very nice and helpfull staff. Rooms where comfortable: no noice, had night blinds to block out daylight and climate easy to regulate. Breakfirst was standard european style. All in all recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loevengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 467 in New York City
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing