We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old grand hotel in a perfect midtown location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #370 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Solihull
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old grand hotel in a perfect midtown location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

A grand old hotel that had an air of nostalgia about it. The room was clean and was ok for four adults for four nights. The hotel staff were helpful and keen to please. The hotel was recommend to us and I would recommend it to others. The location in midtown was perfect and in walking distance to most attractions / main areas, but also close to the subway to reach those attractions that weren't so close. Got a taxi from newark airport to hotel, took about 45 minutes and cost $120 (taxi fare + toll fee + tip) got taxi back from hotel to newark airport took 55 minutes cost $128 all in.

Unless another hotel in the midtown area was offering a better deal, I would have no hesitation in stopping at the Roosevelt hotel again

Room Tip: Originally was put in room 523 was ok, but could hear the humming noise from a fan or something from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. We are pleased that your stay was even more memorable due to our Helpful staff and Perfect location. Thanks again for our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    2,935
    1,898
    1,000
    675
See reviews for
2,221
2,353
308
1,040
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great location About a 5 minute walk from Grand Central. Bathrooms should be torn out. Old and disgusting. Staff seems annoyed with everyone. Wifi is noted on their site as free in the public areas but actually costs $15 per unit per day so two laptops are $30 per day. Rudely told to go use Starbucks. They seem to roll up the streets at night in the area to get something to eat. A restaurant will cost you about $100 per head. Closest place for a takeout meal after 10 p.m. we found was on 5th Avenue, very expensive though. The last night there we found Uncle Pauls Pizza right around the corner on Vanderbilt. Open 24 hours with amazing food. Reasonable prices and sit down or take out. Best pizza I've ever had. Go there. You'll love it.
Air conditioners in the rooms are very noisy and will wake you up during the night. Cannot adjust to a good level.

Room Tip: Any room is good. This is a quiet area but only a 10 minute walk to Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kijijiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any misunderstandings regarding our Wi-Fi fees. Regarding the pricing, we do frequently “shop” the other mid-town hotels to ensure our pricing remain competitive. Again our apologies and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has an impressive lobby and is very beautiful. My room was clean and had everything I needed but was on the small side. It would have felt cramped if my husband had been with me. The location was great - just steps from Grand Central Station. My only complaint is that there was no free wireless internet service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RacheldandBobbyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. We are pleased that your stay was even more memorable due to our "Beautiful Impressive lobby and our Great Location". Thanks again for our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just returned from NYC visiting from the UK on a special holiday celebrating a 50th birthday travelling with two older children (ages 15 and 24).

The other reviews are true, it is a little dated, but the entrance foyer is very clean and in keeping with the building. Some of the rooms are a little sad, but again, in keeping with the style and both our rooms were clean! Yes it is full of locals and Pilots, but also a number of tourists.

We wanted something special so booked superior room expecting more space (including a roll away bed or something to suit our party) but were deeply disappointed when we arrived jet lagged at 1am to find a tiny room on the 3rd floor: a din outside our room which turned out to not just be city noise, but rather, we found were beneath the ducts for the hotels air conditioning plant. The two double beds weren't the typical large american beds, but more like small doubles and barely any space around them for a possible roll away bed to be there (which there wasn't despite requesting one at booking)

As soon as we had (tried to have) some sleep we went to reception and expressed our disappointment. (My mother had spent the night on the floor on the scatter cushions but hadn't slept because of the noise of the AC. we simply needed a room away from that noise and big enough for a rollaway!)

The receptionist was extremely understanding and very kindly offered to help. She advised us to leave our bags in the luggage room and return later that day when another room would be available. When we returned we found to our pleasant surprise we had been upgraded to a corner room on the 10th floor with a fridge. a coffee maker and a roll away bed were brought to our room minutes after we got in.

Great location, just a few blocks from times square and central park (If you don't mind walking a bit, otherwise there are always taxis just outside)

Not impressed the barman, he seemed far more interested in chatting to the pretty blond at the end of the bar rather than serving his customers.

Cleaners, porters and receptionists were all very friendly and helpful.

In my opinion, perhaps a little pricey for what you get, but this is NYC where things aren't exactly cheep anyway. I'd recommend it but warn you not to expect the Ritz :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishthefishinadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Crappy hotel. More like a 2 star than 4 star hotel. Looks so old. Hot shower not working. My apartment in Queens looks better than this hotel.
If you see a cheap 4 star hotel in priceline with no reviews, THIS IS IT. Do not book, worth $50 not $$$ that i paid

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finickycustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies we did not meet your expectations during your last visit. If one desires a hotel that is sleek, modern, and hip which attracts a younger crowd, then we are not for you. However, if one is looking for an affordable rate, comfy room, and great location, then we are your hotel. Again our apologies and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel in terms of the atmosphere and friendly staff, a bit tired and run down in places. Rooms were large with nice beds. Facilities were nothing to shout about. In a busy part of town right near grand central station. Can get a bit noisy In the mornings after about 8.30am (traffic, sirens etc)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed here with my BFF from San Antonio, we had trepidation, due to some negative reviews, but I can say, we had the BEST experience, the room was super clean and bright and big and the food was amazing in the restaurant off of the lobby bar. We also loved the Mad46, the rooftop lounge definitely worth staying here!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmkrug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was your "Best Experience". We are pleased that your stay was even more memorable due to our Super Clean, Bright rooms and Amazing food. Thanks again for our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14,281 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,442 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#371 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,487 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#313 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,850 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#211 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing