We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Old Classic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #371 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“An Old Classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A very impressive lobby, and public rooms. Reception staff were friendly, and check-in was quick and easy. The room looked amazing, and although rather small, was adequate. Closet was very small for 3 people, but did contain an iron, and ironing board. Bathroom truly let the place down, and was in the need of a serious update. One day we returned to the room to find housekeeping locked inside, and talking on the phone!!! She unlocked the door and left!! All rather strange. Again, A few days later, we returned after a full day of sightseeing to find the door was left ajar!! Just silly careless things that could have been avoided. In short, it is a great place to stay, and I would stay again. A visit to the Mad46 bar on the 19th floor is a must. This offers great views of Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very happy to hear that your overall stay was great. However, our apologies for the carelessness of the housekeeper. Rest assure that your concerns will be addressed immediately with our Executive Housekeeper. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    3,015
    1,956
    1,028
    700
See reviews for
2,305
2,447
318
1,072
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel lobby and public rooms are in great shape. Real classy. Our room was large, comfortable, and well maintained. Good location. Had a few minor problems in the room but were rectified quickly. We plan to stay there next year..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanerny2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so very pleased to hear that your overall stay was great. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We travelled to New York from the uk for st patricks day in March ....I had read some bad reviews about this hotel after we booked and was a little bit worried about the stay, I really shouldn't have worried. The hotel is beautiful and I loved it from the minute I arrived in the beautiful lobby. Our room was small but there was still plenty of room for two of us and it was immaculately clean and comfortable. The bed was to die for and I had the best nights sleep I've ever had in any hotel it was so comfy ...We did have breakfast in the hotel which was very nice but a little bit expensive. We got free wifi after downloading the roosevelt app and showing it to reception on checking out ....the staff were always polite and friendly even though the hotel was busy for st patricks day. the location is perfect for sight seeing. whenever we go to New York now I will stay at the roosevelt I love it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzan119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, the Roosevelt is a central watering hole during the festivities of St. Patrick's Day parade. We are so pleased to hear that your NYC experience was made even more memorable by our central location, friendly staff, and comfy beds. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stay at A LOT of hotels, and I've stayed at several hotels in NYC. 99% of my experiences have been positive, but, like other reviewers, my experience with the customer service at the Roosevelt Hotel was terrible. I left the hotel early morning, and when I returned that evening to pick up my luggage, I could not believe how rude and unaccommodating their night manager was. He treated me very poorly. I do want to give a shout-out to their excellent bell staff--they are wonderful--very kind and helpful. Unfortunately, given my experience with their management, however, I can't give this hotel more than one star. Reading the other reviews, I'm not the only one to have had a bad experience with Roosevelt Hotel customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jskad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced especially in reference to any of our management staff. Rest assure this will be immediately addressed by our Rooms Director. Again our deepest apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location for 5th Ave shopping, Time Square, Grand Central Station and most other Mid-Town attractions. Check-in was quick and straight forward and the people on the information desks were knowledgeable and helpful.
Although the room (for 4) was quite small, it room was immaculately clean

We'd be happy to return here on a future trip to NY or to recommend it to friends

Room Tip: Go high up for quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. we are very pleased to hear that your NYC experience was great. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Her experience started with the doorman throwing her suitcase on the lobby floor. Wen she tried to stand it upright, he physically pushed her away and told her he would take care of it.
After she checked in, the hotel couldn't find her bag. When the bellman finally returned the bag to her, he blamed her for leaving the bag in the lobby, and told her that if she stayed at hotels before she would know better.
As she tried to get into her room her key would not work. When she called f someone to let her in; the person told her she didn't know how to work the electronic key. After she told him to try, he couldn't open the door either and finally forced it open. He then left.
When she checked the bathroom, she saw that the bathtub/shower was unpainted and the wall unfinished. When she complained, she was told there was no other rooms available. (This appears to be a common response by the hotel management to problems, as I have seen in other reviews.
My wife went to dinner, and when she returned, she demanded the door be fixed. The second person also told her she didn't know how to operate the door properly, and when he couldn't open it either,told her that's he would have to wait until the next day to get it fixed.
At this point my wife told the hotel manager, that this was unacceptable and she was checking out (without paying the $1,000.00 they charged her for two nights.
The response? Surprise! They found her another room next door.
My wife has traveled world-wide, including New York and this is absolutely the worst hotel experience she has ever had. It's obvious the ROOSEVELT HOTEL IN NEW YORK CARES NOTHING FOR ITS GUESTS OR ITS REPUTATION. BUYER BEWARE.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adufferman1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. All of your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate staff. Again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is the tops. It is well situated in New York close to most of the best attractions. We went to the top of the Empire State Building, visited Central park and 'Strawberry fields', called in at the massive Apple shop. We did everything on foot but you do need to be fit. Our bedroom on the 10th. floor was comfortable and warm and the bed let us have a good nights sleep. The Breakfast was excellent, the staff very helpful and friendly and we have no complaints. (just achy feet!)

Room Tip: Go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RATCO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, we are perfectly located for nearby shopping and sight seeing. we are happy to hear that your had a great NYC experience. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,814 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,114 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,978 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotelopia and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing