We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #375 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unpleasant surprise”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Unpleasant surprise

Sometimes you get what you pay for this trip was not one of those times. My wife and I are school teachers in Maryland and decided to go to NY as tourist for the first time we are from NY originally. I booked a Superior King room for me and my wife. Misleading name this is the hotels standard room with a king bed. Room was tiny… the bathroom door hit the toilet as it opened and closed no photo. The second room was normal sized but not clean fire sprinkler covered in heavy dust, table was beat to hell and the chair had what looked like blood stains. On our way down to the front desk I explained the problems to a bell hop and he got my room switched to a sweet for no extra charge. Now this room here was very nice. Don’t get awe struck with the sweet lobby and settle for a sub par room they have some good ones. Poor because I had too much aggravation in order to get a good room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,544
    3,042
    1,989
    1,045
    713
See reviews for
2,336
2,482
324
1,087
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May 2014

We had done masses of research trying to find the best location and decent reviews for our budget. Though we were concerned with the mixed bag reviews on trip advisor we went ahead and booked the Roosevelt .

We arrived by bus from JFK , which dropped us next to grand central station. The Roosevelt was around 2 minutes walk from grand central station. Though it looks little run down from the outside all the building looked in a similar state. We went to check in and the staff at reception were efficient and helpful . The lobby is grand and very well laid out.

We personally were only looking for a base , to sleep and leave our bags. We realised that any room in New York would be expensive and if you expect a huge room you will be paying a large amount or staying further from the "action". The room had a huge bed , TV and a standard bathroom. It was clean and tidy , and exactly what we expected. Not lots of space but who is staying in their room when you have a whole city to explore!

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel and instead picked something up from near by Starbucks, so can't comment on food there.

There is a room top bar which was lovely , and you get a good view from there of all the surrounding buildings, it's pricey but worth it just to get the New York feel of roof top drinking!

The location is perfect, with everything within walking distance . I especially loved the close locality to Times Square, and the many restaurants.

We would stay here again ,though it is worth booking In advance so you get a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NHardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After reading a mixed bag of reviews about this hotel, I was very doubious about what to expect. I travelled the middle of may for a week.

On arrival, I was impressed with the lobby that I had heard a great deal about via trip advisor. It was pleasing on the eye, a nice area to have a sit if you pleased or grab a drink at the bar. The reception staff were very friendly and polite. I had no trouble with the attitude of staff during my stay. I work in a hotel myself and understand what it is like to work in hospitality.

I agree with most when they say the lobby is very extravagant but when proceeding onto the rooms and corridors they aren't as extravagant. However, the hotel is keeping with tradition it does what it says on the tin so to speak. It s a classic hotel, may be in need of some renovation but it is a prime location for shopping, sightseeing and exploring. So you can't really fault it for that.

I found the room clean, spacious enough and ideal for what I wanted. Which was somewhere to use as a base for my trip. I wasn't looking to spent a lot of time in my room so for me I wasn't over concerned with the space in the room. I would say if you are looking for a hotel where you can unwind in your room at night, watch tv and relax then it is not the best hotel for that purpose. If like me you just wanted it as a bas for exploring then it is ideal.

The concierge Michael was fantastic. He was such a great part of my trip. He was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much for him and he always asked how the show had been that he had recommended the previous day. Of course, in America tipping is expected, however it is greatly appreciated.

Overall, I enjoyed New York, the hotel and experience. I would recommend the hotel for its great location and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff here have a very bad attitude, there is no such thing as customer service. The elderly couple ahead of me were treated rudely by the unlike lady monster in reception. I knew this was going to be interesting. I arrived at 1 am due to the storm in NY the flight was delayed I was not prepared to take her attitude. She did not say "Hi how are you" and neither did I. She gave me the smallest room but that was not the problem. I didn't bother saying thank you and gave her the look which said don't expect a tip. Even the house service staff were rude.

I would not re-visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Tip is do not bother with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we stayed at the hotel from 2nd to 7th july 14 arrived very tired after a long journey to find they had booked us in on the wrong date the guy on reception had a bad attitude and wouldn't accept responsibility and blamed my holiday company they finally sorted it but the room which they said was an up grade was disgusting,very dingy dark room with dirty windows u couldn't see through and generally very tired looking so I went back to see my friend on reception who proceeded to tell me my expectations were too high but I stood my ground and eventually got another up grade the room was brighter but still very tired mould in bathroom a/c not working properly, wall paper coming off,paint peeling, god knows what our first room would have been like as the room we got was two upgrades.overall it was very over priced I will not stay here again and would not recommend, apart from location and lovely lobby we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was arranged for us as part of a visit to USA on the basis it was a fairly safe choice.

Certainly, the location is excellent and the lobby looked grand as we entered. Unfortunately, apart from a fairly reasonable breakfast, we found almost nothing else to commend this hotel, particularly in the price bracket.

Our room was small and needed re-decoration, lifts slow, lobby over-crowded most of the time and so on. No free wi-fi, which I find unusual. However, the most depressing thing about this hotel was the rude service from staff - may be that's just New York style, but I got the impression that most of the staff felt that their jobs were beneath them. There were one or two very nice & helpful members of staff, but very few indeed. I wouldn't bother going back somewhere like this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wf1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What you see in the pictures is what you get. The room was ok, clean and the bed was comfy. The personal was amiable. Short distances to walk to the moma, st patrick, grand central station, rockefeller and times square.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenahuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
16,403 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
10,821 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
9,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
6,788 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#318 of 467 in New York City
8,222 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
5,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing