We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall it was very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall it was very Good”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed 2 weeks in November 2013 and the room was small but very clean.
The main issue was the lighting. You could not get very good light during the day and the lighting was limited both in the room and in the bath.

The person that cleaned the room did an excellent job. She also anticipated our needs for extra towels, etc.

The cappucinos at the bar used to be good now there is a machine that produces very poor quality espressos and capucinos. However there is a place outside on 46st thst makes up for this.

Staff is very pleasant. The hotel is very busy

So all in all Good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    3,146
    2,100
    1,124
    803
See reviews for
2,477
2,601
345
1,170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Memphis, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

December 3-7 was as close to Christmas as I could get. My travel group stayed at the Roosevelt and it was beautiful. Loved the decorations and the location. We were able to walk to most places that we wanted to see. The staff was good and the room was nice. We had trouble with the audio on the TV, but we were only in the room late at night and early morning. We didn't report the problem so I don't know whether or not we would have had good service. Some of our group had trouble with hot water, but we didn't. I would stay here again because a good bed and location are what I need in a hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank possesheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had the opportunity to visit NYC and decided on the Roosevelt. The lobby is beautiful and location is perfect. The bellman was helpful and courteous. That's pretty much it. We stayed in Room 1451. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. The hot water faucet would not turn on at all. I had to wash my face in the bathtub! I also felt the room wasn't clean. The first towel I grabbed to use was dirty, the bathroom floor had garbage and one of my pillowcases had stains. But the real dealbreaker is that the elevator system was horrific. I'm not sure if some elevators were not working but we waited 40 minutes to take the elevator from our 14th floor to the lobby. I'm totally not exagerrating. It was crazy and hectic and for this reason probably would not return. This was totally not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethebeach1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

after reading some of the reviews prior to our trip I have to say was a little bit sceptical . However I do believe you have to make your own opinion . The hotel is in a fab location just few blocks away from grand central , crysler building and ESB . The staff were pleasant , ok they were not over friendly but I think thats just New York . The hotel is very busy so ok you may not get seats in the bar at ceratin times of the day , Usually around 6pm . The rooms were very clean and although not on the large size had everything you need . After all I didn't intend to spend much time in the room . I would recommend this hotel it's a good all round hotel in a a fab location .
Couple of tips : be prepared to leave $100 for incidentals on arrival , This is usually done on a credit card . The may be a slight wait for lifts at busy periods EG 1st thing in a morning and around check in time 3pm .
I'm already thinking of returning . Thanks for a fab stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Where to start....
The lobby is beautiful and the location makes it easy to walk to Times Square or Rockefeller Center, but....
We arrived at 5:30 and our room wasn't ready yet, (since check out is 11, this seemed a bit late to still not be ready) we decided to go out to dinner..they finally called us to say the room was ready around 8 pm so we make our way back to the hotel just to stand in line for another 20 min to get our room cards. Up until now I have been tryong to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt though. ..it's a holidays/etc. ...we get into our room and the paint is pealing and the wall paper in the bathroom is coming off the walls. Still trying to be positive we go to bed and the beds are comfy so I hope for a better day. The next day we are ready to go and try to take the elevators down (we are on the 10th floor) there is a huge line on our floor for elevators.. after waiting 20min for the elevators (which never show) we end up walking down the stairs and see a ton of other families from other floors opting to do the same. We spend a fun day in ny and come back at 8pm to the same elevator issue trying to go up to our room. Then I happen to look in our bathroom and while they took all of our towels from that morning (most had been hung up to be reused) they never replaced any. I just called down to guest relations who were not super friendly and they said they would see what they could do, but it will be at least another half hour until they can address this issue. Would not recommend staying here....

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jastheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel is very inconsistent. Guest service is not a strong point. The rooms are mostly ok, but the heating system in many of them does not work well. Some rooms are very small with barely enough room to walk around the bed and some are very nice. When we stayed there in mid December the elevators were not working well. Several guests told of waiting 20 minutes or more for the elevator. We opted for the stairs. Managements response to the elevator problem was "we have called the repairman."
The location is great and the public rooms are beautiful. Have a drink at the lobby bar and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: Many rooms with king beds are small the rooms with two queens seemed to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Myself and my 2 daughters stayed at the Roosevelt for 4 nights (Nov 29-3 Dec/13) for my elder daughters 40th,we arrived at 2pm then booked in but had to wait till 3 to get our room,no problem there as the porter took our cases and we went to the bar and had a lovely and very welcome coffee.
At 3 we made our way back to the desk to get our keys found a very long queue,we were getting tired by this time however a man in front of us went to complain and within a couple of minutes a porter came took all our names who were waiting for keys and went and got them for us, brilliant!!!
hotel very clean, our bedroom had 2 double bed's and was big enough for us,again everything was clean bathroom small but had everything we needed,first shower we took at teatime the water was only lukewarm maybe because everyone was using them,as after that water was boiling every time we took showers,room was warm and we could turn heating off and on when needed,loads of lovely soft white towels changed every day.
The hotel was so central to everything,about 10min walk to Time Square same again to Central Park,Broadway,Rockerfella centre etc,
W e got tickets for the red buses (grey line) from a fantastic man called Mark he stand's outside toys-r-us at time square,he helped us so much, explaining best places to get off and what to see,the tickets we got lasted us for 3 days and included the night ride + many more tours.cost us for 3 adults $170 which was worth the money
Roosevelt Hotel is brilliant if ever we get the chance to visit again we will stay here

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor not a good outlook,mainly onto central station but as we were hardly in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normansgirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,442 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,340 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#323 of 467 in New York City
8,691 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
6,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing