We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #395 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Our shower water was brown because the pipes were rusty. We also had a clogged shower. The sink had low water pressure. The bathroom was extremely small, and the only shelf was right above the toilet, and my friend's makeup fell in the toilet. Depite having many elevators, we waited 20 mins for a elevator because each one that stopped on our floor was full. The lobby was nice but the rooms weren't.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234567890as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for your review and comments. Our most sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you experienced regarding the plumbing. Your concerns will be addressed immediately. Again, our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,262 - 5,268 of 9,283 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

What a classic! The grand lobby, the fantastic shops, the friendly bellmen, WOW!! I could find no fault with this property. Try the nut mix at the bar. It is the best I have ever had. Do yourself a favor and check in to the Roosevelt, you won't regret it. A two minute walk to Grand Central and the city is at your doorstep!.
Thanks Roosevelt, and we will see you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and review. You said it perfectly, our loctaion, beauty, and charm cant be beat. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was a little apprehensive about staying here after reading the mixed reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. I booked 4 rooms for my family and 3 other families as an add on to our trip to play baseball in Cooperstown. All families had at least one 12 yr old boy and 2 families had two 12 yr old boys. We booked all rooms with 2 double beds and I was concerned about how small the rooms might be, but was very happy with the room size. The rooms were very clean and we did our own test for bed bugs (since we heard they were rampant in NYC hotels). We found no signs of bedbugs and had no problems since our return home. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The elevators are a bit slow and usually full, but they have 6 of them so they get to you eventually. The bathrooms were a bit dated, but still clean. I really have no major complaints about the hotel. It is within easy walking distance to Times Square and the subway at Grand Central. Also very close (half block) to a Dunkin Donuts! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that your extended baseball vacation included NYC and the Roosevelt. You are correct, our central location cant be beat and is located perfectly for sight seeing and shopping. Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Excellent sister reunion at the Roosevelt Hotel! Central location at the heart of NYC! We never walk so much, trying to see all we could see both day and night. Found affordable breakfast lunch and dinner eateries. There is truly no city as fine NYC. Most of my sisters were born here and grew up in the South Bronx. Some have been away for over 30 years. The oldest will be 59 come January and the baby sister is 37 years old. We are scatter all over from FL, MD, SC, VA and one who still lives in the City. She is a die hard New Yorker! We had a ball. My mother had 8 girls and one boy. Our brother couldn't make it because he was in Hot Atlanta working on his PHD. New York is a city of dreams...

Room Tip: Be good to the housekeeping staff, they will be good to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noellba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for your review and comments. We are so happy to hear that your family reunion was a big success. Next time we hope your brother can make it. The Roosevelt's central NYC loctaion is a perfect place to meet and plan your day of sight seeing and shopping. Thanks agin for your valuable feed back and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Had a cozy double for three nights of a mother daughter weekend in NYC. (myself and a friend and out 13 yr old daughters) I was a little tentative given the reviews -- but really it was fine! Beds comfortable, requested a quiet room, so noise not a problem. Room and bathroom were clean. Size was fine - didn't spend a lot of time there as everyone says. Lobby and halls had a bit of that "old building" smell -- but it wasn't a problem. Location was great -- easy to walk, and cabs weren't expensive from midtown/museum locations when we didn't want to walk. Used subway to go to SoHo - convenient stop at Grand Central. Location was really important given our short stay and wanting to fit a lot in! Booked through the hotel - so price was a bit high - but so were others in the area. (didn't use bellhop or cab hailing services -- but didn't want to)

Room Tip: asked for a quiet room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank your for your comments and review. We are so happy that your "mother & daughter" weekend was a success and that the Roosevelt palyed a part in your adventure. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This hotel was great, it features kings and double beds only. My family (myself, husband and three children, ages 12, 2 and 15 were more than comfortable at this hotel. About a 10 min. walk to timesqure and shopping is up the street, also there were stores connected to the hotel as well. Beds were nice and comfortable, bathroom was also nice, though small. It was still clean and more than what we needed. All in all this is a great place for yourself or family. Felt very comforatble and safe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donadljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for your commets and review. Yes our central location cant be beat and midtown NYC is very safe for all. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We scored a room for only $100 on priceline. Right by Grand Central. It's an older property, but the location and price are so right for NYC.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Drewdini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for your review and comments. Wow, that was a great rate for such a fantastic NYC loctaion. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,814 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,755 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,922 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 470 in New York City
7,965 reviews
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#223 of 470 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £97 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing