We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome retreat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #381 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcome retreat.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just back from our first ever visit to NEW YORK, we stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel as recommended by out travel agent. I was worried by reviews on this page, but I needn't have been. It's old world charm is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the busiest city on earth. The lobby & mezzanine are amazingly stylish. Ours was a queen size room with a huge comfortable bed and comfy pillows too, we slept well!! the room décor was cosy and comfortable with easy to work air condition. Bathroom was functional, like most city hotels. The room was serviced every day while we were out exploring. The staff we had direct contact with were welcoming friendly and helpful, Irena checked us in, Michael at the concierge desk helped us find our feet to explore the city. The housekeeping staff greeted us in the hallways as we passed by. We didn't eat at the hotel, as it was quite expensive as were drinks at the bar. The bar staff need to learn how to serve Guinness!! it looked like a milkshake when it was served to us by a grumpy barman. Our favourite bar for food and drinks was 'Annie Moore's' just down form Grand Central station and 5 mins from the Hotel. I would be happy to stay at the Roosevelt Hotel again it's a great location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deisegal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very happy to hear that your overall stay was great. Our apologies regarding the "Guinness milkshake". Your concerns have been addressed. Again thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    3,104
    2,045
    1,080
    757
See reviews for
2,397
2,548
337
1,135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I went to our friends on FaceBook for suggestions for where to stay in NYC. This suggestion was great! Close enough to the action at Times Square and the theater district to walk comfortably, yet a little removed from the fray. We ended up with a King Suite that came in handy when we found out that several sets of friends were also in the City for the weekend. The staff can be formal, but if you are friendly to them, they will let down their walls. Beautiful lobby, comfortable room, great bed, deep bathtub. I'd love to stay here again. The breakfast was pricey, but convenient. It would have served us better to explore and find a less expensive alternative.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lyricdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear that your most recent visit was great. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I are regular visitors to the Roosevelt, perhaps as a legacy of spending our honeymoon there thirty plus years ago. The stunning "period" lobby is undoubtedly the best in NYC. The location, next to Grand Central Terminal and within the shadow of the Chrysler Building is unbeatable, with easy subway access to all of Manhattan and a short walk to Times Square, 5th Avenue and Central Park. Quiet and safe surroundings with good local bars and food (check out Annie Moore's).
The bedrooms are generally of a good standard with excellent beds, but the bathroom of our recent "superior room" would have disgraced most cheap motels, and why only one bathrobe in a double room? The cleanliness is as good as, or better than, you could expect of an old building. The staff are, typically for New York, hit and miss, with some being pleasant and welcoming whilst others are rude and surly. Excellent, if pricey, hot and cold buffet breakfast. Possibly the most annoying aspect is that they continue to charge for Internet access, which is now complimentary in most hotels. If you use the internet daily it will add considerably to your bill.
Oh, and the much lauded rooftop bar is only open during the summer
Very faded, but still a Grand Dame of New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a decent bathroom and either a Madison Avenue or Grand Central Terminal/Chrysler Building vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and review and most importantly, your continued support. Our apologies for any issues you did encounter during your most recent stay. thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had 3 rooms March 27-30.First the good...rooms were nice and clean. Good price. Quiet even though there were several large groups in the hotel. Never had to wait on elevator. Very safe area and VERY close to Grand Central Station. Street loud on Friday morning BUT we were in NYC. Rest of time was quiet.
NOW to the bad: I was traveling with 8 teens and another mom. I specifically asked that ALL rooms be put on same floor and we were put on 3 different floors. 2 of our rooms were ready at 4:00pm check-in and 3rd room was ready when we returned from our Broadway play at 11PM. Ms Wong who originally checked us in was NOT very nice & did NOT check us in to the 3rd room. Thank goodness for Wendy at front desk taking care of this and upgrading us to a suite. Unfortunately, I was lucky enough to get Ms Wong for check out also and again NOT NICE. I was formally employed by Marriott Hotels and I do understand how front desk and housekeeping MUST work together.
Just a note....we may be Southern BUT we are NOT stupid and front desk should NOT act as though they are doing us a favor by checking us into the hotel
All in all.....I will stay there again with my groups.

Room Tip: Opt for a Junior Suite. Love all the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1cat2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your overall stay was good and that you will return. However, our deepest apologies for any issues you experienced during check-in and check-out. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I bid for a room on Priceline ($125/night, 4 star, midtown east) and got the Roosevelt. Lucked out! Nice, clean room (they call it "cozy") with a queen bed, chair, dresser, 2 end tables and a flat screen TV. Even though I was opposite the elevator it was very quiet and I wasn't disturbed at all over night. My room faced Madison Avenue and I hardly heard any outside noises.

I was in NYC for a conference and had to be out very early (5:30am) on the first day - beware, at 4:30am it takes a very long time for the shower to run hot; the next two days it came up nice and hot at 5:30am. I didn't take advantage of any of the hotel amenities, choosing instead to grab a bite at a local place

I took off 1 star because a) the bathroom had a little bit of grout missing, and there was no rubber bath mat in the tub; b) there's no coffee in the room; and c) the daily charge for wifi is outrageous, so I didn't use it. Otherwise, it was a wonderful accommodation - especially at the price I bid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pacenci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear that our central location, great rates, and friendly staff made your NYC stay more memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in a cozy double . Ok size room and everything worked as expected. Hotel was in a great location with grand central station and times square a few minutes walk away. Reception always looked incredibly busy. We were checked in quickly but at times I saw upwards of a dozen people waiting. It worked . Big place, didnt eat or drink there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your overall stay was great and you are correct, our hotel lobby is busy year round as guests take advantage of our affordable rates and central location. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

just come back from this hotel after 5 nights with my wife,id read the reviews so was a bit concerned i booked the wrong hotel.the whole hotel seems to be getting a make over so there is scaffolding all around but no work been done while i was there which was good.upon arrival you are greeted in the lobby with immaculate art work which dazzels the eye,its spotless clean with a lovly bar and grill which was good for breakfast,coffe,drinks and dinner,lovly new rooftop bar amazing view of the city.when we got to our room we wre really happy with our room yes the hotel is old but the room was modern ,comfy bed,big flat screen tv on the wall and a bit of room to actuall move around which is good for a nyc hotel,towels and beds changed everyday.the only bad thing was the the rude reception lady when checking in,all in all we had a fantastic stay here and our room was on the 5th floor,would reccommend this hotel even after some bad reviews.

Room Tip: just ask for refurbished room,and room not facing office block can be noisey with bin collections
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. we are very pleased to hear that your overall stay was great. Our most sincere apologies regarding any rudeness from our staff. Rest assure this will be immediately addressed. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#345 of 468 in New York City
17,519 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,460 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,123 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing