We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly faded grandeur but worth it for rooftop bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #393 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A grand old hotel , centrally located in midtown Manhattan , just around the corner from Central Station.
Lobby very elegant , with a nice bar.
Friendly, helpful staff, contrary to some reviews.
Decent sizedBathroom a bit dated and bathtub with overhead shower needs re-enamelling. All clean though and decent amount of reasonable quality towels , toiletries and toilet paper. Hairdrier. Line to hang washing on. Small shelf to put toilet bags,etc.,on.
Was on a room only deal and didn't eat in hotel so can't comment on food.
Highlight - Excellent but expensive rooftop terrace bar.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, MAD46 our roof top bar has some amazing views and a perfect spot to grab a cocktail before the theater or after a long day of site-seeing and shopping. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,068 - 4,074 of 9,500 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wow, was I impressed by this hotel stay. The Roosevelt Hotel is just blocks from Grand Central Terminal in Midtown New York, and is finally a hotel worthy of a normal business traveler. No fancy art everywhere(mostly in the way), no sprawling fountains, no pointless eating areas that are Spacious and non-functional, just plain and simple old fashioned up-scale hotel. I have stayed at several more modern, and big brand names. hotels in midtown before all were big on looks, low on room comfort and functionality. This had both. It shows its 80 plus years of history but that is also some of its appeal.

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the lobby was functional and right off the street. All this appealed to me; no fancy in the way art work and fountains as is found in several other hotels, just walk in check in and go. It has a nice eating are off the lobby serving a continental breakfast. They also have a pay to eat breakfast restaurant at the other end of the lobby.

Now it wasn't without its issues...The cleaning staff isn't as thorough as they could've been. They forgot to resupply towels, clear out used cups, and replenish the ice bucket liner. Also I didn't have an staff interactions other than check in & out, but the staff was....blunt. The b-fast staff was non-english speaking...But find a hotel anymore where you don't find some of that. I did not encounter any bug issues, but it is a very old hotel. I was happy with it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are very happy to hear that your overall stay was great. Our apologies for any issues you experienced regarding room cleanliness. Rest assure your concerns will be immediately addressed. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in October 2013. The staff was very nice, and check in was easy. Our room was clean. The hotel has valet parking but their are plenty of garages to park in as well. It about a 10 minute walk to Times Square. We ordered room service for dinner and the prices were reasonable and the food was quite good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sta129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay and that you will be returning. Again thanks for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel as you enter the lobby, and in a great location. So how disappointing to find surly, unhelpful staff immediately on arrival. Although the doorman brought my bag up the steps, he then dumped in the middle of the check-in area. Front desk staff are incredibly rude, no welcome at all and totally unhelpful when my room wasn't ready. She wouldn't give me a wifi code or indicated where I could perhaps sit and help with bags etc. Just wasn't at all interested. She knew I had flown in from the UK and there was no recognition of that and that perhaps I might need a bathroom to freshen up and certainly wifi. Equally bad, surly and indifferent service from the porters. It just seems the staff are trained to do their job in a technical sense and have absolutely no training (although politeness shold not have to be trained), in communication skills and customer service. Very sad state of affairs for such a prominent and potentially beautiful hotel. Rooms were ok but whatever else the hotel provided, the staff are what I will remember and talk about.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saffyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. ALL of your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good hotel great location. On arrival was a little disappointed with scaffold around the building but I suppose work has to be done sometime. The main lobby is fantastic old and grand. We where greeted by friendly reception staff and told we had been upgraded to a king from queen we whee pleased with this but it was short lived the room we where put in would depress anyone there was a hole in the ceiling the curtain was hanging off wallpaper was peeling off,we looked at our view it was the fire escape area I think which made the room even darker and in appealing safe to say not happy as we booked 10 months earlier. We told the reception staff about the room ( upgrade) and asked to be moved the girl was very friendly and got us another room. The room we where given was on the top floor and was great could not fault this room huge bed clean and great size even a bit of a view. The hotel is located well Madison av so getting about to the tourist sights was easy. The roof top bar is a must just for the view.

Room Tip: Don't get the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. we are please to hear that your overall stay was great and that our friendly staff and central location made your NYC experience even more memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location was great, adjacent to Grand Central Station and the lobby is stunning, however, the lifts were so slow ( felt like the originals from the 1930s). The room was ok if bathroom dated, but I was shocked to be charged 15$ per 24 hours,per item, for a slow wifi connection. In this day and age, most hotels include free wifi. Not this hotel. Something to consider when booking.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Susieq8860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. ALL of your concerns will be immediately addressed. Regarding wifi fees, we frequently shop the other mid-town hotels to ensure our pricing remains competitive. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a a room that was very out dated and overpriced compared to the clean quality you can get nearby. We reported roaches to the front desk in person and they were very indifferent to it. This is the exact quote the clerk gave me, "We have them here all of the time, we are above the train station." When I told him I could not believe what he just said he said he should have said some of the time. Regardless, not good. Not to mention one of our kids was quite upset....they other one likes bugs so he was okay.
We met some neighbours that were leaving and they told us they had them in their room too. I just hope nothing traveled home with us.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank ABC360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We do take cockroach and/or any pest sightings seriously and appreciate you informing our staff. We have spoken to our staff regarding the seriousness of this matter. Our deepest apologies regarding our staff's response. We immediately have had our pest company on property in response to your comments. Again our apologies for not meeting your expectations and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,956 reviews
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#245 of 471 in New York City
842 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 471 in New York City
4,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,262 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#276 of 471 in New York City
8,295 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#223 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing