We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good manhaattan hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #395 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 June 2014

very nice older hotel, on Madison ave and 47th street.
nice older rooms, great location
only downer was $17 charge for internet connection
have stayed four times always good
compares with Edison Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so pleased to hear that you had another great stay at the Roosevelt. Regarding wifi fees, we frequently shop other mid-town hotels to ensure our prices are competitive. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and your continued business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,673 - 3,679 of 9,122 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Roosevelt back in Feb 2012, the entrance hall was amazing and was very grand.
Good service and was an overall Lovely hotel

Our room was a bit dated but they were undergoing renovation works at the time

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are very happy to hear that your NYC experience was great. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel sponsored an event for the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon at 3pm and used the valet parking. Very good price for 48 hours.

The lobby is beautiful and majestic. Although the line to check in was long, it moved very quickly. The staff answered all of our questions and requests. We requested to upgrade from a Superior Double to a Deluxe Double. So glad we did!! The room had enough floor space to accommodate a rolling mattress twin bed (it was not just a cot). The closet was huge! It was equipped with iron and board, and a safe. The bathroom was small, but adequate and clean, equipped with hair dryer. The whole room was clean and beds were comfortable. No problems with water pressure or temperature as others have written in previous reviews. We requested extra towels and they were brought to us right away. No problem with room cards. Just remember that odd numbered rooms are on one side and evens on the other.

The elevators are small (can fit 10 people without luggage or 6 with), but there are 6 elevators. We didn't usually have to wait too long, except on our last day on our way down with all our luggage. Our room was on 12th floor. Expected street noise. Ice machine and vending machine on same floor. Room has ice bucket and plastic-wrapped paper cups (better than glass).

Location is prime! Walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Grand Central, Times Square. We recommend Blake and Todd on corner across the street for bagels, salad, quiche, sandwiches! We cannot comment on the restaurants in the hotel because we did not eat at the restaurants in the hotel only because we were always out, wanted something quick, or planned to eat at restaurants located elsewhere.

Only one improvement I can think of: The air conditioning system did not adequately cool the room. Maybe because this room was bigger and because the unit was older, it was not as efficient and was loud.

We checked out early @9AM, but the hotel held our bags until we returned @2PM, so we could enjoy brunch, walk through Central Park, and visit an art exhibit at Parsons. The concierge was quick, tagged our luggage, stored it, then when we returned, retrieved it quickly. We gave the valet parking attendant our ticket and our van was brought to us within 15 mins.

If we return to New York City-Manhattan, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you need two double beds but want a room with more space, book the Deluxe Double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citylife4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so pleased to have hosted your conference. Yes our central location can not be beat. Its perfect for shopping, sight-seeing, and just about anything you want to do in Manhattan. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Charm replaced by the need for your dollar. Everything comes at a price and given the amount we paid -- around £300 a night -- it was not great value. But the setting makes up for several disappointments.

Room Tip: Try and get free wifi and coffee making facilities. We didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that NYC prices caught you off guard. However, at least our central location seem to be a bright spot during your most recent stay. Again our apologies and thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We won this hotel on Priceline bidding. We usually like to have twin beds in the room, but were asked at the desk who the twins were for. They only awarded my mother and her female travel companion the twin and my partner and I had a queen/double. So I assume that is how the Priceline bedded rooms are awarded. One bed.

The location is fabulous. We could walk most places and Grand Central Station just nearby. Lots of great food places along there also for breakfast. Our stay was several years ago, ( the drop down menu did not have past last year available) so I don´t remember the names of places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincasanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. we are happy to hear that you won a stay with us and that your stay was great. Thanks again for y9our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next NYC trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Roosevelt when we came to the national ceremony for the Scholastic Awards for Young Artists and Writers. The hotel sponsored a get together for the high school national medal winners the night before the ceremony. The hotel gave all visiting award members a nice discount. I had read some of the less than positive reviews, but wanted to stay in this hotel as it has a wonderful history and I love older hotels. The lobby is stunning and I felt as if I were immediately back in the original time period. We did not have to wait for check in even though we arrived before 3. Doris was professional and welcoming at the front desk. We had a superior double room in the 12th floor. While it was small, we did not spend much time in the room. Sure, the bath room is small and dated, but it was clean as was the room and we made out just fine. We had no problem with the water pressure either. The beds are comfortable, but the pillows could stand to be replaced. The hall was quiet-no problems. We did not have to wait long for the elevators, but they are small. Some guests who could not fit on the elevators were complaining about the wait, but again, maybe we were just lucky.

Housekeeping had our rooms made up before 10:30 each day and the staff is friendly and helpful. This also goes for the bellmen and doormen as well. There is an instant drop box for checking out and my bill was exactly as quoted. When we left on a Saturday, we got back to Penn Station easily by cab as there were no traffic or red lights-on this day the ride was 6:50.

I should mention that we actually walked from Penn Station to the hotel when we arrived as the weather was beautiful and in the 70s. It took us a little under a half an hour. Likewise, we walked to the awards assembly at Cargenie Hall. 17 blocks sounds like a lot, but again, this was under a half an hour. We walked by NBC and Radio City Music Hall. We even walked to Central Park. Also, we purchased a Metro Pass across the street at Grand Central Terminal. The bus route is not hard to figue out and we rode the bus to the American Museum of Natural History. We thought we only had two rides, but a kind New Yorker showed us how to check out the balance out on the card machine. Each of us rode for 4.50 and that included three rides. She explained that transfers were free during a two hour period. We purchased the card in the morning and our last use of it was in the late afternoon.

The food in the hotel is a bit pricey. There are two nice breakfast-lunch cafes on the corners down from the hotel.

One final suggestion, we have always gone to the hotel site directly to make reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twix14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Yes we remember your great group of kids and are happy to hear that your accommodations and event was perfect. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was a grand hotel in its day, but those days are long gone.

Let's lead with the positives. The location is terrific, in midtown and within walking distance of theaters, museums and great shopping. The lobby, with its majestic ceilings, is impressive.

Check-in was difficult. We arrived at 1 pm, a little early. After a fifteen minute wait at the front desk, a rather brusque front desk employee checked us in but could not give us keys or a room number. We checked our bags, and when we returned about 4 pm, we had to wait in line another 25 minutes to get our room assignment and keys. They were well understaffed.

The elevators are small, and very slow at busy times.

The room was clean, but it was very cramped and spare. The closet was tiny. The bathroom was no larger than six feet square --- just enough room for the fixtures. The enamel on the bottom of the tub was peeling away. The room's windows were so dirty is was hard to see outside.

High speed internet is included in the room rate at many hotels these days, but not here. $15 per device seemed very steep.

The worst was yet to come. The hotel is renovating, and some of the work is being done in the early morning hours. We were treated to the loud noise of construction from about 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. This may have been the worst night's sleep I've ever had at a hotel.

All in all, the facilities do not meet modern standards. We stayed there because it was the conference hotel, but would never stay again. There are too many other good hotels in the same price range in Manhattan to torment oneself this way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ready2go410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Your concerns will be addressed with the responsible department managers. Regarding renovation work, we do not have any renovation work in the hotel after 6pm. However, the office building across the street, loading dock was under renovation.Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,704 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
19,581 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#399 of 469 in New York City
4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,868 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 469 in New York City
7,796 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#123 of 469 in New York City
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £95 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Splitty, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing