We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location but loud”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel is very well situated. Nice lobby. Room was tight but its normal for N.Y. Bathroom was also small. Could hear a lot of noise from outside even if on 12th floor. Would not stay here more than one night.

Room Tip: if staying here ask for room highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGAV742826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    3,125
    2,071
    1,107
    784
See reviews for
2,437
2,576
343
1,154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Elegant and grand decoration the moment you enter. Customer services made an error in my room allocation. A good night sleep, the bedroom and ensuite bathroom funishing were in line with 1920s. The communal areas were immaculate. Key historical location. A definite return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Roosevelt during our first trip to NYC. We really enjoyed the hotel - great location close to Times Square. We will likely stay here again on our next trip. Hotel is close to everything and easy to walk to many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a hotel. I had a brief stay in 2011 and I loved it so I decided to return again - this time with the family.

The building is historic and well maintained. Loved the lobby. The suites were fantastic.

Every thing was in a walking distance of 5-10 minutes. The staff was very helpful.

Certainly going there again :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naweed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My son and I stayed for a long weekend recently. Really was skeptical because of some reviews.
We had a great stay. Reserved a double room on the hotels website and they offered to upgrade to a suite a few days before. We were on the 15th floor with two rooms and two bathrooms. The rooms have been renovated but have historic features like a large soaking tub and fireplace.
We had a breakfast package and the food was great. Front desk help was ok with some trying harder than others-this is New York. Elevators that reviewers complained about were ok. The hotel lobby is beautiful with fresh flowers. Very classic NYC and grand.One drawback was the condition of the pull out sofa. The hotel is across from Grand Central but is very quiet on the weekend with not many restaurant choices open nearby although we did feel safe walking around. All in all we were very pleased. Certainly a four star hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Request high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxtersmom46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your had a great stay and really enjoyed the "old world" feel of the Roosevelt. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Tired, dirty, cramped rooms. Rude and unhelpful staff who nevertheless expect a massive tip. Extortionate wifi charges. This was without doubt the worst hotel I have stayed in since my student days. Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nice lobby, centrally located. Across street from Grand Central. Rooms size are what is expected for NYC. However, bathrooms don't have exhaust fans and smell really moldy. Could use a good cleaning with Pine Sol or Mr. Clean. All good except for the bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,206 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,013 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 467 in New York City
9,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,571 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 467 in New York City
7,212 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing