We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #381 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good hotel great location. On arrival was a little disappointed with scaffold around the building but I suppose work has to be done sometime. The main lobby is fantastic old and grand. We where greeted by friendly reception staff and told we had been upgraded to a king from queen we whee pleased with this but it was short lived the room we where put in would depress anyone there was a hole in the ceiling the curtain was hanging off wallpaper was peeling off,we looked at our view it was the fire escape area I think which made the room even darker and in appealing safe to say not happy as we booked 10 months earlier. We told the reception staff about the room ( upgrade) and asked to be moved the girl was very friendly and got us another room. The room we where given was on the top floor and was great could not fault this room huge bed clean and great size even a bit of a view. The hotel is located well Madison av so getting about to the tourist sights was easy. The roof top bar is a must just for the view.

Room Tip: Don't get the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. we are please to hear that your overall stay was great and that our friendly staff and central location made your NYC experience even more memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    3,106
    2,047
    1,080
    757
See reviews for
2,399
2,549
337
1,135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The location was great, adjacent to Grand Central Station and the lobby is stunning, however, the lifts were so slow ( felt like the originals from the 1930s). The room was ok if bathroom dated, but I was shocked to be charged 15$ per 24 hours,per item, for a slow wifi connection. In this day and age, most hotels include free wifi. Not this hotel. Something to consider when booking.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susieq8860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. ALL of your concerns will be immediately addressed. Regarding wifi fees, we frequently shop the other mid-town hotels to ensure our pricing remains competitive. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Burlington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had a a room that was very out dated and overpriced compared to the clean quality you can get nearby. We reported roaches to the front desk in person and they were very indifferent to it. This is the exact quote the clerk gave me, "We have them here all of the time, we are above the train station." When I told him I could not believe what he just said he said he should have said some of the time. Regardless, not good. Not to mention one of our kids was quite upset....they other one likes bugs so he was okay.
We met some neighbours that were leaving and they told us they had them in their room too. I just hope nothing traveled home with us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ABC360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We do take cockroach and/or any pest sightings seriously and appreciate you informing our staff. We have spoken to our staff regarding the seriousness of this matter. Our deepest apologies regarding our staff's response. We immediately have had our pest company on property in response to your comments. Again our apologies for not meeting your expectations and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good things: Location, and is very old but you will sleep well and the rooms are clean.


Bad things: Front desk staff are very rude, I never had this experience before in other hotel. Only for this and despite the location I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was pleasant and comfortable. However, our apologies for any issues you experienced regarding rude staff. Rest assure this will be immediately addressed. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
319 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I am so angry over my stay, and it is partially my fault. I booked it through a special site where you don't know the hotel, just the star rating, and then learn the hotel. If I had known before I hit the buy feature, I would have cancelled. I have stayed at this hotel before, and as a matter of fact, reviewed it here as horrible, which strangely seems to have disappeared.

This hotel, at best, at least in the unrenovated rooms, is a 1 star hotel, 2 stars at best. I am a photographer and travel often, with a lot of equipment. An impossibility with this hotel. To get to the lobby you have to walk up two very long flights of stairs and there is no one on hand to help. By the time I got done lifting my luggage up I had pulled a muscle in my shoulder.

The room was falling apart. I have photos. The hallways while wide are outdated, as is the decor. Imagine my complete disappointment from having gone the night before from a true 4 (maybe 3) star hotel if the Grand Hyatt, thinking I was booking another 4 star, with a 4 star price point, to this shambles of a disgrace of a once beautiful hotel. Never again. Next time I will take the financial loss and just rebook somewhere else.

Room Tip: get a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. You are correct, we are not a 4 Star hotel. We are actually a 3 diamond AAA rated property. Most reservation web-sites have their own criteria for star ratings which is not usually based on the hotels amenities or services. If you are looking for new, sleek and modern then we are not the property for you. Guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially when compared to other major cities. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns will be addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have absolutely no idea what the hype is over The Roosevelt Hotel. When I arrived, there was not a valet outside. I drove around the block and called to request that the valet be waiting by the time I came back around, and he still did not come out. Finally I just left my car outside and went to the front desk to check in. When I got to my room, it was not the room I'd requested (there were two queen beds rather than the one king). By the time I'd changed and come back down, the valet STILL had not seen to my car (45 minutes later?). The bathroom was cramped (as I get that most will be in the city). I love older architecture and always appreciate the history of older buildings, but at some point things need to be renovated which can certainly be done while still keeping with the style. The bathroom was so old that it was just gross (tiles, grout, etc. all need to be replaced).

Aside from the rooms, the hotel lobby is beautiful, however that was unfortunately the only good thing I have to say about my stay.

If you're looking to stay in an upscale older hotel, stay at the Waldorf. If you're looking for clean and nice - I had actually stayed at a Holiday Inn in the city a couple of weeks prior (which, coincidentally, I'd even paid more for) and was much more satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies we did not meet your expectations during your last visit. . You are correct. If one desires a hotel that is sleek, modern, and hip which attracts a younger crowd, then we are not for you. However, if one is looking for an affordable rate, comfy room, and great location, then we are your hotel. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Terrible service, smelly corridors & lobby. Asked for service 4 times over 2 days to get some toothpaste I forgot to being. Shower knob almost falling out of wall.

Very slow wifi access, even though used the "premium" option (highest of 3 options).

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,536 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,464 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,128 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing