We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roosevelt Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (9,826)
Filter reviews
9,826 results
Traveller rating
1,812
3,414
2,350
1,295
955
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,812
3,414
2,350
1,295
955
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand central stationcozy queennew yorktimes squaremadison avenuelobby barrockefeller centerhotel is in a great locationempire statefew blocksnycmidtownsubwaystarbucksbroadwayjfk
Filter
Updating list...
4,483 - 4,488 of 9,826 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Bad: The bathroom lacked a flat surface on which to place a toiletry kit, etc., other than a four-inch wide glass shelf over the toilet which was occupied by a large, metal, TJ Maxx-style tisue dispenser. The temperature control on the shower/tub wasn't working right.

Pillows seemed made of some Soviet-era synthetic fabric specially designed for discomfort.

There's no booklet of hotel services. One has to look up stuff like the room service menu via a guide channel on the TV, which is time-consuming due to the bad interface. Plus, booklets just--flip open. They're cool that way.

This could be a plus or a minus depending on your inner thermostat: but the room was very warm. It was 30 degrees outside, so in theory this was good, but even my perpetually-cold sweetie got too hot. We compensated by running the air, so no biggie.

The Good: Location-- Across the street from Grand Central Station. There's an excellent eatery, Blake and Todd, across 45th. About a block from the fabulous Gregory's Coffee. Many drug stores nearby, and a Barnes and Noble.

Amenities--We got a Deluxe room for two adults and two kids, and it was immense--not just by NYC standards but compared to most hotel rooms you'll encounter. Our room had a walk-in closet that by itself was probably as big as many NYC hotel rooms, tho the closet was musty-smelling. There was a fridge, even though one wasn't mentioned in the room description, and an easy-to-use safe. There were plenty of outlets in the room, but not all were strategically located.

Setting-- The hotel is beautiful, a carefully-restored period piece but definitely up-to-date in its features.

Staff -- Those I had substantive interactions with, such as housekeeping, concierges, doormen, and bellhops, were friendly and efficient.

Summary: Nothing's cheap in NYC, but this was a reasonable option for a budget-conscious family, and the location is hard to beat. The proximity of Grand Central means you can get anywhere in the city relatively rapidly, and Grand Central's food court offers a lot for kids.

The hotel's very close to Times Square and the NYPL, and it's a 10-15 minute walk to Broadway theaters, MoMA, and Rockefeller Center. On the subway you can get to places like Central Park, the Museum of Natural History, and the Met in 20-30 minutes total. I'm going to recommend the Roosevelt to anyone I know who needs a place to stay in Midtown.

Room Tip: Ask for the Deluxe. It's not that much more and the space is worth it if you're traveling with a family.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalibhakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your comments ans review. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay was made even more memorable by our central location, friendly staff, and your large room. However, our apologies for any issues you did encounter. Your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

For 4* hotel and the price, the rooms are very dated. We had double/double room (two double beds in room) so size OK, but I have seen standard double room and the size was very disappointing. The lobby is grand, but unfortunately that is where it stops. Rooms had paper cups instead of glass and forget about a kettle or coffee machine which many top star hotels have these days. Our wine glasses (which we brought up from the bar) stayed in our room unwashed for 3 days.The heating mechanism reminded me of smth my grandma used to have back when I was a child….This piece of machinery doesn’t have a place in a hotel….It didn’t give me any confidence it was safe to use. Sockets were loose and/or falling of the wall, health hazard all over… The staff was rude and/ or unwelcoming…seem to me they expected tips only for showing at work that day. The only good thing about this hotel was the location…that can’t be beaten! Will I stay again? No. Will try my luck and spend my hard earned money somewhere else

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. You are correct, we are NOT a 4star hotel. We are actually a 3star/diamond AAA rated property. Most reservation sites have their own criteria for star ratings which is usually based on client feedback instead of the actual amenities/services provided. Yes, most guest rooms in NYC are on the cozy side especially when compared to other major cities. Again our apologies and thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a really lovely time, the hotel staff were friendly and checking in was quick. We got free internet for our 6 day stay when we downloaded the roosevelt app. We were on the 11th floor, the room was big and decorated to a good standard. No problems at all during our stay of waiting for the lift. The safe needed new batteries, but were replaced as soon as we asked. Also the hair dryer broke, again was replaced as soon as asked. We did not eat at the hotel as was expensive but plenty as near by places. I feel we had a different experience to many of the reviews. The bathroom was a bit dated, but was fine and the room of a normal standard and nice decor. I would stay again. The room was hot, so had the window open all the time even though -15 outside, but was nice to have air in room. Overall a great time was had.

Room Tip: Had a upper floor room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186478Holls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so pleased to hear that your NYC experienced was made even more memorable by our central location and friendly staff. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel on arrival looked nice in the foyer, however, first impression was that it should be closed and refurbished extensively. On arrival we were allocated a room on the 6th floor which was supposed to be an upgrade - central heating didn't work, even though it was -10 degrees outside, shower water in bath didn't drain away so you were left standing in dirty water and there were stains on the pillowcases. Not the 4 star standard expected. I have been to New York 8 times and have tried different hotels and this one has to be the worst, the other one being The Belvedere which was no better.

On complaining to reception, and I might add that the staff were the most miserable and unfriendly I have come across, we were moved to a 4th floor room. The noise from outside was atrocious with constant banging, the walls were thin so we could hear a couple fighting at 2.30 a.m. and the TV didn't work even though we complained constantly. The housekeeping stated that all the rooms from the 6th floor down had not been fixed and I heard several guests complaining about the TV when I was stood at reception. This impacted on the staff because they acted as though they were sick to the back teeth of complaints. We had to have the TV re-booted twice a day which is not something you expect in New York. Overall a disappointing stay - Roosevelt get the hotel renovated fast!!!

Room Tip: Ask reception staff to make sure central heating, TV and shower all work in your room and ask for a high floor as the noise on the lower floors are horrendous!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsetter27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations. ALL of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Rooms are ok but not really renovated...bathroom terrible not clean very small no places to leave anything around bathtub sink, toilet not inviting at all. Needs a lot of renovations. But location is very good. Staff not friendly. Parking 55$ a day too much. Buffet breakfast very good but staff not pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies for any issues you experienced regarding staff friendliness. Your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews