We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roosevelt Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (9,839)
Filter reviews
9,839 results
Traveller rating
1,812
3,419
2,351
1,299
958
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,812
3,419
2,351
1,299
958
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand central stationcozy queennew yorktimes squaremadison avenuelobby barrockefeller centerhotel is in a great locationempire statefew blocksnycmidtownsubwaystarbucksbroadwayjfk
Filter
Updating list...
4,098 - 4,103 of 9,839 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Location is the only thing going for this place, every concierge we spoke to in the week we stayed made out like it was a huge inconvenience to help us, the internet in the "business centre" on level 2- don't waste your time, kept dropping out & was a waste of money, the wifi in the room is a waste of time too, kept dropping out every 10mins or so...we ended up just using places like Starbucks, Macy's or looking for cafés or restaurants that offer free wifi!
We had no hot water for 2 nights, just lukewarm & were told when we called reception to complain "it has been fixed, just keep trying to run til the hot water comes through"- it never did!!
The housekeepers did not make our bed the first day but did change over to fresh towels, however every day after that they did clean our room well...
We were definitely expecting more value for money, the bathroom is tiny & air con smelled mouldy & was very loud & clunky, some of the hundreds of dollars a night they charge should definitely be spent upgrading the bathrooms, air con & wifi facility!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0LIDAYSrGR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed with a group of family and friends for a race in Central Park. Great location with lots of shops and restaurants in the area. The lobby is beautiful. My room was small but clean and comfortable so I had no complaints. Others is our party were not so lucky and therefore unhappy. One family even had such a musty smell they couldn't stand it. We all enjoyed the rooftop bar which was lots of fun. Based on my own experience, I would definitely stay here again. I think it is at least worth a try.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank c0c026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. We are pleased that your stay was even more memorable due to our "Beautiful Lobby and comfy rooms". Thanks again for our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

A grand old hotel that had an air of nostalgia about it. The room was clean and was ok for four adults for four nights. The hotel staff were helpful and keen to please. The hotel was recommend to us and I would recommend it to others. The location in midtown was perfect and in walking distance to most attractions / main areas, but also close to the subway to reach those attractions that weren't so close. Got a taxi from newark airport to hotel, took about 45 minutes and cost $120 (taxi fare + toll fee + tip) got taxi back from hotel to newark airport took 55 minutes cost $128 all in.

Unless another hotel in the midtown area was offering a better deal, I would have no hesitation in stopping at the Roosevelt hotel again

Room Tip: Originally was put in room 523 was ok, but could hear the humming noise from a fan or something from outside. After the first night went to see reception about this and they let me change the room. Stayed in room 1117 which was a great size room as it was a corner room and was a reasonable size for four adults staying in one room (two double beds)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. We are pleased that your stay was even more memorable due to our Helpful staff and Perfect location. Thanks again for our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great location About a 5 minute walk from Grand Central. Bathrooms should be torn out. Old and disgusting. Staff seems annoyed with everyone. Wifi is noted on their site as free in the public areas but actually costs $15 per unit per day so two laptops are $30 per day. Rudely told to go use Starbucks. They seem to roll up the streets at night in the area to get something to eat. A restaurant will cost you about $100 per head. Closest place for a takeout meal after 10 p.m. we found was on 5th Avenue, very expensive though. The last night there we found Uncle Pauls Pizza right around the corner on Vanderbilt. Open 24 hours with amazing food. Reasonable prices and sit down or take out. Best pizza I've ever had. Go there. You'll love it.
Air conditioners in the rooms are very noisy and will wake you up during the night. Cannot adjust to a good level.

Room Tip: Any room is good. This is a quiet area but only a 10 minute walk to Times Square.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kijijiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any misunderstandings regarding our Wi-Fi fees. Regarding the pricing, we do frequently “shop” the other mid-town hotels to ensure our pricing remain competitive. Again our apologies and we look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has an impressive lobby and is very beautiful. My room was clean and had everything I needed but was on the small side. It would have felt cramped if my husband had been with me. The location was great - just steps from Grand Central Station. My only complaint is that there was no free wireless internet service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank RacheldandBobbyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rooseveltnyc, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear your overall stay was good. We are pleased that your stay was even more memorable due to our "Beautiful Impressive lobby and our Great Location". Thanks again for our valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews