We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #395 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Top location - very central to everything - right in the middle of Manhattan. Close to Grand Central.Spent 3 nights at the hotel. Ordered room without breakfast as there are plenty of nice places to eat nearby. Huge hotel with a large and beautiful lobby. Have not given it the top score because the room was a bit tired, and I do not know all amenities. If I ever need a hotel i NY again I'll be happy to stay there. Top location. Clean!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cecilie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,892 - 3,898 of 9,568 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I recently stayed at The Roosevelt Hotel (Aug 22nd - 24th, 2014) and this was one of the worst hotel experiences of my entire life. The hotel was in a great location in regards to Times Square and other major attractions; however, the upkeep of the room was horrible. I noticed a stain that resembled blood on one of the comforters and went to the hotel manager to inform him around 9pm on Friday evening. He stated that housekeeping would come up immediately to change the sheets and comforter. I left the room around 10:30 pm and returned close to 4am and that same comforter and sheets was on the bed. Also, the bathroom had hair follicles on the side of the wall and the manager stated he would do a walk thru of the room and make sure it's thoroughly cleaned. I left for the day and came back to the same hair follicles on the wall and ended up cleaning it myself. There was also trash left by previous people that was behind the nightstand. I'm not a hard guy to please but this hotel was not what I expected for a hotel with such a great reputation. I know it's New York and rooms aren't that large so the least you could do is make sure the rooms are thoroughly cleaned. It seemed as if the only thing housekeeping did before my arrival was make the bed. I visit New York quite often and I will probably never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The lobby of this old hotel impresses. It's been kept up and well maintained to suggest an appearance of quality. But the photos will mislead you as the rooms are tired and a mismatch for the look of the lobby. The hotel location is great but make sure you get a good price for your room because that would be the primary reason for staying there. I don't plan to stay again as I'm sure there are better options.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IslandGuy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a good option for all visitors of the Big Apple as it is very central to major attractions like Times Square, Rockefeller Centre and Fifth Avenue. I did not give it full five stars due to the rooms decor as they need a refurb to catch up with other modern hotels, apart from that fabulous experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jurgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 6 fantastic nights at the Roosevelt and not one complaint. Found all the staff very helpful and friendly. The cocktails are something else would definitely stay again. Excellent location for all attractions..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed overnight in July and booked ahead of time. I had stayed here several years ago and had a pleasant experience. This time we were very disappointed in our room - it was teeny tiny and the bathroom was in disrepair - the tub looked like it had a bad sunburn and was peeling all over - the room air conditioner barely worked which was extremely uncomfortable sleeping. The lobby is gorgeous but the rooms are not. I will not be returning ever.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank sss2219083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is the best deal for my business travel so I stay here fairly often. It's okay for a clean room and hot shower when you're not going to spend a lot of time in your room. They don't really keep up with maintenance - on my last trip I had a hair dryer falling half off the wall, a chipped tub and lots of cracks in the tile, paint and wallpaper. You won't love your room but you'll probably like the price. It's centrally located, feels safe and supplies the basics.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,053 reviews
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#218 of 473 in New York City
855 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 473 in New York City
20,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#404 of 473 in New York City
5,047 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,068 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#258 of 473 in New York City
4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £97 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing