We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel in Perfect Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Gulfport, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel in Perfect Location!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I took my niece and sister to New York City for my niece's graduation present - their first time! The hotel was perfect! Close to everything - beautiful - comfortable beds - helpful staff - very accommodating - historic! We'll be back and The Roosevelt is where we'll be staying! The only thing we didn't get to do is visit the rooftop restaurant/bar - the next trip for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tande08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    3,146
    2,100
    1,122
    803
See reviews for
2,476
2,601
345
1,169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

An amazing hotel, just loved it, magical - from check in to check out we just felt special. Yes it is a little on the pricey side but it was worth the experience and we would recommend it. So if you want to spend the extra budget on something, this is worth it :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location is amazing for our sightseeing, you could walk anywhere in midtown. The hotel is a beautiful historic hotel. When checked in the room wasn't available, which was expected because we were there early. We didn't expect the slow bell hop service. We also has slow bell service on check out. The lobby bar was pretty nice a little warm, seems like there were no AC in the lobby area. The bartender was great we were there during the world cup and it was packed, he gave us great service. The room was not terrible, but not great it's in need of a remodel. We had the "Deluxe King". The bathroom had old school square tiles eeehh and a pedestal sink with little storage. The worst part of the room was the noisy AC unit, it made a racket all night long. Loved the location would look for a more updated hotel for our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I traveled with our grandson, we spent 4 days. When I booked the room I was told we would have a queen bed, and a rollaway @ 35$ a day. To our suprise we had 2 doubles! Windows kind of dirty so view not that great, but everything else was clean! Air conditioning was out in the main lobby, but the room was nice and cool. Very convenient to Time Square and Rockefeller Center.

Room Tip: Our view from the 10th floor was of a rooftop. Other rooms could have a better view, check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyJoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Roosevelt for four nights in February 2014 for her birthday . We had been initially staying in hotel further downtown but moved when we learned there was building work going on we did not regret it. Yes, the Roosevelt has the air of faded grandeur and the decor is old fashioned, but the location cannot be beaten and the desk staff were helpful and changed our room to a better one with no extra charge. You can walk to Times Square in 10-15 minutes but the hotel area is fairly quiet. You are two minutes from Grand Central Station with a range of restaurants. The concierge recommended a local restaurant called 'Uncle Paul's which was two minutes away and provided fairly priced Italian food. All in all it did what it says in the tin and those who are complaining need to pay far more money to get the more modern hotel they clearly want..........but don't want to pay for ! I believe the Roosevelt offers good value for money in a great location. Top tip.......The receptionist explained that you could get the wifi charge waived at the end of your stay if you downloaded an app from the hotel website. This made myself and my 16year old very happy !

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor are quieter. We had booked a double but asked for a twin on arrival and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This is an old hotel with a huge lobby, wide hallways and generous rooms. There is a lot of dark wood furniture and old paintings. It has history and class. Even though it is old, it is well maintained and clean as a whistle. The beds are comfortable and our rooms were quiet. The bathrooms were not large, but were well equipped. Shopping and a wide variety of dining options are nearby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sweetomnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was just okay. The location was good. The staff wasnt friendly at all and the hotel coffee shop was the worst. The coffee was horrible and the 2 girls working behind the counter were extremely rude. Breakfast was not included, no mini bar and no refrigerator. Room service was until 12 noon only.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,337 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,442 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,691 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing